We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European feel in an old Mansion”
Review of Mansion Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansion Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“European feel in an old Mansion”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Really felt special and welcomed as if I was a regular. This is a unique old home but fixed up with modern touches. Stairways and rooms felt like nice European hotels and even the breakfast that was put out for us reminded me of France or Switzerland. And, I loved it. A glass of wine by the fire in the evening felt very clivil and relaxing. Even a nice cookie at bedtime in my room was a nice touch. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: My downstairs room was fine for me but it had no view. If you care for such a thing, make sure to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    26
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
143
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The Inn is very charming and well appointed with nice linens, furniture, beautiful porches, large renovated bathrooms, etc. Our room, in particular, was on the small side. But we had a fantastic stay. All the innkeepers including Lucy, Tyler, Terrance and several others went out of their way to make us feel welcome and hassle free. They carried our luggage up and down the (beautiful) spiral staircase; arranged cabs; had plenty of Inn iPads available; provided light breakfast, yummy snacks and unbelievable homemade chocolate chip cookies. They lit fireplaces when we were chilled; made ice packs for our aching knees; and even made us a batch of cookies to go for my husband's birthday.

The only negative thing we can think of to comment on is the water pressure was a little light --but we've had much worse.

They also have a bike share station right there that was complimentary --although we didn't have time to use it.

There is a nice sitting room and bar area too--which we used quite a bit. A great restaurant --"the Old Fashioned" was just a few blocks away. Try it!

But, it was really the staff who made the whole 3-day stay such a treat!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LandlockedNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarksville, md
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in a small room the first night and the ATTIC the second night - no windows (skylights), no balcony, slanted ceilings (easy to bang into), two flights up a narrow staircase (no elevator). Very disappointing.

Room Tip: The attic is considered a 'suite' - be careful, it's an attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank visitingfriends2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night. It was amazing! The suite was beautiful and the service was excellent. It is downtown Madison so it is close to restaurants, clubs, coffee shops, etc. the great room is beautiful and elegantly furnished. The continental breakfast was delicious. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in room #5, nice room - very spacious and comfortable. The staff was amazing and very attentive. You can't ask for a better location 3 blocks from the capital. The only cons I would say are that the neighbors are typical dorms houses, so a peaceful experience on the pack porch is not guaranteed. You are also right outside other's windows when you are on the back porch area, we didn't have a problem - but it likely could have been one if people were loud. The beds are also pretty small for a Queen, closer to full IMO.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taistrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Old beautiful Mansion. The staff is wonderful and makes the stay very pleasant. We were not happy with the room that we reserved, and since they were not sold out, they upgraded us to a much nicer room for the same price. Since each room is different in this 10 room inn, make sure the you read the description. The more expensive rooms are better , with big nice bathrooms.
The public area is comfortable and cozy and the continental breakfast included in the price is tasty.

Room Tip: Book on the phone so that the inn keepers can help you choose the right room for you. I rated the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

In for a weekend, we had one of the rooms downstairs (Room #1). Service was always pleasant; all seemed to be students. The bikes being right outside was nice, and we used them both weekend days of our stay. The site says "complementary breakfast" - understand that this included absolutely nothing hot; just a cold bar with granola and pastries, and only one table to sit at (so we ended up eating at the bar since the table was taken when we got there both mornings). Good location for downtown; about four blocks off the main square. The plaster in our bathroom obviously had some water damage; the internet was very finicky. The drapes were rather sheer, we had to call to get the lights turned off on the porch each night to get the room dark enough to sleep. Good pillows.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Property: Mansion Hill Inn
Address: 424 N Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-1472
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations and historic charm. Your visit includes complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use as well as an onsite bar. At the Mansion Hill Inn, your innkeeper is your personal concierge with knowledge of Madison restaurants, activities and events and a willingness to go above and beyond to help you make the most of your time in Madison (printing boarding passes, fulfilling special requests upon arrival, booking dinner reservations, etc.) The Mansion Hill Inn is ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations and Badger sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Mansion Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing