We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay in Madison”
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Madison”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Livingston Inn this past June, and it was a wonderful experience. Peggy is the ultimate hostess; she is gracious and welcoming, and she makes you feel right at home! The amenities are gorgeous. This home has been lovingly restored, the garden is completely charming, and there is a pathway that takes you directly to the lake. Also notable is the fantastic food! There is nothing else to say except that you can expect a wonderful visit at the Livingston Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoBoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
130
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful night at the Livingston Inn in Madison. The grounds and interior have been beautifully restored and renovated. Our room with an on suite bathroom was very comfortable and we had a very restful night and a wonderful breakfast the next morning prepared by our wonderful hostess Peggy.The beautiful grounds and lake access completed the whole package.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Livingston Inn is without a doubt the best B&B we've ever stayed at. The rooms are beautifully furnished and our hostess, Peggy, was so friendly and knowledgeable about the Madison area. She not only greeted us and showed us our room, she actually sat down and visited with us, filling us in on restaurants and things to do. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Willow Room. The bed was very comfortable. I would choose that room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Livingston in for two nights in August. From the moment we walked into this mansion and were greeted by Peggy we felt that we were in an unusual B&B. The interior and exterior have been beautifully maintained. The gardens are stunning. The rooms wonderful and the FOOD!!! The best breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhs_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton,GA
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We recently stayed two nights at The Livingston Inn. The Inn is charming, our room was delightful, and the food was nicely presented and delicious. But the biggest kudos go to Peggy and Jim, the owners. We were there for a small wedding in the back yard, and despite a very large wedding scheduled for the next day, Peggy gave us her wonderful, calm, and always helpful advice and thoughtful help. She is really a very special lady who helped in every way to make a special day for us. Our whole family is in agreement on this.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,il. usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at Livingston Inn and did not want to leave!! The Mansion is beautiful and so peaceful - the room overlooking the front gardens was lovely, Breakfasts devine- savory and sweet casseroles, the best bacon ever, fruits etc. our Hostess Peggy is a peach and we never tiered talking to her- her husband Dave is great as well but is busy with his tending to the imaculate gardens and joined us for breakfast on Sunday.
The Inn is on the lake and in the evening Peggy gave us a big glass of red wine & nuts and we sat on their dock
It is a quiet place and within walking distance to everything,museums, Capital, great restaurants etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Livingston Inn in Madison. Usually, we retreat to our room to rest or head out to explore when we travel, but we really enjoy hanging out with hosts, Peggy and Dave. They really make this a special place to stay in Madison. Rooms are are elegant and enormous as you would expect in an old mansion. It's like stepping back in time. We really enjoyed hanging out on the lake (they have a large dock) and touring Madison on bikes (rentals a couple blocks away.) I highly recommend the Livingston; you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Apple_Gaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
686 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Property: The Livingston Inn
Address: 752 E Gorham St, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Livingston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing