We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel and dysfunctional air conditioner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old hotel and dysfunctional air conditioner”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I only stayed at the hotel one night. It was a bit expensive for an old hotel. The decor was dated, kind of 1980s and the room was slightly grubby. There was no free breakfast and no guest laundry. Valet parking only. It was in a good location next to the Capitol and the park but not sure that made up for the deficits. It was a hot night and the air conditioner was struggling to cope. It seemed to stop working altogether after midnight and the room became very hot and stuffy. Air conditioners probably don't get much use in Wisconsin and maybe it hadn't had a service recently or perhaps it was some kind of bizarre power saving measure but it was extremely annoying. If I pay for a 3/4 star hotel I want to get a good night's sleep and a functioning air conditioning unit on a hot night is pretty basic to that.

Room Tip: Unless you really want a view of the state Capitol you can find a better hotel than this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arclocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I appreciate the feedback about your stay. I'm sorry to hear the air conditioning in your room was not working as it should. I hope you will visit again so that we may give you the extraordinary service that is our goal.

Sincerely,
George Wiesner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    231
    103
    43
    19
See reviews for
154
141
31
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right by the state capitol and within walking distance to all the downtown eateries. We had a room on the top floor that boasted nice views of the capitol and was nice and clean. They offer free valet parking, but breakfast is not included in the room rate.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Loud music if you get a room over the bar. Parked car with valet, as they do not have self park options, and than found the car in a parking lot next to hotel. Had to ask them to move my car to inside valet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for visiting us from the great city of Denver! Parking in downtown Madison can be a challenge and we are happy to provide complimentary valet parking service to our guests so they can park once and move about town on foot. Most of our parking is indoors but during the summer months we do take advantage of our adjacent outdoor lot. As you discovered, if you prefer to have your car inside we are always happy to accomodate.

Sincerely,
George Wiesner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

There is no better spot to be in downtown Madison than the Inn on the Park. Perfect location!! My only problem is that we paid much more for a "view". And, believe me, the view is spectacular....the problem is the windows are so dirty you can't see well and certainly can not take photos from the windows. I was very disappointed about this as I love photography. My second problem was we had a 2 room suite. A parlor area and a bedroom area. This was perfect for our situation. The bathroom is in the bedroom area and not the parlor area so I had to use the bathroom in the bedroom area. My husband goes to bed much earlier than I do. The bathroom door squeaks so badly that it woke him up when I used the bathroom. Two very easy fixes. WASH THE WINDOWS AND OIL THE HINGES ON THE BATHROOM DOOR!! For the price we paid we would have been much happier had these 2 easy fixes been done.

Room Tip: A room with a view in nice.....as long as the windows are clean, which they were filthy when we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BA0455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmen, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful location right on the Capitol Square. Good service and the only place that I would stay on a future trip to Madison. It is worth the price to stay on the square in downtown Madiison. Nightllife and so many great restaurants and charming shops on State Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Robin, I am proud to hear that Inn on the Park is the only place you'll stay when you're in Madison. It is our goal to provide each of our guests an extraordinary experience. I'm so happy we were able to do that for you and I look forward to welcoming you back. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My daughter recently got married in Madison. I was no stranger to the city, but never needed to stay overnight before. This time required a one night stay and I wanted to be near the capitol. I paid for 4 rooms for my family to stay at the Inn at the Park and we were all very happy with all aspects of our stay. We especially enjoyed proximity to the capitol square where Madison's farmer's market took place on Saturday morning. That morning there was no need to eat breakfast anywhere but the farmer's market. My only complaint, which is slight, about the hotel is that coming in, it was hard to catch a glimpse of the sign for the free valet parking entrance. I wonder if a smaller, reflective sign could be put at the street and situated perpendicular to it to make it easier to recognize the turn-in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Gregory, thank you for the feedback regarding signage for valet parking. We will take a look and see how we can be more visible to guests driving in. Congratulations on your daughter's marriage and thank you for staying with us. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
577 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I really liked staying here! All the rooms were clean and really nice! The location is perfect! Everything was walking distance! I highly recommend this place! The staff were also super friendly and there's also free valet here but of course don't forget to tip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlee1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 63 in Madison
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Address: 22 South Carroll Street, Madison, WI 53703-3309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Park Hotel stands as a reflection of Madison's history and growth as a city. The only hotel on Madison's Capitol Square, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is an icon of hospitality and a true symbol of downtown Madison. The Capitol Square is home to such popular seasonal attractions as the Dane County Farmer's Market, Art Fair on the Square and Concerts on the Square. Only blocks from the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Monona Terrace Convention Center, Overture Center for Performing Arts, and the Kohl Center, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is your best way to experience the best of Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn On The Park Hotel Madison
Best Western Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing