We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food for a decent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of George's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #31 of 63 Restaurants in Lockport
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food for a decent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This place has everything to please anyone including kids. I love their soup! The staff is nice and there is plenty of seating for a family or a party. It is also connected to a bowling alley so if you want to do something with the family before or after dinner, you can.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marylou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place for a casual meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stopped by here for a quick dinner Friday night and was pleasantly surprised. The wait staff was courteous, the place was clean and the food was very good and reasonable.
My wife had a beef sandwich which the beef was very lean and spiced just right. I had a diet plate (I'm trying to lose a couple of pounds) that consisted of a hamburger patty that was very lean and not full of fillers or cereal and cottage cheese, hard boiled egg and a pineapple slice.
We will be back !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghost44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Make sure to try the Saganaki!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I always go to Georges when I am in the Joliet area ... It is one of my personal favorites!! Its open 24/7 and for under $15 you can get a complete dinner with soup, salad, entree, dessert and your drink! I absolutely love the chicken saganaki but there are very few things I have had I wouldnt order again!! The staff is always been super nice to me as well! If you are ever in Lockport ... I would recommend stopping by George's, and make sure to try the Saganaki!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha X
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The perfect place for any time of the day! Stopped in this past Sunday for a late breakfast. Viewing their extensive menu, I decided to order the Reuben. What a delicious sandwich! Freshly shaved and true corned beef obviously prepared on site ( not deli style) and very flavorful. Difficult to find good and lean corned beef....this is the place. My boyfriend had a veggie omelette and it was just as delicious. Lots of entertaining selections at a price unheard of in these trying times. Our server was as good as any in the finer dining establishments, too!
Great job, people!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chere D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Probably one of the most consistent Family restaurants around. Always good breakfast, great service, good prices & always very clean. Have eaten here for 20+ years & honestly, for the prices, hard to find a better value for this type of restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's also viewed

 

Been to George's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing