We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Needed a hotel close to University Hospitals and the Universityof Wisconsin. This hotel met both of those requirements. The staff was excellent, but the room wasn't worth $150+. The bathroom floor tile & tub had mold, in addition the room had a stench of old stale smoke. Best Western usually provides better accomodations. Very Disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate any and all feed back from you, our valued guests, so that we might continue to improve on the care and service we provide you and all of our guests.

On behalf of the hotel allow to apologize for your room not meeting your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments are being considered as we plan our renovation starting in December. We hope that your next visit we will be able to wow you with our rooms and not just our customer service.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns regarding your next stay, please don't hesitate to contact me with the information below.

Again, thank you for taking the time, and we look forward to your post renovation return visit.

Sincerely,

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
info@inntowner.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed in Madison for a wedding and the staff was awesome and the room was extremely clean. They were very accommodating to our requests. The nights sleep was very quiet no noisy guests and the complimentary breakfast was great they actually had real food like eggs, bacon, gravy and biscuits versus your usual stale bagel and dry cereal that you get at most hotels. They offered a complimentary shuttle as well which was nice. An overall great hotel experience I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Rachel D,

Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review for us! We are always glad to have guests here for joyous occasions such as a wedding and we are overjoyed that you had a great experience. We hope that you think of us the next time you are in Madison and we look forward to seeing you! :)

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was not our first choice as we normally like to stay near the capital. however, we found this place for a good rate. The room was old but clean. The bed was comfy. Bathroom small. But don't come to Madison for the hotels. And again for the circumstances, it was completely acceptable. If faced with the same circumstances, I would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Rick R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Its only with feedback from guests like you that we can hope to continue and improve our service to our valued guests such as yourself.

We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay and hope that postive circumstances bring you to Madison again! We'll see you then!

Sincerely,

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

perfect location for our half-marathon. Convenient shuttle service and Nick was the MAN that helped make our stay the best. I enjoyed the late night bar and the staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely go and stay at this hotel the next time I go to Madison

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Jordan G,

On behalf of the BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are overjoyed that you had a pleasant stay experience and hope to see you again soon. Below is a note from Nick as well! :)

Make it a great day!

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner


************************************************************************************************
Jordan,

On behalf of myself and the entire InnTowner staff, thank you for your kind words and the opportunity to go above and beyond for you. I’m glad we were able to help you with your successful trip to Madison (and thank you for letting me have a little fun at work at the same time!) I’ll be looking forward to the next time you’re in town.
Sincerely,
-Nick
Front Desk Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Thanks to the over-the-top comfort and care, this is the only place for us. The staff, especially Tanika, went out of their way to make sure our stay was as easy and comfortable as possible. Having to have four long days of testing done at UWHospital, coming back to the hotel was extremely comforting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Debra M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! We're ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay.

Below is a note to you from Tanika! Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
~J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club

****
Dear Debra,

Thank you so much for choosing the InnTowner. It was definitely a pleasure serving you and your family during your stay. I hope to see you again on your future trips to Madison.

Sincerely,

Tanika
Front Desk Associate
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I had heard about this 4th floor comp bar and hors' de ourves from someone that also got one of those rooms--AFTER I called for a reservation of my own, was told there were not any rooms left of the block rooms for an event. I called back w/ the code and then there were rooms left. I called one of the other parties going to the event (USTA tournament in July), they were also told there were no rooms left, they said that they called just minutes after I texted them to say I got one--then they were told that they had one for them. The next day, I saw them and they told me about their great room on the 4th floor. We got nothing like that and had made the reservation before them and told THEM about the hotel. How does the hotel pick and choose who gets what? Enjoyed our stay enough the year prior for the same event but do not think we'll go back next year--find another hotel where you don't get the reservation run-around. No place to sit at breakfast and ran out of food/coffee-not their fault they are crowded I suppose.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Jody B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your first Trip Advisor review about our hotel. Its is only with feedback from guests like you that we can hope to improve the experience for all of our guests.

Let me apologize on behalf of the entire team here at the InnTowner about your reservation experience. We attempt to ensure that everyone's experience exceeds their expectations, and I apologize that that was not the case with you.

Without knowing the particulars of your friends reservation I cannot say as to why they were on the fourth floor and you were not. I do know that fourth floor rooms were not part of what the USTA has reserved for the event. Now, upgrades due occur due to maintenance issues, and availability changes based on a guests particular needs (I know at one point we were out of rooms for the USTA, but then a team cancelled on us), but I do apologize at how hassling this experience was. I can completely understand the frustration.

I do hope that you will give us another shot next year after our guest room renovation. I think you will find it as nice or nicer than the Highland Club Rooms on the 4th floor.

Again, thank you for taking time to write the review. Please accept my personal apologies on your reservation experience and don't hesitate to contact me if there is something else I can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.


J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778 x 537
jbelmont@inntowner.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

great surprise to be on floor (4th) with complimentary bar and yummy hors d'oeurves. room clean and fresh. breakfast excellent. many travelers with people at University of Wisconsin Hospital so to have the stress taken away by a great hotel stay so close to the hospital was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank nixelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks for taking time to say such nice things. We're overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know if there is anything that we an do to make your next stay an even better success! :)

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.8 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#12 of 63 in Madison
694 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS InnTowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS InnTowner

Address: 2424 University Ave, Madison, WI 53726-3811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £98 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS InnTowner 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western PLUS InnTowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing