We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Madison, WI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Madison
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time to Madison, WI”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Perfect location, central to everything. Farmers Market on Saturday morning was fantastic, concerts at the capitol were fun. Lots and Lots of weddings going on so hotel is very busy and can get very loud. Bed was very uncomfortable and the room was TINY!! Staff is super helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LolaRoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    221
    100
    41
    18
See reviews for
143
135
29
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Lithuania
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Not as exceptional,. Service was normal. Not any problems. It seemed like I had to wait for service. Not all Best Western's have valet parking. My car appeared right away! The staff in the parking garage were fast and gentleman.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Outstanding location for dining or stroll. Parking is free for overnight guests. Room was SUPER clean and quiet. Dining option in the hotel but you are on Capitol Square and there are too many options to count. I was a bit concerned having read the reviews but this is a great stay - would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcspitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Pcspitz - I'm so glad you enjoyed staying on Madison's Capitol Square. Our housekeeping team is a hard-working group and they will be happy to hear the feedback. I hope you will stay with us again next time you're in town. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Although the hotel doesn't appear to be updated, the location makes it perfect for visiting Madison. The proximity to the capitol as well as the university makes it an ideal spot to stay at. The ability to leave your car in the hotel parking makes it easy to explore the area on foot. The rooms are clean, the internet is free and easy to connect to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Not one for long rants, let me just say that our stay was pleasant enough. The front desk staff was extremely courteous and helpful with best bets for Madison.

We had a room next to the pool, and we knew that going in. It does open rather early, so if you like to sleep in, do not take advantage of this. There was noise associated with our location due to a private birthday party when we checked in, and in the morning when they first opened. I would also say the room is due for a facelift.

If your stay is on a summer weekend, you should note the hotel is popular with wedding bookings because of their low price point. We had three wedding groups at the hotel, including the one we were associated with. Noise was not a factor on our floor, however I could hear some noise later on elsewhere (nothing I couldn't sleep through).

We did not take advantage of the restaurant because it look dated and we wanted something more of a Madison experience. The amenity that did stand out was the workout room, LED Tv, newer equipment and looked recently updated. Ballrooms/meeting rooms, I peeked in and they looked adequate for functions.

The free valet parking; let me just say when the hotel says its not responsible, they mean it. We left our vehicle in the lot after checkout which the hotel charges a dollar an hour. We did this because we did not know how long we would be staying or the parking meter situation.
Our Santa Fe got dinged on the front bumper and I spotted it immediately, (somewhere out there, someone with a red car, also has body damage). An assistant manager took an incident report on the spot, and a follow up call to the GM left me assured they would do the right thing. I sent the estimate for damages and they turned around and denied any liability.

All things considered we loved the location, just weren't crazy about anything else. Next time we are overnight in Madison, the Best Western PLUS will not be part of the equation.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet floor away from the pool, if your stay is during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My stay here was totally ruined when they double charged us for our stay of one night. I also had a room next to the air conditioning unit with men walking past our window in the morning.

Rude staff. Will never return to this hotel or to Madison. What a horrible experience!!
Susan

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 9th floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Susan, thank you for contacting us directly (in addition to here on Trip Advisor) and providing us the opportunity to discuss your billing concerns. Thank you for being our guest and I hope we can welcome you back again. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeastern IL/ southeastern WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Look out for the big room at the end of the hall. Initially inviting, the odd shape and massive windows combine with the misplaced air conditioner to overheat (and in winter, over cool) the room. The staff agree, but offers no meaningful response. Also, it's tired: old mattresses, spotted carpeting, old furniture, and a restaurant that gave my wife a severe stomach bug.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Resab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Resab, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear your stay did not exceed your expectations. I was very interested in the feedback about the air conditioner as that is not something we had heard before from prior guests. We appreciate comments such as yours that alert us to something we may not have been aware of. Our team has been discussing the HVAC units in the corner rooms since your stay so that we may identify and correct the problem. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Address: 22 S Carroll St, Madison, WI 53703-3309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Park Hotel stands as a reflection of Madison's history and growth as a city. The only hotel on Madison's Capitol Square, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is an icon of hospitality and a true symbol of downtown Madison. The Capitol Square is home to such popular seasonal attractions as the Dane County Farmer's Market, Art Fair on the Square and Concerts on the Square. Only blocks from the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Monona Terrace Convention Center, Overture Center for Performing Arts, and the Kohl Center, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is your best way to experience the best of Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn On The Park Hotel Madison
Best Western Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing