We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Speckled Hen Inn Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Madison
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
555
18
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
555
18
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bmadison lakes roomtoken creekhardy suitegracious hostsfarm to tablewindow seatbreakfast was deliciousgathering roomfarm animalssmall farmcommon roomthought of everythingfresh eggsbeautiful propertygas fireplacejetted tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The Inn is in a very nice house and the hosts make you feel like a true family guest. Nevertheless, you have silence and full privacy if you want it. If you are looking for something warmer than a hotel room, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodoiporos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We planned a last minute weekend road trip to the Madison area and decided to stay in a nice B&B while we were up there. Upon arrival we were a bit disappointed at the proximity to the highway, but that disappointment was completely forgotten in what proved to be one of the best lodging experiences we have ever had. The owners were friendly and engaging. The rooms were sizeable, comfortable, and had wonderful views of the grounds on a large wrap around patio. The food was amazing. We called changed our plans and booked an extra night just to enjoy the inn. The resident dog was adorable. Thanks, Speckled Hen Inn, for a memorable weekend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Starkweather Creek room, which had less modern decor than most rooms but had a fireplace and private entrance to the patio. It was fantastic. The website has good photos of each room available.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kungfumunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just stayed for two nights at this bucolic setting just 10 minutes from the center of Madison. We were welcomed by the owners Bob and Pat, and shown to our roomy suite featuring a canopied bed, jacuzzi for two, gas fireplace, and separate living room area with flat screen tv. Their hospitality is wonderful, and the breakfast can't be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splinteredsunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just got home from a nights stay at the speckled Hen, it surpassed, all of our expectations. Having only stayed at a couple B& B's in the past this place, really does it right, and has something for everyone depending on their style....on Arrival we were greeted by the owners and given a short tour of the B&B, our jaws dropped when we saw the madison Lakes room, with a private whirlpool and sauna in addition to all private entrances to the rooms, it made for a very romantic getaway! The entire property is just gorgeous, we ordered the cheese plate..which is a must, served with a loaf of hot bread, it really made the trip to Wisconsin complete... In the morning, the breakfast was like no other, all fresh and from the garden/farm.
Anyhow if you are in the area, or just passing by, I highly recommend at least one night stay!

Room Tip: Madison lakes, if you are looking for a very modern, and romantic getaway, comes with a gorgeous bathroom spa style !
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pazekys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at the Speckled Hen once before, many years ago. I am happy to report that the rooms are still very nice, the owners are still very warm and friendly, and the location is still perfect ....you can enjoy a slow-paced country feel yet be only minutes from Madison. I almost forgot.....breakfasts are still excellent! The only drawback is the Speckled Hen is a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinobrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews