We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain of a getaway in Northwest Indiana”
Review of Spring House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Porter B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This is a great place for a quiet getaway in the country. We used the Spring House Inn as our base of operations recently for a "girls weekend" to do antiquing and outlet shopping. The inn is quiet, clean, and rooms were generous size. Mine even had a whirlpool tub. The inn has an indoor pool and sauna (although the sauna was out of commission when we visited, while they were doing some upgrades). An overnight stay is unbelievably inexpensive, and even includes breakfast. Easy access to Chesterton for antiquing, and to Michigan City for great Friday fish fry and a very complete outlet mall. The staff was warm and friendly to boot. We felt welcomed and right at home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallRedChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Spring House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a great peaceful place to stay! Quiet, Serien, majestic. No running screaming kids! It does need some updateing but compaired tothe other opion around it is very competitively priced SUPER Friendly desk personel & Quiet, peceful, beauiful place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I've been staying at the Spring House Inn for the last 20 years. This past weekend was the last. Ever. Be warned that this property is currently for sale, so may not be around forever. Spring House used to be gracious yet charming, with clean rooms, working equipment, and friendly staff. Not anymore. We checked in, and found an odd jacuzzi tub parked right in our room. It was odd because it wasn't set up to be romantic or anything; it was just a big ol' tub. In the room. With mismatched handles, and, oh gee, non-functioning jacuzzi jets. Plus, the maintenance panel was masking-taped shut. Tacky. No pretty soaps, no bubble-bath, no candles, nothing that made it romantic. I suppose we could have watched TV from the tub, but no thanks. So anyway, the room in general was barely satisfactory. Coffee maker didn't work. Bathtub drain (in the bathroom!) didn't stay closed. Balcony door did not lock shut. From the balcony, garbage (cigarette butts, charcoal briquettes (?)) was scattered on the ground below. Towel rack in bathroom was loose and falling off the wall. Provided shampoos were chemically smelling (no conditioner, lotion, etc). Wake up call scheduled for 7 a.m. NEVER CAME. This is unacceptable. Thank goodness we woke up anyway and didn't miss our train.

Breakfast was meh. I get that it's free, but really, guys? Nasty shrunken cold sausages and rock-hard boiled eggs? Plus, don't put a waffle maker out if you're not going to provide waffle batter! Coffee was obviously Folger's or the like. Worst of all: all flatware and silverware was plastic and/or styrofoam. Seriously ick. How hard can it be to wash a few bowls in the morning? I felt like I was eating at a truck stop. (FYI, Spring House used to have a wonderful restaurant, which means that they should have dishes around, right? Maybe in the attic?)

Upholstery on chairs in the lounge was ripped and shredding, corridor ceiling panels were dark with dirt and cobwebs, and the staff literally stood around gossiping and laughing while guests ate breakfast.

The ONLY good thing about Spring House was that the king bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning cool and fine. Otherwise, it was unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yelm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at the Spring House on two consecutive weekends in early August 2012, on our way to and from MI. After reading some of the recent reviews again, I can see truth is what everyone is saying. There are pros and cons to this hotel, so be sure what your expectations are before you stay.

Pros: If you are looking for an inexpensive and ok place to stay this will be perfect. The rooms are very inexpensive compared to local chain hotels. It is cheaper if you book online. When I booked originally, expedia indicated there was no availability. So I called hotel directly and got a room. Prices are based on number of beds in the room. Two queens is more expensive than one King. We did not pay extra for the hot tub room on our return trip. It was all they had available. And we had 2 children in that room with us. We booked King room each night of our stay and brought a blow up mattress for 7 yr old and pack-n-play for 2 yr old. Worked great. Booking online is cheaper than calling hotel or standing in front of the reservation desk at the hotel. I had to push to get the same rate for our return visit on the same day of the week. Weekends (Fri/Sat nights) are more expensive than weekday rates.

Pro: The setting is lovely. This is not a hotel surrounded by a parking lot. It looks more like a large home nestled into the woods. The parking lot could be sprayed, but it not that big of deal. Some of the shrubs are overgrown, my kids loved playing in them while we unloaded. The setting is so quiet, in residential neighborhood. We were there to visit and enjoy the National lakeshore, so this fit with our trip so much better than the chain along the interstate surrounded by concrete. We loved the woods behind the hotel. Yes there was trash on the ground under the decks - I wish they would clean it up. But it's obviously been there all summer. If this bothers you, you shouldn't stay. Even the rooms on the bottom floor were above the ground level, so we were never near or in danger of the kids touching the trash.

Pro: You get what you pay for. Our$49 before tax. We didn't expect a lot of amenities. But the room was clean and large for a typical hotel room. Plenty of room for a blowup mattress and pack-n-play.

Pro: Waffle breakfast (only available on Sat/Sun mornings) was great. They are fresh because you make them yourself and they had a nice variety of toppings to put on them - fruit sauce, whip cream, cinnamon, etc.

Con: This hotel is older, dated, worn. The first room we were in had some stains on the carpet. But the bedding and towels were all clean. The floor in our first room on the ground floor was so squeaky in one section that it woke everyone in the room up everytime one of us went to the bathroom. However, the second room, on the lower level was perfect and we had no such problems.

Con: Staff was not at all helpful or friendly. Mainly, it was one person at the front desk (Samantha) who was not only very unhappy all the time, but did not want to give me the same rate on the return trip. She also would not give us extra linens. We could only exchange, not get extra.

Con: Breakfast was horrible on non-waffle days. The biscuits were old/stale. Microwave helped a bit. Gravy was pasty. Only drink options are caffeinated coffee, milk and apple juice. Fresh fruit was staight from the can fruit cocktail. Danishes were old and stale. We opted out of the free breakfast and enjoyed McDonalds right down the road.

Con: Bathroom did not seem well stocked. On both of our stays in different rooms we had to ask for enough soap, shampoo, conditioner to make it through our stay. It was not restocked. Only thing housekeeping does (we were informed) is change your towels. They don't even make the beds.

Con: Pool was not great. It was icy cold and cloudy as others have mentioned.

Con: A/C was off in the lobby during our stay (we were told it was an insurance thing) and it was quite warm and muggy. Our rooms were fine as each one has its own AC and it worked great.

Overall, I would still stay here again. The price was so good especially if you are on a budget and the location is fabulous. You are literally right across the street from the National Park Lakeshore. But, you get what you pay for. If you're not up for these issues, don't stay here.

Room Tip: King room on lower level are much nicer than same room on ground level. Ground level king rooms are...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tink715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

stayed 2 nights and probably will not go back again. Very DUSTY! Old, stains on carpet in room, squeaky floors, garbage thrown from decks needs to be cleaned up, have some pride! Weeds in parking lot, get some weed spray! Get rid of the bedspreads and get more modernized. Very depressed area around the Inn. We spent a lot of time talking about what we would do to help Spring House Inn get back to its former glory!
Water leaks in the ceiling causing peeled back wallpaper and long strings of dust hanging from the ceiling fan.
Staff friendly.

Room Tip: take cleaning supplies!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatGreenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Spring House Inn is WAY overdue for a MAJOR update!!
Very old and cheap linens. The bedspread looks like a grandma bought it at a 1975 garage sale. Old time TV's, outdated furniture, drab decor, missmatched furniture.
This place needs re-done top to bottom. The location could draw many tourists if was updated. Do the owners realize updates would bring more people and higher rates?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

was planning on staying for several months for work..ended up staying a week then they wanted us to move room to room because they had ours already reserved... the exercise room is pitiful..treadmill would not work, the other machines would not work good, the pool is cloudy and dirty.. the sauna had graffiti all over the inside of it... the back deck has nice view of the woods if you like looking at the trash that people have through down..beer cans,bags,etc....very dated rooms...they come and would clean the room but would not clean the bath tub...carpets are very nasty...frig was froze soild when i got here and would not get cold, so had to unplug it to let the ice melt then plug it in the next day.....the ac from room above drips on you if your below on your deck..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porter
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
153 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
422 reviews
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
2.2 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
65 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Inn

Address: 303 N Mineral Springs Rd, Porter, IN 46304-9788
Region: United States > Indiana > Porter
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Porter
Price Range: £56 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spring House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spring House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring House Hotel Porter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing