We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madison”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great Location! Bit pricey but it was Homecoming at UW so I'm sure that was the reason. Room was huge and had an awesome view of the Lake. Perfect location for walking anywhere downtown. Would definitely stay there again but would try to reserve earlier to avoid the high price!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mvo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you can't stay at the Hilton at Monona Terrace, then this is a good second choice. The staff is very friendly and the hotel appears clean. My double queen room with a Capitol view was large, but the bathroom was very tiny. The accommodations were fine, nice mini refrigerator, but nothing in it at all. Not even a bottle of water, which was unfortunate. I could not find a little market inside the hotel to buy any beverages or snacks for the room.

The beds were very basic firm mattress, lumpy pillows and substandard bedding. If you are the kind of person who can sleep anywhere, then you will like it. The desk chair was plastic, uncomfortable, and adjustments were broken. Nice hair dryer though! Hallways are dimly lit. Pool and exercise room are very nice. The valet parking is fine, but you will need to factor in the wait time to get your vehicle. Also, no free breakfast like at the Double Tree.

Staying on the square has pros and cons: you can walk to everything, but you will need to step over sleeping drunks and deal politely with pan handlers along the way. The homeless people living around the square and down State St are depressing. Sleeping on every bench and in every doorway. Some are drunk and loud and some are just talking to themselves loudly. This issue seems to get worse every year. The Capitol police give citations to people singing in the rotunda, but nothing seems to improve for the homeless situation. It reflects poorly on Wisconsin and affects every single person living in or visiting Madison.

Room Tip: Capitol view room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2mchwrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Staff service was excellent. When there was an odor issue in my first room, the staff gave me another room without hesitation. The parking attendants were fast and very nice. I highly recommend this hotel. Very large TVs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Heath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Right across the street from the Capital building. Take the tour of the State Capital,worth the time.Free and takes about an hour.Free valet parking which is a big plus.Being unfamiliar with Madison,the city is somewhat difficult to navigate with a car.Watch out for bus lanes,bike lanes, pedestrians. It was hard at night. You can walk to just about everything from here. Only stayed one night.No problems at the hotel. Did not use any of the facilities(Pool,Restaurant etc) Attended a wedding which worked out fine. Walk two blocks to Monona Terrace for a nice photo opps.Saw everything I wanted to see in one trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very nice view of the state capitol building right out the front window, and an awesome farmers market surrounding the capitol square on summer Saturdays. Clean, comfortable room and beds, friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wannagetg0ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for visiting us from Colorado. I'm so glad you got to enjoy the Dane County Farmers Market. It's such a part of what makes Madison, Madison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times for business. It's very average, however it's also very convenient in proximity to the Capitol, good restaurants, State Street, and Monona Terrace (convention center). The decor is dated, and the hotel has seen better days. That being said, the registration staff was extremely friendly and quick with check-in. I also appreciate the free valet parking. There is a restaurant and bar onsite, however I did not visit there. I will probably continue to stay here for business, however I would not bring my family to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with a Capitol or lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

LJ03, thank for your feedback about staying with us. I hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A very pricey hotel for very average facilities.

However, Best Western Plus Inn On The Park is located literally right on the Capitol square. So, you essentially pay for the location.

Good things to note are:
* Free valet parking for 1 car
* You can check your luggage in early
* Spacious rooms
* A bar and restaurant are available (I'd recommend eating elsewhere)
* An indoor swimming pool is available (decently sized)
* A fitness facility is available (don't expect much)
* A mini arcade center is available (only 2 or 3 machines)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Tunaidi, thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. Our rates do vary with the season and with events in town such as Badger games or World Dairy Expo. I hope you will come back and see us again. -George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 64 in Madison
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 64 in Madison
781 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Address: 22 S Carroll St, Madison, WI 53703-3309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: £90 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Park Hotel stands as a reflection of Madison's history and growth as a city. The only hotel on Madison's Capitol Square, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is an icon of hospitality and a true symbol of downtown Madison. The Capitol Square is home to such popular seasonal attractions as the Dane County Farmer's Market, Art Fair on the Square and Concerts on the Square. Only blocks from the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Monona Terrace Convention Center, Overture Center for Performing Arts, and the Kohl Center, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is your best way to experience the best of Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn On The Park Hotel Madison
Best Western Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing