We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn and Pleasant Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn and Pleasant Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a good hotel located across the street from the Capitol and along the square of downtown Madison. Numerous restaurants, a movie theater, and night life are right outside the doors.

My room had a panaramic view of a lake as well as a view of the square. The resturant serves breakfast until 2pm and an inside pool is open year round.

Parking is free of charge for each 24 hour period for guests. Upon check out guests can check luggage if staying past normal check out time. Parking then becomes only $1.00 per hour.

The staff were knowledgeable of the Madison area.

This is one of the better hotels I have stayed at under the Best Western Banner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iopowner, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We’re proud to have recently become a Best Western PLUS which is a designation provided when a hotel offers service and amenities above a standard Best Western property. We hope you’ll come enjoy our Capitol view again when you visit Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    216
    100
    41
    18
See reviews for
137
134
29
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This hotel is convenient for the activities around the Capitol including the Veteran's museum and a bunch of restaurants.
The room was confortable along with the bed. There were plenty of pillows and we were high enough that we did not hear any noise from down below. The room seemed much deeper than most of the hotel rooms that I stay at. However, the bathroom was smaller than most other hotel bathrooms. However, there is a nice closet and luggage area outside the bathroom, but they could have made this smaller and the bathroom larger.
I loved that the pictures in the room were of Madison and the Capitol. What a great touch.

The hotel has free valuet parking for those staying, but parking is cheap otherwise at like $1 an hour if you have people stopping by for lunch or dinner. The pool was nice for a dip and had a deep end; however, did not have chairs for lounging. I would have liked to take a nice nap on a lounge chair, but there were none. There was a sauna above the pool area. There was also a workout area. They had a nice two computer center at the front of the hotel for free computer access. You could also print items such as bording passes for your flight. You had to use your key to get into the pool/workout/saunta and business center/computer area.
I would request a room on a higher floor as there are so many restaurants and patios outside with people that you might want to get a good night's sleep.

I gave it one less star due to the lack of free breakfast and the bar area that needs to be updated. It always seemed dark and dingy. Though I hear that the restaurant is great, I did not partake due to so many other places to eat in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor esp. in the summer as there are many sidewalk cafes/bars with people talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iopowner, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We welcome our guests to enjoy a full-service breakfast in our restaurant from 7 a.m. to 2 p.m. Improvements began in our bar in August, 2011 and will continue. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel is directly across from the capitol, great views. We stayed in a room that faced the capitol, as lovely as the view was, I think next time I would request to stay on the other end of the hotel, as it was loud in the morning because of the Saturday Farmer's Market (deemed the best in the country by many!) and a marathon the next day. You can walk to all the important destinations, which is important b/c in a town with so many amazing bars you don't want to have to drive! Helpful staff, clean rooms, perfect location. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angchicagoPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
439 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We just spent two nights here while on a short trip to Madison to see a football game. The location is right on the capitol square and our room had a great view of the state capitol. For an older property, the hotel is well maintained, clean and quiet. We had a suite with a large sitting room and king bed on the 4th floor. Indoor valet parking is free which is a big plus, especially in the winter. The staff is friendly and helpful and housekeeping service is prompt each day. The hotel is a short walk to State Street and the UW campus. The walk to Camp Randall Stadium was a long one though. Lots of very good restaurants and bars in close proximity to the hotel. Next door is a terrific cheese shop that has an incredible selection of cheeses and gourmet foods. On the other side is the fabulous Tornado Steak House which is not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a good stay in this hotel. It's in a great location right on the square in Madison with lots of things within walking distance. Very friendly front desk with quick check-in in front of a very busy weekend for the hotel. Traffic in the area is high, especially on the weekends, since there is a farmers market in addition to all the capitol traffic the location normally sees. Parking for guests is free valet - if you're not staying in the hotel, there is a charge. Be prepared to tip each time your vehicle needs to be retrieved - luckily, the guys manning the valet are quick and courteous so even when it was super busy on Saturday we still got our car out quick. Anyway, our room was quite spacious and clean, though the TV was really small for the size of the room. The bathroom is tiny but the shower was quite nice so it balanced out. We were right on the pool and it was surprisingly quiet, which was nice. We also didn't hear anyone in the hall, which we've had issues with in other places. The pool itself is nice but if you are there with kids, keep in mind that the pool goes from 4 to 6 feet so there is no shallow area for little kids to play in. It's a but expensive but given the location, it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel was very clean. We had a room with two double beds. It was a large room. It wasn't old, it was updated. The room was directly across the street from the capitol. There were also a couple of bars and a steakhouse across the street as well. Just to warn you, the Shamrock, which is across the street from the hotel, is a gay bar. We didn't mind, but there was no warning until we actually entered the bar, then it was quite obvious. Haha! The hotel had a pool, restaurant and bar. The prices were great. There was a happy hour in the bar that included $3 appetizers. A great bonus was the free valet parking. The hotel was in a great location, walking distance to many great places to eat and to see. Definately recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed here during a couple rally's this past winter at the capitol, and found it to be an excellent hotel.

The area is ideal, the valet parking a bonus, and the rooms were comfortable.
The front desk staff was a little cold, but given the magnitude of volume in the hotel while we were visiting, I can't really blame them.
The valet guys were awesome!

Tons of restaurants and state street activity just outside the main entrance, in a fun college area. Lot's of local coffee shops and quick-bite restaurants.

I appreciated the easy check-in and check-out process as I was arriving late. Everything was very smooth and seamless.

If I needed to go to Madison again for work, I'd stay here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Capitol facing rooms are really cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laleh084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Address: 22 S Carroll St, Madison, WI 53703-3309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Park Hotel stands as a reflection of Madison's history and growth as a city. The only hotel on Madison's Capitol Square, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is an icon of hospitality and a true symbol of downtown Madison. The Capitol Square is home to such popular seasonal attractions as the Dane County Farmer's Market, Art Fair on the Square and Concerts on the Square. Only blocks from the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Monona Terrace Convention Center, Overture Center for Performing Arts, and the Kohl Center, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is your best way to experience the best of Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn On The Park Hotel Madison
Best Western Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing