We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying since 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Speckled Hen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staying since 2011”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Boy, I have been staying since 2011 and the experience grows positivity every time! Bob, Pat and Happy surely know how to make you feel like a guest in their home. They take pride in knowing you and your family and truly care. The inn is beautiful, the grounds are well cared for, the food is outstanding, the proximity to Madison is just a stones throw away, and their hospitality and friendship is unparalleled. Here is to yet another great stay! Looking forward to my next stay in September!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank popolin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
How time flies. It is always our pleasure to see you again and to welcome you to our home. We realize that you really just come to see Happy, but thank you for saying nice things about us as well. Seriously, it is people like you that make us love what we do.
Bob, Pat and the WonderDog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
339
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our third visit to the Speckled Hen Inn. Each time we visit it gets better and better. Pat's full breakfast can compete with any "foodie". She likes to prepare seasonal recipes, using ingredients fresh from the farm. Bob is also a gourmand and will put his special "twists" on old classic recipes. The rooms are warm and inviting after a long day of eating and adventuring in Madison and the nearby small towns. Come during Restaurant Week!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
The greatest compliment that any guest can give us is a return visit. We always enjoy seeing you guys. We are proud to be part of the Madison “foodie” experience. As you correctly mention, we do endeavor to offer season variations on breakfast with the ingredients from the gardens of the Speckled Hen Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed restaurant week and hope to see you both again soon.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We appreciate quality in a product. The Speckled Hen Inn located in Madison, Wisconsin delivers quality service in a relaxed setting. The best food we ate during our stay in Madison were the breakfasts served at The Speckled Hen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Liz
Thank you for designating us as a quality product. That means a lot and is sincerely appreciated. We truly do enjoy preparing and presenting a fabulous breakfast to our guests. We feel that a great breakfast is the perfect way to start a great day.
Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lovely time while helping my son move to Madison. The stay was relaxing and enjoyable. Breakfast was wonderful and Bob and Pat had very helpful suggestions for places to visit and where to find places when moving to a new city.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 19EJS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you found your stay relaxing and enjoyable. We were pleased to be able to help you become familiar with our city and to enjoy all it has to offer. The more you learn about Madison, the more you will love it. We look forward to your return visits.
Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The property is in great condition with a very senic view and "country" feeling. We can not say enough good things about Bob and Pat as hosts and the comfort they provided. The breakfasts were about the best I have ever enjoyed! You must have the scones and the baked plumbs!! We hope to return one day to this very special place.

Room Tip: Any room on the property is great.
See more room tips
Green Features: The owner's stress a "green attitude".
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4880lnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are delighted that you made the Speckled Hen Inn a stop on your great road trip. It is hard to believe when you are here enjoying the country views that we are only minutes from downtown Madison and all it has to offer. Preparing breakfast for our guests this time of year is really a joy because of the abundance of fresh fruit, veggies and herbs available from our own gardens. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast treats and hope that you will travel our direction again..
Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend at Speckled Hen. The stay was truly enjoyable and relaxing. We loved the room. The details that Pat and Bob have made to make guests feel at home and comfortable should be noted. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts that Pat made. She is a wonderful cook. The place was inviting and friendly. The guests at the breakfast table enjoyed good conversation and felt taken care of by Pat and Bob. The bed was comfortable. Bedding was fabulous. The hottub was enjoyable and relaxing after a long day outdoors. They provided music in the room, bath salts for soaking, videos to watch movies either in room or in the video room sitting area. The views from the room was also very peaceful. The place is about 15-20 minutes driving from town. If I'm ever in Madison, this is the place I would stay again! One of the best B&B I've experienced. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimple281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for rating us as one of the best B&B’s that you have experienced and thank you for taking the time to describe your experience in such detail. The attention to detail is what we strive for. We are making every attempt to provide our guests with all that we can to make the stay memorable. We are glad that you felt at home. We hope to see you again if you are ever in Madison again.
Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Liberty, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We discovered The Speckled Hen back in 2007 and have tried to stay at least once every summer. It is so cozy and relaxing and the grounds are beautiful. Pat and Bob do an excellent job of making you feel comfortable, but not hovering and they are both great people who we always enjoy talking to. Finally, the food is amazing. We usually do not need to eat lunch the days we stay there because everything is so delicious and they serve large amounts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadjd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so fortunate to have loyal repeat guests and sincerely thank you for including us in your yearly get away plans. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our property and the food. It is so wonderful to have the opportunity to share our passions with our guests. The Speckled Hen Inn gardens are in full swing so there are a lot of creative, fresh things being served. Our new butterfly garden is almost complete too. We look forward to your return visits.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
698 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#19 of 63 in Madison
411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Property: The Speckled Hen Inn
Address: 5525 Portage Rd, Madison, WI 53704-2756
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms. The 20-acre property features gardens, trails, orchards, vineyard, wetlands and meadows where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their 3 course farm to table breakfast cuisine featuring owner and locally produced eggs, dairy, fruits and vegetables. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing