We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neenah, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I have stayed at the Livingston Inn twice in the last 3 weeks and had a great stay both times. I have only stayed in the Garden House, which is a separate one-room house in the yard next to the big house. It is lovely. It has a beautiful view of the lake and it is surrounded by gardens. The linens on the bed were beautiful. Peggy and Dave accommodated my schedule both stays, with check-in and breakfast. Love the early coffee pot available before breakfast is served. My daughter and I even ate our breakfast out in the back garden. We have a new grandson just born in Madison and plan to be there often, and plan to stay at the Livingston Inn as often as we can. Want to stay in one of the bedrooms with a fireplace this winter. Peggy and Dave make me feel like this is a home away from home. Judy

Room Tip: In the Garden House you can open the windows and have a lovely breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
136
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I had stayed years ago at the Collins House when it was an active B&B, and was pleased to find this option just down the street. I only stayed one night, and everything was fine.
Peggy was a gracious hostess, chatting with my colleague and I in the parlor.
I stayed in the General Pickering Room.
The bed and bath were fine, clean and comfortable.
Air quality and temperature fine. Sufficient outlets, etc.
No noise from the street.
Breakfast next morning was good quality and variety.
Location is great, right "on" Lake Mendota (a short walk through the back yard).
Also convenient to downtown.
One issue was that the wifi signal was weak in spots. Old house has thick walls, I guess.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Livingston! Peggy and Dave create a special feeling in their home that is very warm and welcoming! Their knowledge of the area of things to see and do is impressive and we were entertained by the stories of the history of the house they now care for. The room room accommodations were exquisite! The bed was heavenly and we LOVED the multi head shower system. We can highly recommend staying at the Livingston!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Peggy and Dave (owners) were great! They were so accommodating to our whole group, including guests with severe allergies and dietary restrictions. The beds were wonderful, rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable, food was delicious, and location was ideal for Ironman racers and spectators (or any business/pleasure guests who want to be close to downtown Madison). We felt like we were in our second home and Peggy and Dave made us all feel so welcomed, they were also great with making food recommendations at local eateries and even made reservations for us. We highly recommend staying at the Livingston Inn if you have the chance -- if we return to Madison, WI, for any reason, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert1380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Our stay at the Livingston Inn has cemented our love of B&B's. Peggy and Dave were so friendly and accommodating it was like we were staying with friends! The decor of the Inn is warm and welcoming and the rooms comfortable and cozy. Even the bed was comfortable and my husband and I have an extremely hard time finding something that suits both of us. We hope to return to Madison some day and will definately stay the the Livingston Inn. If you're looking for something that isn't run of the mill this is your answer!!
Also, if you're in Madison on a Saturday the Farmers Market isn't to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Once upon a time, there was, and there still is, a beautiful and welcoming B&B on the shore of the Mendota Lake in the east part of Madison. The name of the B&B is Livingstone Inn. The wonderful and elegant house was built in 1854, one of the oldest in Madison, and is efficiently run by a very kind couple, Peggy and Dave. The place is quite, very well located; our room was comfortable and nice. Every morning, after an excellent breakfast, Peggy gave us suggestions on where to go and where to eat. And every time she was right! We think that such an experience is unique for those who want to stay in Madison.
Enrico & Pisana

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had never stayed in Madison before, but have visited many B&Bs, which is our preferred accommodation. We selected the Livingston Inn because we read so many of their positive ratings. Couldn't have been happier with our choice! The Inn is beautiful, tastefully decorated and very architecturally historical. The location was great, since it seemed to be somewhat close to everything we had planned on visiting in town. Our room was gorgeous and had an attached sitting room that was private, which was very nice. The grounds were also beautiful, with a walkway down to the lake. By far, what made our stay most memorable was the hospitality of the innkeepers, especially Peggy. She really made us feel at home (and spoiled us rotten!) She took the time to sit & chat with us and we felt like real friends by the end of our stay. The food was superb and portions very generous (couldn't possibly eat everything!). Homemade egg casseroles, breads, muffins, granola, fruit, etc. etc...Late afternoon glass (or 2) of wine was most enjoyable, especially sharing company with Peggy in the living room. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick-and-Jan-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Property: The Livingston Inn
Address: 752 E Gorham St, Madison, WI 53703
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Livingston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing