We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mansion Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mansion Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hibbing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Enjoyed the Mansion Hill Inn while celebrating a UW graduation. Staff are always exceptional. Rooms comfortable and beds super comfy. Easy walking distance to campus and great dining. Our number one spot to stay when visiting Madison

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Sue, it was so nice to see you again! A few of our more seasoned Innkeepers lit up when they saw that you were coming back. Enjoy your summer in Minnesota, but please don't stay away for too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    23
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
138
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you want to stay somewhere that will always be memorable, we would highly recommend the Mansion Hill Inn. The Inn itself is gorgeous and the rooms have all the charm and luxury you could possibly imagine. The staff does a wonderful job making sure that you have everything you need to feel comfortable, welcomed and appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovnlife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
You just wonderfully summed up our Innkeeper's Creed here at the Mansion Hill Inn! I am grateful for your kind words, and happy that the truly unique experience of staying at the Mansion Hill Inn is something that shines through to the guests that stay with us. Please come visit with us next time you are in Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in room #7 with massive bed and private balcony, huge bathroom with rain shower and very heated floors. Only thing that would have made it better was a bath tub. Easy to use fireplace gave the room an understated elegance. Exceptionally helpful staff and delicious breakfast treats made for an unforgettable stay. You will hear people in the hallways talking through the closed doors. However, everyone is happily chatting since the place just brings happiness out of you. I would rather stay again in heartbeat rather than any of the large fancy downtown hotels since it was much much much more romantic instead of the usual impersonal experiences in chain hotels.

Room Tip: #7 is a corner suite looking northeast with a wonderful balcony--no tub though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Room number 7 is always one of the favorites here at the Mansion Hill Inn, and I am glad to know that you enjoyed it as much as you did. Please come and see us again soon! This April was still chilly, but Madison in the summer is second to none.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at this lovely, historic inn. Beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms. Our room was on the top floor with numerous skylights, king sized bed, whirlpool bath and double shower. Very clean, comfortable with attention paid to little touches such as fresh chocolate chip cookies, handwritten welcome notes, fresh flowers and Aveda bath products.
Very nice continental breakfast and sitting areas. Staff is quite friendly and accommodating. Inn is an easily walkable distance from Capitol Square and State Street locations where you'll find many charming shops and restaurants to choose from.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ecoexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux S, Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time in our little corner of Madison. As a staff, the best part of our job is welcoming someone to the city and helping them make the most of their time while they are here. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here for a night and had just caught a cold on the flight into Madison that morning in the cold month of January. I was very pleased with my stay here. For a small little bed and breakfast it had a feeling of a five-star hotel. The staff was very friendly. When checking in there is no counter as you have to ring the doorbell, the mini restaurant staff was very nice and well dressed.

The room was just amazing. It had a spacious bedroom with a fireplace (with TV) and a bookcase filled with books. The bed also had a hand written welcome note; there was even a little sitting room before the bedroom and separate sitting area also with a TV. There was a vintage writing desk with stationary and a small assortment of very well picked reads about Madison and things to do.

The housekeeping staff turn down the bed for you at night and leave a hand written note with tomorrow's weather and a fun fact along with a cookie as a pre-bedtime snack if you are so inclined.

It's very close to downtown and a quick walk to some great restaurants. I didn't know anything so I asked the hotel staff for recommendations and they delivered!

I loved my stay here and I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: No pool..but I probably would have given it a couple stars if they did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njnow02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux S, Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello! We are so happy you were able to cozy up by the fire here at the Mansion Hill Inn. We know the weather in Madison can be downright frigid in January, and it makes us so happy to be able to provide some asylum from those bitter chills. I promise, Madison turns into a mid-western paradise in the summer, so please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have stayed at the Mansion Hill Inn several time and enjoy it each time. The rooms vary, but there are positives to each. All have superb bedding. Although rooms 9 and 10 have only skylights versus windows and slanted ceiling we find them cosy especially in the winter months when sitting on the balcony can't be enjoyed anyway. The whirlpool tub is an added bonus. We went to the top and took in the view….wish the Inn would consider a small bench or stool(s) in order to sit awhile. The staff is always accommodating and pleasant. When we stay, we plan to leave our car parked. The location is a nice walk to the square, State St, or the Union. We also love that they added a onsite B-Cycle station…so if you don't want to walk back from State Street, you can hop on a bike!

Room Tip: Best rooms in our opinion are 7 and 8 and Room 1 is nice in the summer. A taller person might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamtitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux S, Manager at Mansion Hill Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves! Please come back and see us when the weather warms up so we can get you on some of our bikes and you can explore Madison the best way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Really felt special and welcomed as if I was a regular. This is a unique old home but fixed up with modern touches. Stairways and rooms felt like nice European hotels and even the breakfast that was put out for us reminded me of France or Switzerland. And, I loved it. A glass of wine by the fire in the evening felt very clivil and relaxing. Even a nice cookie at bedtime in my room was a nice touch. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: My downstairs room was fine for me but it had no view. If you care for such a thing, make sure to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Property: Mansion Hill Inn
Address: 424 N Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-1472
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations and historic charm. Your visit includes complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use as well as an onsite bar. At the Mansion Hill Inn, your innkeeper is your personal concierge with knowledge of Madison restaurants, activities and events and a willingness to go above and beyond to help you make the most of your time in Madison (printing boarding passes, fulfilling special requests upon arrival, booking dinner reservations, etc.) The Mansion Hill Inn is ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations and Badger sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Mansion Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing