We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Racine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satisfactory for a one night stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here for only one night while passing through Madison. We chose this hotel because of its great access to the Capital City Bike Trail. The room and facility were adequate and clean. There was plenty of parking. We liked being within walking distance of eating establishments.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multeataskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martez2014, Manager at Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel.
We strive to provide a wonderful service experience for every guest. Once again Thanks! for the reviews and hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    34
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
14
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was apparently, accidentally, charged $25 at check-in. My room was already paid for, but I provided my card at the front desk at check-in to secure the room in case of damages. I noticed the charge, called in, and was told the charge was a mistake and would be reversed. Weeks passed, the charge was never reversed. I called back, was told my information would be relayed to a manager. I asked for a return call the next day with an explanation/confirmation. I never received the call. So, I had to call my credit card company to report the charge and have them reverse it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Manager at Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel.
We apologize for the inconvenience this caused during and after your stay. We strive to provide a wonderful service experience for every guest.
I would like to help resolve this issue for you. I can be reached at 608-271-3400, please let me know how I can connect with you to fix the situation.
I look forward to speaking with you; I would like you to be able to look back on this experience in a better light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was my first time at a property of this chain. Compared with other mid-price extended stay hotels, the room is somewhat bigger (fairly spacious), the bed was especially comfortable with excellent linens. The kitchen is full -- full size refrigerator/freezer, good equipment, dishwasher, microwave, stovetop (but no oven). Everything is nicely laid out, with plenty of space to move around. Other notes.
* Windows open, have screens, so you can enjoy outside air and not feel as confined.
* Hotel is a block away from the highway in a very modern mixed residential/light commercial development, so it is very quiet.
* The décor is subdued, a bit drab, but functional (say compared to Springhill Suites, which is much more modern/in-your-face decor).
* Bathroom is minimally equipped, but again serves the purpose, is spacious, nice shower.
* The present trend is to call anything with a kitchen a suite, but not in my book: this is one large room, not really even divided into sections.
* Free wireless internet access works fine (essential for me).
* Although it is off by itself well away from downtown Madison, a number of spots are in walking distance. If you need food supplies, there is a large Copp's supermarket right across the street, along with a strip mall with a variety of stores and services. If you are attending an event at the Quality Inn (we were going there for the Jazz Fest), it is a pleasant and safe 5-minute walk. And there are a number of chain and independent restaurants in walking distance. Finally, it is right across the road from the DNR's fish hatchery, and there is a lot of green space/parks all around. You're a couple of minutes from the Beltline, so it actually is a better location than first appears.
* No free breakfast, if that matters. I thought the rates were quite good (we paid $99 for Fri-Sat nights) for this type of property, and maybe that's one reason.
* Everything was very clean, staff friendly. We had two small issues, and they were attended to immediately.

In sum, when we return to the Jazz Fest in some future years, I am sure we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The bathroom had peeling paint and needed to be updated. Otherwise the room was decent. The receptionist did not acknowledge my Priority Club status and I had to ask if they offered ant perks for Platinum members. I was given a bottle of water. Not a bad property just needs some up dating to the bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Gonefishn_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the room conditions have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
268 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The rooms are ok, nothing stands out as great, but overall are fine. My biggest complaint was that the "Candlewood Cupboard" typically full of drinks, snacks, etc. was empty. They had no bottled water, no pop, and only a few bags of chips. the worst part was that the guy working there said that was all they had and didn't seem to think it was a big deal. I'm not sure how well the heat unit works either. It is well below zero outside, but the heat comes on for about 10-15 seconds every five minutes and then turns off. The microwave was really dirty also- obviously hadn't been cleaned anytime recently.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear tc3399,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your comments about the Candlewood Cupboard have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas as we visited family in the Madison area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the facility's public and private areas were very clean, despite the sloppy winter weather. Our one bedroom suite held two HD televisions, a bedroom and a living room. The kitchenette included a full sized refrigerator, a two burner stove and a microwave oven. Plenty of cutlery and glasses. No complimentary breakfast. Weekly maid service, not daily. Replacement towels and bedding is available from the front desk. Over all, a very pleasant place to stay as long as you understand the difference between the extended stay model and the standard daily service model.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelvisGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillman Valley
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had to check twice to see if we were paying the correct amount because I was sure the price was too low! Hardwood floors in a full kitchen (full size fridge, dishwasher, oven, microwave, sink) lead to spacious and elegant room. Clean and warm, in a beautiful and safe area. We walked to The Great Dane Brewery/Eatery and even got a shuttle downtown to the Badgers game. This was impressive, front to end, staff and price, location and feel. The best hotel we've stayed in all year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StillmanValleyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Madison Fitchburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
651 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg
Address: 5421 Caddis Bnd, Madison, WI 53711-7127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Madison, Wisconsin Offers a Free Airport Shuttle Located just outside of downtown Madison, the Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel is one of the newest extended stay hotels in the area. We are 11 miles from Dane County Regional Airport (MSN) and close to everything Madison, WI has to offer. Our Madison, Wisconsin hotel is located near several large convention centers. Alliant Energy Center, Menona Terrace Convention Center and Fitchburg Technology Center are all less than five miles away, making travel to and from business meetings trouble-free due to our convenient location near Madison. During your extended stay, there are several attractions that are worth seeing in the area. State Street in downtown Madison is just a few miles away and offers wonderful shops and restaurants. You can also tour the state capitol building or the campus of the University of Wisconsin. This home of the Badgers is located just a few miles from our Madison Airport hotel.You can also spend a day on Lake Mendota, fishing or relaxing by the water. Our hotel in Madison, Wisconsin offers a variety of amenities to provide you with the best possible stay.The Candlewood Cupboard has food items so that you never have to leave the hotel to get the things you need.We also have an indoor pool and a Fitness Center, and provide a complimentary area shuttle. You can consider us home when you stay at our Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel Madison
Candlewood Suites Madison
Candlewood Madison
Madison Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing