We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the rooms first”
Review of Mansion Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mansion Hill Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in a small room the first night and the ATTIC the second night - no windows (skylights), no balcony, slanted ceilings (easy to bang into), two flights up a narrow staircase (no elevator). Very disappointing.

Room Tip: The attic is considered a 'suite' - be careful, it's an attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank visitingfriends2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night. It was amazing! The suite was beautiful and the service was excellent. It is downtown Madison so it is close to restaurants, clubs, coffee shops, etc. the great room is beautiful and elegantly furnished. The continental breakfast was delicious. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in room #5, nice room - very spacious and comfortable. The staff was amazing and very attentive. You can't ask for a better location 3 blocks from the capital. The only cons I would say are that the neighbors are typical dorms houses, so a peaceful experience on the pack porch is not guaranteed. You are also right outside other's windows when you are on the back porch area, we didn't have a problem - but it likely could have been one if people were loud. The beds are also pretty small for a Queen, closer to full IMO.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taistrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Old beautiful Mansion. The staff is wonderful and makes the stay very pleasant. We were not happy with the room that we reserved, and since they were not sold out, they upgraded us to a much nicer room for the same price. Since each room is different in this 10 room inn, make sure the you read the description. The more expensive rooms are better , with big nice bathrooms.
The public area is comfortable and cozy and the continental breakfast included in the price is tasty.

Room Tip: Book on the phone so that the inn keepers can help you choose the right room for you. I rated the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

In for a weekend, we had one of the rooms downstairs (Room #1). Service was always pleasant; all seemed to be students. The bikes being right outside was nice, and we used them both weekend days of our stay. The site says "complementary breakfast" - understand that this included absolutely nothing hot; just a cold bar with granola and pastries, and only one table to sit at (so we ended up eating at the bar since the table was taken when we got there both mornings). Good location for downtown; about four blocks off the main square. The plaster in our bathroom obviously had some water damage; the internet was very finicky. The drapes were rather sheer, we had to call to get the lights turned off on the porch each night to get the room dark enough to sleep. Good pillows.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We wanted something different, not a cookie-cutter hotel room, and Mansion Hill did not disappoint. Room 9, at the top of the home, was simply beautiful. The bed was outstandingly comfortable. The bathroom was large and featured a double whirlpool and a huge walk-in rain shower with two big shower heads. The beauty of the suite was more than matched by the outstanding service from everyone we encountered. Lisa offered to take our picture when she noticed I was carrying a camera, and later, when we wanted to get a pizza, she recommended a couple of places, took the order and did all the rest, bringing it up to our room when it arrived, along with plates, napkins, and silverware. She also brought us a coffee tray. Everything we wanted was provided in an extremely gracious manner. When we were ready to leave, Rodney came up to our room and carried down a heavy bag, then took it out to our car and gave us a couple of bottles of cold water for the ride home. Other people were helpful as well, but unfortunately I don't have all the names. It was just the perfect getaway and it could not have been any better. We will definitely return and I would highly recommend Mansion Hill to anyone seeking a luxurious hotel experience that is within easy walking distance of Capitol Square. Absolutely outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife, two sons and I spent a wonderful three days at this Inn whilst visiting friends. We stayed upstairs in a huge suite with the bathroom hidden away behind a false book case with real books. Makes you wonder what happened in this buildings 150 year history?
The boys had their own room on the lower level. The young staff, or Inn Keepers, as they refer to themselves were friendly, attentative and competent. The rooms were exactly what we expected, large comfortable, clean and we had an excellent view.
There is no resturant but the breakfast was casual fare with fruit, cereals and some of the best pastries I've ever had. I was impressed to learn that Madison has a very substantial beer brewing culture and the Inn's bar had some great beers on tap. State Street is about a 10 minute walk with some great little restuarants.
I don't think that there is a lot of choice for hotels in this small city which has a population of about 250000, this drops to about half of that when the univerisity closes for the holidays. This hotel is great and could hold it's own in any big city.
We would go back at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 64 in Madison
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 64 in Madison
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Address: 424 N Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-1472
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: £147 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations and historic charm. Your visit includes complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use as well as an onsite bar. At the Mansion Hill Inn, your innkeeper is your personal concierge with knowledge of Madison restaurants, activities and events and a willingness to go above and beyond to help you make the most of your time in Madison (printing boarding passes, fulfilling special requests upon arrival, booking dinner reservations, etc.) The Mansion Hill Inn is ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations and Badger sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mansion Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing