We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Speckled Hen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hammond, Indiana
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Speckled Hen is a reason to visit the Madison area all by itself. The room was immaculate, clean, comfortable..one can get very spoiled very easily there. Pat and Bob are excellent chefs and wonderful conversationalists. Doomo arigato gozaimasu!

Room Tip: The Madison Room - AAAA+. Just needs a strong curtain rod on the door frame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dan
Thank you for visiting with us and for finding The Speckled Hen Inn a “destination” in itself. That is really a strong compliment and makes us very proud. We have tried very hard to make the property something special and are glad you agree. Our goal is to pamper and, of course, offer an environment that is immaculate, clean and comfortable. Doomo arigato gozaimasu to you as well. Hope to see you again.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
332
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the Madison Lakes Room, and it was perfectly appointed. You will wake up to lovely farm views and maybe even one of the sweetest dogs you will ever meet, Happy. We did not want for anything, but we did wish were able to spend more time at the home. In addition, we had some of the best breakfasts I've ever eaten. The farm fresh ingredients made everything worth it. I highly recommend staying here if you are in Madison, and if I make it back they have more than earned my repeat business! Great room, food and people. I don't know what more you could ask for.

Room Tip: Madison Lakes is great with private access and a more modern feel than the other rooms offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Brent
You made Happy’s day. It was really a pleasure to meet you during your trip to Madison. You are great people. I appreciate the comments on the “farm-to-table” breakfast. We enjoyed growing the ingredients and preparing the breakfasts for you. I hope that your travels will bring you back to Madison in the future.
Now that I know you also cook, you may have to help with breakfast! Again, thank you for being with us and for the kind comments concerning the Inn.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had the great pleasure of staying two days at this lovely home and we highly recommend it for your next trip to Madison, WI. The hosts were very knowledgeable of the area. The breakfast on both days was delicious and we were served dessert both days!!! And, we really enjoyed the hospitality shown to us by Happy, the peace keeper of the Speckled Hen Inn. With the college football season just around the corner, I would not hesitate to book a stay at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Rachel
Life is too short not to have dessert with breakfast! We really enjoyed your visit. It is always nice to have guests from St Louis so that I can catch up on what is happening in my boyhood home. We really enjoyed talking with you and hope that you will plan to return to discover that Madison is a great place to visit in any season.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Pat and Bob are such gracious hosts and unbelievable chefs! Beautiful property, lovely rooms and delicious breakfasts and cookies. What more could you want!
Goldendoodle Happy is also a wonderful host.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
What more could we want?...how about an order of Cincinnati “Skyline Chili 5-ways” the next time you visit!
Seriously, thank you for coming to stay with us and for the positive comments concerning the Inn and our cuisine. Happy Doodle awaits your return.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Bob and Pat took great care of us at the adorable Speckled Hen. I must say, that Happy the dog was also very good to us! :) We spent two nights here and enjoyed every moment. We spent a good amount of time relaxing on the porch attached to the room, playing cards in the gorgeous gazebo, and taking in the view of the sheep. There are so many great areas to sit, both indoors and out, and the fun snacks in the kitchen downstairs make a really nice treat.

It is a great location in Madison, near to many free attractions like the zoo, the capitol building, the botanical garden, the University of Wisconsin gardens and more. The breakfasts were fresh and fantastic, right from their own garden and farm, and were quite an artful masterpiece. The beds were comfortable and if you couldn't fall asleep by counting sheep, literally, :) the sheets were softer than I've ever experienced. Thank you Bob and Pat for a great stay! We will look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The Porch attached to the Starkweather Creek room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie-n-Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Kerrie and Kevin
Thank you for being such great guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the Inn. We just had two more lambs born this morning. Really cute and doing very well! So many to count, so little time! Thank you for the “artful masterpiece” comment regarding our farm-to-table breakfast. It is good to know that all of my years at McDonald’s were not wasted. See you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to post all of the photos. They are excellent!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent one lovely evening at the Speckled Hen Inn and were sad we couldn't secure a room on our return trip. Pat and Bob are delightful hosts. They take great pride in their lovely operation and seem to enjoy the time they spend with their guests. Bob is hilarious, and we enjoyed his banter!! Pat is charming and served us a gourmet breakfast that was fabulous. It was hard for us to leave. It was so nice of Pat to give me some other inn recommendations when we learned they were booked the rest of the week.
The inn is nestled in the center of their lovely farm. We watched the sheep, the llama and loved the visit from Happy the dog. The only problem raving about the inn is we probably won't be able to book a room the next time we are in town!! Linda and Dennis

Room Tip: We thought all the rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Linda and Dennis
Thanks you for spending time with us. We enjoyed the opportunity to get to know you and to have some great conversations and laughs. I wished we would have had a room open for your return trip, but if we did not fill up frequently, Bob would have to get a real job! Please come again.
Pat & Happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed overnight at the Speckled Hen and would love to have stayed longer to enjoy all the amenities. We had the Heywood Hardy Suite which was fabulous. There is so much attention to detail and comfort throughout the whole place - our rooms and the common areas too. The bed was super comfortable and everything was simply very impressive.

Pat and Bob were delightful and gracious hosts, making us feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and delicious - all freshly made with beautiful ingredients.

Speckled Hen is situated close to Madison and a great location in lovely grounds within their farm. The only detriment, which they can't do much about, is the noise from the nearby freeway. It wasn't noticeable indoors, so the buildings do seem to be soundproofed sufficiently, and all in all, it is a wonderful place to stay.

Green Features: I was very pleased to read about these practices and makes me even more inclined to stay here again and recommend it to others.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for the “attention to detail” comment. It is nice that our efforts are appreciated. We do aim to impress. There is any easy way to stay longer…come back. Hope to see you again in the future.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
1.2 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Property: The Speckled Hen Inn
Address: 5525 Portage Rd, Madison, WI 53704-2756
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms. The 20-acre property features gardens, trails, orchards, vineyard, wetlands and meadows where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their 3 course farm to table breakfast cuisine featuring owner and locally produced eggs, dairy, fruits and vegetables. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing