We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps Getting Even Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2006

I have been staying at the InnTowner in Madison for over 12 years. Having a number of clients in Madison, WI, I travel there at least 6 times a year. On my last trip there, I discovered the InnTowner had put in new beds which made me think I was sleeping on a cloud. The new pillows were perfect, not too hard and not too soft. (My wife would tell you that I am very fussy about the pillow I sleep on.) The towels were also a pleasant surprise, large, soft and sponge-like.

I have staying at the InnTowner because the service, accommodations and food have always been excellent. With these new additions, I'll have to build my client base to go there more often.

1  Thank 44thStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

927 - 933 of 939 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Mineral Point, Wisconsin
11
Reviewed 25 June 2006

I've become a regular guest of the InnTowner over the years and highly recommend its location, concierge floor Highland Club and food/beverage service. The management and staff are always professional, courteous and continually improving the facility/services with the prime goal in mind of meeting the ongoing needs/comfort of their guests. I've never been disappointed. J.W. Hinnen

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2005

I spent a few nights at the Best Western Inntowner and the Highland Club when working at the University of Wisconsin Hospital. I had never stayed at a Best Western before and was reluctant to do so this trip, but it was the most convenient hotel to my work site. I was alternatively pleasantly surprised and greatly disappointed: everything was either excellent or awful; there was no middle ground.

Start with the good stuff: I stayed in the Highland Club portion of the hotel, which is the fourth floor and is accessible only after unlocking the common elevator with a key card (kind of like a concierge level). I chose the Highland Club because it comes with free internet access and continental breakfast, so felt it added value. The room was large and clean, though very darkly decorated and very darkly let. The internet worked flawlessly and was very fast, and the breakfast staff were wonderful. Unknown to me before check-in, they also offered a complimentary light snack in the common roon in the evening. The room had a wide range of television chanels, a large clean bathroom, nice toiletries, and was free of traffic noise. The restaurant staff were very friendly and the restaurant was surprisingly affordable.

However, this good stuff was offset by lots of bad stuff. The one elevator was unbearably slow. Every time I needed it it took two minutes to arrive. The exercise room was completely unusable (and I tend to be patient with these rooms). All three pieces of cardio equipment were broken to the point of being unsafe, and they all looked really worn and old. Check-out took forever, since they had not pre-run the checkout bills so everyone needed to go to the desk and wait for them to process the bills. Although they have an airport shuttle available, they do not run it at regular times, so you can't plan ahead: it may be on another run when you need it.

Oddly, this hotel has more disclaimers and disclosures than any I have ever seen. There is a disclaimer near the iron telling you that they do not accept responsibility for burnt or damaged clothes. The shuttle information has a disclaimer about availability. Everywhere you look they are absolving themselves of responsibility.

There is a great deal of potential here, and the stay was pleasant. It's just that when it went wrong, it went very wrong. With a little bit of work and investment in the physical plant, the hotel could be very nice.

9  Thank fenwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2004

I just found out about this website so I'm a little late posting my review.

I stayed here in the summer of 2002 for the Drum Corps International World Championships. I stayed for a week in the Jacuzzi Suite in the Highland Club. From the moment I checked in until I checked out, the staff was at hand for everything. The concierge was great in helping me with everything too. I love the fact that during cocktail hour, every bar tender knew what my favorite drink was. They give you a huge cookie on your nite stand when they turn down your sheets at night and one night I asked for a second cookie and they gave it to me every night without asking. The room was spotless and they kept it that way every day. I even received a huge fruit basket and a card, handwritten by the hotel manager that was thanking me for staying at her hotel.

I couldn't say enough about how awesome this hotel was. Oh and the restaurant was great too. The clam chowder was to die for and coming from the east coast, I can say that I don't think I have ever had any better.

If you are going to stay in Madison WI, you have to stay at this hotel. It's worth the couple of extra bucks to stay in the highland club. You will be treated like a king or queen.

  • Stayed: August 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuco05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaW2424, Manager at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Egil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank P6464XBanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaW2424, Manager at Best Western PLUS InnTowner, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.8 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#12 of 63 in Madison
696 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS InnTowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS InnTowner

Address: 2424 University Ave, Madison, WI 53726-3811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £98 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS InnTowner 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western PLUS InnTowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing