We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!”
Review of Spring House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Porter B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! What a dump! We entered our room with the wonderful smell of the setpic system not working! The room was filthy dirty with an inch of dust everywhere, stains on the floors that grossed us out. The furniture was not even in a condition to sit on. Breakfast was indedible. On our second day, room service never touched our room. We had to ask for new towels and had them tossed at us with no apology. Honestly, I would not spend $10 to stay in this hotel...and that is saying something because I was a traveling salesman and have stayed in some real dumps. This one takes the cake. We came back from a day at the beach to be greeted by a biker couple living in the room two doors down cooking bacon in their micro wave. AVOID this place at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kclbadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    52
    19
    26
    36
See reviews for
56
53
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I love the Spring House Inn. It does need some upkeep and touch-up, granted. But it is clean and in the most beautiful setting off the highway with lovely wooded views. Rooms have balconies or patios. Front desk is helpful. There are free breakfasts and they have a schedule for when they serve one of three hot menu options: Biscuits and Gravy, Hard boiled eggs and Sausage or the Hampton Inn style Waffles. (yum). All sorts of other items are also available such as bagels, muffins really good danish, cereal, oatmeal, fruit cocktail, juice and coffee. If you are a decaf person, bring your own, as this is caffeine country.
There is a swimming pool and sauna that are nice, and an exercise room-ahem, again could use an upgrade, but I just got my exercise walking in the lovely neighborhood.
The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable.
If you want perfection, this is not for you. If you are ok with overlooking not perfect to reap the other benefits-it is spot on.
Quiet- that is the other big plus. No noisy hallways, quiet, even sedate guests-I suspect they have a group of regular customers. Quiet breakfast room. Lovely view in breakfast room.
Entry has gorgeous fireplace and seating areas. There is a sun room at the end of the hallway at least on the third floor. Meeting rooms are available at additional cost.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor with the wooded view. Take note of the breakfast schedule on the board in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnnInJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Had a lovely weekend! Love the wooded balcony views. The place is clean, and staff very nice. It's location is within a mile to hiking trails at the Dunes State Park and Chellburg farms. Lots of good resturants nearby. The desk clerk said the Spa resturant which is on the property is going to be re-opened. Can't wait! Hope the pool will be running on our next visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room o n the 2nd or 3rd fllor. They have cathedral ceilings and ceiling fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We called and checked several times that the pool and hot tub were up and running. We were told several times it was. I know for a fact that they had been having pool troubles for a while and said they were fixing it. I promised my 2 little girls we would go to a cute little hotel to go swimming for a few days. So we planned a little family getaway. Got to the hotel and asked again if the pool was up and running and heated, again we were told yes. Get my little girls dressed and go to the pool only to find the water in the pool about 38 degrees. A very unsympathetic desk clerk. I wish i cold write a review about the hotel but we checked out 15 minutes later. When I called the General Manager she also was unsympathetic about the situation. I asked for the owners contact and she says I am the highest you get to go. I stayed at this property years ago and was blown away by the beauty and everything but this place hs gone down hill starting with the owner and employees. Customer service is a lot more than taking my money. I will not reccomend this property to anyone EVER!!!!!

Room Tip: Go sonmewhere else!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank patrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porter hotels

Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This is a great place for a quiet getaway in the country. We used the Spring House Inn as our base of operations recently for a "girls weekend" to do antiquing and outlet shopping. The inn is quiet, clean, and rooms were generous size. Mine even had a whirlpool tub. The inn has an indoor pool and sauna (although the sauna was out of commission when we visited, while they were doing some upgrades). An overnight stay is unbelievably inexpensive, and even includes breakfast. Easy access to Chesterton for antiquing, and to Michigan City for great Friday fish fry and a very complete outlet mall. The staff was warm and friendly to boot. We felt welcomed and right at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallRedChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpster
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a great peaceful place to stay! Quiet, Serien, majestic. No running screaming kids! It does need some updateing but compaired tothe other opion around it is very competitively priced SUPER Friendly desk personel & Quiet, peceful, beauiful place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I've been staying at the Spring House Inn for the last 20 years. This past weekend was the last. Ever. Be warned that this property is currently for sale, so may not be around forever. Spring House used to be gracious yet charming, with clean rooms, working equipment, and friendly staff. Not anymore. We checked in, and found an odd jacuzzi tub parked right in our room. It was odd because it wasn't set up to be romantic or anything; it was just a big ol' tub. In the room. With mismatched handles, and, oh gee, non-functioning jacuzzi jets. Plus, the maintenance panel was masking-taped shut. Tacky. No pretty soaps, no bubble-bath, no candles, nothing that made it romantic. I suppose we could have watched TV from the tub, but no thanks. So anyway, the room in general was barely satisfactory. Coffee maker didn't work. Bathtub drain (in the bathroom!) didn't stay closed. Balcony door did not lock shut. From the balcony, garbage (cigarette butts, charcoal briquettes (?)) was scattered on the ground below. Towel rack in bathroom was loose and falling off the wall. Provided shampoos were chemically smelling (no conditioner, lotion, etc). Wake up call scheduled for 7 a.m. NEVER CAME. This is unacceptable. Thank goodness we woke up anyway and didn't miss our train.

Breakfast was meh. I get that it's free, but really, guys? Nasty shrunken cold sausages and rock-hard boiled eggs? Plus, don't put a waffle maker out if you're not going to provide waffle batter! Coffee was obviously Folger's or the like. Worst of all: all flatware and silverware was plastic and/or styrofoam. Seriously ick. How hard can it be to wash a few bowls in the morning? I felt like I was eating at a truck stop. (FYI, Spring House used to have a wonderful restaurant, which means that they should have dishes around, right? Maybe in the attic?)

Upholstery on chairs in the lounge was ripped and shredding, corridor ceiling panels were dark with dirt and cobwebs, and the staff literally stood around gossiping and laughing while guests ate breakfast.

The ONLY good thing about Spring House was that the king bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning cool and fine. Otherwise, it was unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yelm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porter
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
410 reviews
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
64 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Inn

Property: Spring House Inn
Address: 303 N Mineral Springs Rd, Porter, IN 46304-9788
Region: United States > Indiana > Porter
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spring House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Spring House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring House Hotel Porter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing