We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unimpressive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Madison
IL
Level Contributor
258 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“unimpressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The rooms are ok, nothing stands out as great, but overall are fine. My biggest complaint was that the "Candlewood Cupboard" typically full of drinks, snacks, etc. was empty. They had no bottled water, no pop, and only a few bags of chips. the worst part was that the guy working there said that was all they had and didn't seem to think it was a big deal. I'm not sure how well the heat unit works either. It is well below zero outside, but the heat comes on for about 10-15 seconds every five minutes and then turns off. The microwave was really dirty also- obviously hadn't been cleaned anytime recently.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tc3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear tc3399,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your comments about the Candlewood Cupboard have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
14
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas as we visited family in the Madison area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the facility's public and private areas were very clean, despite the sloppy winter weather. Our one bedroom suite held two HD televisions, a bedroom and a living room. The kitchenette included a full sized refrigerator, a two burner stove and a microwave oven. Plenty of cutlery and glasses. No complimentary breakfast. Weekly maid service, not daily. Replacement towels and bedding is available from the front desk. Over all, a very pleasant place to stay as long as you understand the difference between the extended stay model and the standard daily service model.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelvisGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillman Valley
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had to check twice to see if we were paying the correct amount because I was sure the price was too low! Hardwood floors in a full kitchen (full size fridge, dishwasher, oven, microwave, sink) lead to spacious and elegant room. Clean and warm, in a beautiful and safe area. We walked to The Great Dane Brewery/Eatery and even got a shuttle downtown to the Badgers game. This was impressive, front to end, staff and price, location and feel. The best hotel we've stayed in all year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StillmanValleyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Where do you get off? Immaculately clean rooms AND friendly staff? Who do you think you are? By now, you may have guessed I am speaking ironically and have nothing but good things to say about what you do. Candlewood Suites Fitchburg, do not change a thing. (Actually, the only thing to change would be to get flatscreen tvs.)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I thought the customer service from all 3 shifts at the desk was very good. I stayed in a king suite which was spacious, had everything we needed, comfortable bed. I really liked that they have a DVD player in the room and movies at the desk to check out. The location was very ideal for our stay-closest to a restaurant we wanted to go to and the comedy show we had tickets to. All in all it was a wonderful stay with no issues which made our wedding day even better. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacque1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We didn't actually stay at this hotel, but had great customer service when we called and needed to cancel. We didn't meet the usual cancellation policy deadline, but they were very understanding and willing to work with us. We will plan to stay here in the future based on this experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I recently stayed at Candlewood Suites in Fitchburg, Wi as I was relocating to the Madison area. I originally booked a stay for 30 days, but in the end, extended my stay for 75 days. I could not have made a better choice. The location was ideally located just off the belt line, in an area that made exploring Madison, as well as the surrounding suburbs, very easy to explore. The staff was attentive, courteous, always said "good morning" and "welcome back". The building was always clean, quiet and the heated garage saved me from the recent snow storms. My room was well appointed with a full size fridge, microwave, stove top and came with everything I needed to cook meals. The manager, Karen, was very responsive and accommodating. She designed my stay to maximize my budget and was very gracious as I kept pushing back my check out date. All in all it was a very comfortable place to call "home" while I discovered all that the Madison area had to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troyforrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Madison Fitchburg
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Madison - Junction Court
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
6.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#32 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg
Address: 5421 Caddis Bnd, Madison, WI 53711-7127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Madison, Wisconsin Offers a Free Airport Shuttle Located just outside of downtown Madison, the Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel is one of the newest extended stay hotels in the area. We are 11 miles from Dane County Regional Airport (MSN) and close to everything Madison, WI has to offer. Our Madison, Wisconsin hotel is located near several large convention centers. Alliant Energy Center, Menona Terrace Convention Center and Fitchburg Technology Center are all less than five miles away, making travel to and from business meetings trouble-free due to our convenient location near Madison. During your extended stay, there are several attractions that are worth seeing in the area. State Street in downtown Madison is just a few miles away and offers wonderful shops and restaurants. You can also tour the state capitol building or the campus of the University of Wisconsin. This home of the Badgers is located just a few miles from our Madison Airport hotel.You can also spend a day on Lake Mendota, fishing or relaxing by the water. Our hotel in Madison, Wisconsin offers a variety of amenities to provide you with the best possible stay.The Candlewood Cupboard has food items so that you never have to leave the hotel to get the things you need.We also have an indoor pool and a Fitness Center, and provide a complimentary area shuttle. You can consider us home when you stay at our Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel Madison
Candlewood Suites Madison
Candlewood Madison
Madison Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing