We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Perfect! Perfect!”
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! Perfect! Perfect!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I will stay here every single time I'm in Madison. I've already recommended Livingston to friends and coworkers knowing some of them travel to Madison.
Perfect location if you're seeing a show at High Noon Saloon. The venue is just a few short blocks away.
Peggy is the absolute nicest. You definitely feel welcome in her home. She easily recommend the best places to eat and drink nearby. Their puppy even jumped up onto my lap and licked my face. Being a dog lover, that won me over.
My experience was absolutely perfect. The price was very affordable considering everything that was included. My room was large and comfy with a fireplace. Comfy bed. Aveda products in the bathroom. Breakfast was huge and delicious. Extremely clean.Treats available throughout the day like biscotti and sparkling water. I love sparkling water. How did Peggy know that I love sparkling water?
I believe there's one of those big lakes behind the property but it was too darn cold to explore. Book this place in spring, summer and fall. Even winter. Even though we all hate winter now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shockleesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
135
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bagley, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We can't wait to stay there again! Peggy was great - friendly and very helpful. She recommended a great place for us to eat dinner. The house is BEAUTIFUL, clean and very cozy. We loved our room - especially the fireplace! We would definitely recommend the Livingston Inn and it will be our destination every time we go through Madison.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Absolutely wonderful stay. The location, house and hosts make it a must when visiting Madison. Peggy and Dave are super familiar with the area, and give wonderful suggestions. The Weary Traveler, Pigs in a Fur Coat and The Alchemy were off the beaten path, but well worth the extra effort. We would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I stayed one night due to a short trip but found Livingston Inn to be one of our favorite B&B's. Peggy is very accommodating, the room was tastefully decorated and clean. It's a great house. You really feel at home! Breakfast was delicious and relaxed with pleasant conversation. We will be back in one week!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My family stayed her for the recent Madison Marathon which half of us of ran. The home was beautiful, clean and environmentally friendly. Peggy was wonderful to us. She woke up extra early and made special dietary changes in breakfast for us runners! She helped us find and get in to some really delicious restaurants. She really got to know us, and I feel like we can call each other friends! Ella was one of the sweetest dogs I have ever met to complete strangers! I would definitely stay again in this amazing historic inn.

Room Tip: I'm not sure the name of the room but the Stable Boy's room had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I arrived late (a little before 9pm) and was warmly greeted by Peggy and her dog Ella who both treated me to a wonderful glass of wine. My room was just perfect and Peggy cheerfully accommodated my request for an early breakfast.
What a great place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EpicuriousintheWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Livingston Inn this past June, and it was a wonderful experience. Peggy is the ultimate hostess; she is gracious and welcoming, and she makes you feel right at home! The amenities are gorgeous. This home has been lovingly restored, the garden is completely charming, and there is a pathway that takes you directly to the lake. Also notable is the fantastic food! There is nothing else to say except that you can expect a wonderful visit at the Livingston Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoBoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Property: The Livingston Inn
Address: 752 E Gorham St, Madison, WI 53703
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Livingston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing