We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!”
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I traveled to Madison for the birth of my first grand baby. My daughter had visited the Inn earlier and chose the Willow room for me. It was just lovely, I so enjoyed the fireplace after a long day of traveling. As an innkeeper myself, I have pretty high standards, and I recommend this inn and the lovely innkeepers without hesitation. Breakfast was beautiful, generous and very tasty. Our every need was met, Peggy and Dave went out of their way for our comfort, and they clearly love people and their historic Inn. I'm looking forward to a return visit soon!

Room Tip: Choosing a room is difficult as they are all beautiful. The Willow room has the sink outside the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happypaddler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
128
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

First, the Livingston Inn is wonderfully located a mere steps from the lake and a very short walk from the State Capitol building and all the restaurants and shopping of that area. Second, the inn is absolutely beautiful -- lovingly maintained, delightfully decorated, warm, and rich. Everywhere you look has interest and texture, without ever being gaudy or too much. Despite its decidedly old world feel, it does it so seamlessly and without being stuffy or dated. Our bedroom featured fabric wallpapered walls, a separate seating area, vaulted ceilings and a gas fireplace that only added to the charm and warmth of the furnishings. The two person shower and Aveda bath products only helped make it feel more like a retreat.

Another real delight is the family who runs the Inn. Peggy is warm, make you feel at home, has a great sense of humor and has great insight/advice about everything Madison.

Of course, it's not just a bed that makes a B&B. Peggy served a lovely wine and cheese hour in the evening, followed by an absolutely incredible breakfast spread. Yogurt and fruit, delicious homemade coffee cake and bread, and an asparagus egg souffle, bacon, toast-- essentially, the works. Everything on the table showed the same style, attention to detail and class that gives everything about staying here the feel that there's something truly special going on.

We will absolutely be back for anther treat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Besides the charm & beauty of this home, the comfort of the rooms & all the little extras (to die for chocolates) that make it amazing - Peggy & Dave go above & beyond to really make your stay special. The breakfast part of this B & B was something we really looked forward to each morning. With this being our first Bed & Breakfast experience we weren't too sure but after a great weekend we have no regrets, we really enjoyed ourselves & look forward to visiting again in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lopezs0877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The William Leitch house, a Gothic revival manse built in 1857-58 by a Civil War era mayor, is one of Madison's most important 19th century landmarks. (When my 3-year-old grandson who lives nearby walked in, he exclaimed, "This is a NICE place!" ;) Its gracious owners, Peggy and Dave Furlan, are delighted to "show and tell" interested Livingston Inn B&B guests about its lavish architectural features and the several prominent civic leaders who have lived there. In addition, they have made it supremely comfortable with plush bedding, flat-screen TV and wi-fi in the rooms and upscale bath fixtures and amenities. Their breakfast buffet, served to order in the lovely dining room, is ample and delicious. Then, with only 8 blocks to the Capitol square or the University of Wisconsin, you can walk it off. The Inn also offers access to Lake Mendota for year-round sports. Very nice, indeed!

Room Tip: Ask Peggy to help you select a room to fit your wants and needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGH44Washington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, Pa.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent three nights here when we traveled from Philadelphia to attend our daughter's dissertation defense at the university. Our daughter and son-in-law leave across the street from the Inn so they suggested we stay here. What a wonderful choice it was. The house is charming and with great historical significance. Wonderful appointments, comfortable rooms and warm and welcoming service from Peggy and Dave. They went out of their way to make us feel right at home and even let us use the charming livingroom of the Inn to host a small reception for a number of our daughter's friends. Breakfast was wonderful and we especially appreciated the lat night cookies. And to top it off, Peggy insisted on getting up before the crack of dawn to make us a take out breakfast because we had a very early flight. We highly recommend the Livingston Inn and look forward to a future stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alg80808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I did a one night get-a-way at the Livingston Inn over the Holidays and it was wonderful! We live in the Madison area and are so glad we checked it out because now we have a wonderful place to have friends and family stay that we know they will just LOVE! The Inn itself has great history and a fantastic location. I can not say enough about the owners, Peggy and Dave! They are the most gracious hosts from the wine hour, to the wonderful conversations, to the amazing breakfast.This place has the whole package. I can not wait for our next one night get-a-way!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank So_worth_it_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Horeb
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Livingston Inn one night after Christmas. We truly enjoyed our stay. The food was delicious, the room and property were beautiful, the wine hour was wonderful, and we really enjoyed getting to know Peggy and Dave. They were so friendly and accommodating - we were sad our stay was only one night! The location is great for any downtown activities, and we would highly recommend the Livingston Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: The Mendota room was wonderful- very comfortable bed and great view of the Lake. It also had a beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callimatzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Property: The Livingston Inn
Address: 752 E Gorham St, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Livingston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing