We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were traveling east through Wisconsin this past weekend and I wanted to stay near and or on I94 to eat and sleep. Came in late ( 9pm ) to Madison and chose Holiday Inn at the America Center. Quality, clean and friendly place to stay.

Had a sandwich in the on site Bar and Grill before spending a peaceful night in a very comfortable bed. Morning coffee was ready for early departure and all was fine until I took a shower. My only complaint is the slick floor of the new bath tub and potential for a tumble. The soap and or shampoo film generated certainly did not help. Two strong grab bars in place helped keep things stable.

Front desk responded, acknowledging the concern and offered a buffet coupon for my wife and I. Plans to correct the situation should be in place. I felt like the staff listened and had the guest best interest at heart.

I will return and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay. Our Madison east side location near I-94 make us convenient to many traveling to Madison. I apologize for the problem you experienced with the slick tub. We take all of our guest comments seriously and will certainly look to see if any corrective action is necessary. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a great experience with this hotel. We didn't spend much time in it and did not use the pool or hot tub, so I can't comment on that. We were mostly outside because the weather was beautiful. This is in a great location, as it's not downtown, but it's easy to get to everything that there is to do around Madison, which is a lot!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and that the weather was nice enough to enjoy Madison. Madison is a wonderful city and your right, there is a lot to do. If your planning a trip to our city again, let us help you by offering some great suggestions on things to see and do. Thank You for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in our way to and from somewhere else; both times we got there really late and left early. It was obvious that the staff tries very hard to serve their guests in a timely manner; when they felt they had made us wait they offered us something for free. Liked the free coffee downstairs, although not the best quality. The room was clean, the beds and pillows were comfortable and I didn't hear other guests. Tried the downstairs restaurant the first time through. It was okay but nothing special. Our first room was missing a door hook in the bathroom, in the the bathtub shelves  had broken off and were not replaced, the caulking from the shelf still stuck to the tub surround. The room lacked a microwave, which would have been a problem had we been there longer, but for our purposes we didn't mind. 

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

“I must first apologize for the maintenance deficiencies you experienced during your stays. We pride ourselves in the level of service and quality of product we offer our guests and we will see that those items are corrected immediately. It is through guest feedback that we are able to make any necessary improvements to meet our guests expectations. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here recently with a group from work. The hotel is very nice and the rooms were in good condition. The staff was very nice and their shuttle service was very accomodating. Nice that there is a bar and restauarnt on site. Food and drinks were good and reasonably priced. The only complaint I had and this was confirmend by the rest of the group was that the TV service in the rooms was horrible. The time delay when switching channels was the worst I have ever encounterd at any hotel. Made it impossible to watch anything but the one channel the tv was set to when turned on. If you plan om spending time channel surfing you will be disappointed. Other than this complaint everything else was just fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for the positive feedback! We recently upgraded our TV provider offering our guests a larger selection of channels as well as premium movie stations. We have contacted our provider and expressed your concerns and we are working with them to see what can be done to correct the delay. It is always our goal to offer the best in service to our guests and we appreciate your feedback. We hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again while visiting the Madison area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Over the years many of the Holiday Inn hotels have become timeworn (not the HI Express hotels, which are usually very good). This was certainly not the case at the Madison HI. The hotel is lovely and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Plus, after a day of battling road construction it was nice to find they had a good restaurant with a full bar!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We certainly have our share of road construction in the area and we are glad that after battling it all day you were able to relax in our restaurant and bar. We are proud of the wonderful facilities and the level of service we offer to each of our guests. Each member of our team goes above and beyond to offer exceptional service and to offer a clean well maintained facility. Thanks for such great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed there Sunday 7/20/14 Wonderful staff. Nice pool with BB nets. Bartender was great! Room was wonderful! The fitness center was very clean and appeared to be in good working order (did not use it but I talked to a person who was pleased)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bonz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

It is always a pleasure to read comments that recognizes the great staff that we have. Each member of our team does everything they can to make each guest's stay a memorable experience. Our facilities speak for themselves and you endorsed the fact that our staff is top notch. thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 nights. I was very pleased with the staff at check in, they were very accommodating and pleasant to talk to.
We found the wonderful breakfast buffet - with excellent service, to be superb.
The rooms were clean, spacious. It was very hot while we were there, and the air conditioner worked wonderfully!!
My family and I would stay here again.
We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madsmombv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for the wonderful feedback! We offer one of the best breakfast buffets around offering a great assortment of items. Our kitchen staff always goes above and beyond. The same is true with our housekeeping staff. They know the importance of offering each guest a clean and comfortable room upon their arrival. Thanks for staying with us and we hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
0.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#16 of 63 in Madison
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 63 in Madison
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center

Address: 5109 W Terrace Dr, Madison, WI 53718-8344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Madison
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £69 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center welcomes you! Located in The American Center Corporate Park on Madison's east side and only minutes from the Dane County Regional Airport (MSN) and the East Towne Mall.Visitors can relax amid peaceful surroundings and enjoy the area attractions such as the Capitol Square, Madison's historic State Street, the Overture Center for the Arts, the Alliant Energy Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Just off I90/94, corporate guests can easily access American Family Insurance, Alliant Energy, QBE, GE Healthcare, and U.S. Cellular. While staying at our Madison, Wisconsin hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a full service restaurant and bar, Seattle's best coffee kiosk, island themed indoor pool with spa and professionally designed fitness center featuring top of the line Matrix equipment. Our comfortable and contemporary guest rooms offer free high-speed wired/wireless Internet access, flat panel HDTV's, room service and a personal refrigerator. Host your next meeting or event with us and let our professional staff assist you. With over 2,500sq ft. of meeting space, on-site catering, executive chef and audiovisual equipment available your next event is guaranteed to be a success! As you plan a trip to Madison, WI, check out our terrific Madison hotel rates and make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madison At The American Hotel Madison
Madison Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing