We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy, accommodaing weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth,MN
1 review
“A classy, accommodaing weekend stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I stayed a the Holiday in June of 2008. I was in town for a wedding and meeting up with some old friends. This is definitely one of the most accommodating hotels that I have stayed at. Its starts with the service that we got when we checked in all the way to the checkout! This hotel staff was incredible. It was a great weekend that consisted of relaxation, which the rooms are outstanding with high definition televisions and amazing beds, and also some social time where my friends and I reunited. That took place in the bar resturant area which the food and beverages were top notch. This is a hotel that made me feel like I was at home and I wouild personally reccommend it to anyone from families to large groups they have to capibilities to handle whatever it is you may need with service that you will appreciate!!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardDuluth_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    79
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
47
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn for 3 nights while in Madison for business. I have stayed at many Holiday Inns before and this one was by far the nicest! As a women traveler I don't always feel safe when staying alone in a hotel but the location of this one is perfect. It's set in a quiet business park away from main roads and I was lucky to stay on the 5th floor, where your room key is needed to gain access. I felt very safe here! I also really enjoyed the restaurant. Again, as a woman traveling alone it’s hard to go out to eat by myself, however, this restaurant has smaller two person booths with flat panel TV’s in each one. I was able to enjoy my dinner while watching my favorite shows and not feel uncomfortable that I was eating alone. Perfect! Some other great features for women at this hotel are the fitness center with its extensive cardio machines and free weights, the staff is very friendly, there are a lot of channels on the flat panel TV’s in the rooms and they have great lighting in the bathrooms! I would highly recommend this hotel to women traveling to Madison.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Beautiful new hotel, comfy mattresses and great 32" flat panel tv. Great pool and spa tub. No fan or heat in bathroom... ice cold tile floors... brrrrr! Chief's Bar and staff were wonderful. Only real complaint was that front desk would not upgrade my room as a Priority Club member. Hotel was nearly empty too!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank harrygasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Overall a great experience at this Holiday Inn, which is located in the same business park as American Family Insurance and Alliant Energy (among other businesses).

The staff was friendly and greeted me daily. They had my room keycard ready for me upon arrival, making check-in easy. Check-out was just as quick.

The breakfast buffet was hearty, offering eggs, waffles, potatoes, some meats, and fruit (if I remember correctly).

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and everything appeared to be brand-new. Room included a flat-panel LCD HDTV. Other hotels offer an HDTV that has only plain analog standard TV service. The quality of the signal seemed better here, though, so I think it was actually showing me a digital HDTV signal (which is a plus).

I'm pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jla_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterlington, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

The hotel is new and very nice. All Holiday Inns should look like this.

Had a few drinks and a snak in the bar. Prices are good (for a hotel bar). Service was also good.

Had the breakfast buffett it is a great value.

It is in an office park area, not a bad area but I recomend having a car.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank powerplantop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Stayed at this hotel in early Jan. 08. Hotel is brand new and nice! Rooms are roomy and the mattresses are very nice pillowtop Simmons Beautyrest hotel models. Very Nice. Large screen plasma TVs are a nice touch as well.

The fitness room is awesome with free weights, elliptical trainers, treadmills and cycles. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice.

Hotel has a limited service bar and restaurant. Can't comment too much on the restaurant as I only had a bowl of oatmeal ($4.00) but the service was nice and the cereal delivered piping hot.

This hotel does have a shuttle that will go to and from the airport. The reviewer above mentioned being in an industrial area and to correct them it is located in an officepark complex. With that being said the neighborhood is fine but isolated from downtown Madison or other restaurant choices. You will need a car to access other areas of the city. All in all this is a nice hotel with friendly staff and some nice amenities.

  • Liked — New and great service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rockchalktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

My husband and I stayed here one night while stuck in Madison due to weather.

THE GOOD
Brand new hotel, still very clean
Nice staff, well-informed
Fancier than most Holiday Inns (large flat screen tv in room, better bathroom)
Close to highways
Can get good last-minute deal (stayed in $299 room for $99)

THE BAD
About 7 miles from downtown Madison, and the same distance from the airport. Not very convenient location for either - and it's in an industrial part of town (not very nice, certainly not conducive to walking around).

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LaPortuguesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#18 of 63 in Madison
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center

Property: Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
Address: 5109 W Terrace Dr, Madison, WI 53718-8344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Madison
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center welcomes you! Located in The American Center Corporate Park on Madison's east side and only minutes from the Dane County Regional Airport (MSN) and the East Towne Mall.Visitors can relax amid peaceful surroundings and enjoy the area attractions such as the Capitol Square, Madison's historic State Street, the Overture Center for the Arts, the Alliant Energy Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Just off I90/94, corporate guests can easily access American Family Insurance, Alliant Energy, QBE, GE Healthcare, and U.S. Cellular. While staying at our Madison, Wisconsin hotel, you can enjoy amenities including a full service restaurant and bar, Seattle's best coffee kiosk, island themed indoor pool with spa and professionally designed fitness center featuring top of the line Matrix equipment. Our comfortable and contemporary guest rooms offer free high-speed wired/wireless Internet access, flat panel HDTV's, room service and a personal refrigerator. Host your next meeting or event with us and let our professional staff assist you. With over 2,500sq ft. of meeting space, on-site catering, executive chef and audiovisual equipment available your next event is guaranteed to be a success! As you plan a trip to Madison, WI, check out our terrific Madison hotel rates and make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madison At The American Hotel Madison
Madison Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing