We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible stay and trip of a lifetime!”
Review of Treetops B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 San Juanillo B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible stay and trip of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wow, where do I begin? I traveled down to Tree Tops from Manhattan, NY, USA in August. I had just taken the NY bar exam and wanted a real escape from reality and something adventurous, different and yet peaceful. I got it all! We stayed in the Tree Tops Inn with Karen and Jack for 3 nights. First off, the main deck area is literally like living in a tree house - you overlook a gorgeous view and feel like you are in the middle of nowhere... Pretty cool. Karen and Jack both helped us organize any activities we wanted to do - snorkeling, horseback riding, hiking, you name it....

But my favorite part of staying here? Delicious dinners served by Karen... Wow! Does this lady know how to cook! We had everything from fresh watermellon salads to warm creamy soups and fresh fish over rice... The food was by far the best meal I've ever had in all of my trips to Costa Rica. She is so kind, warm and sweet too - it makes your vacation that much happier.

One day, after hiking all of their private property we dove in the warm ocean waters and came back up to the "tree house patio" area.... Karen greeted us with warm chocolate chip cookies and coffee/ tea... Does vacation get any better than that? I could live here forever, but being guests for just a few days made me appreciate the time, the food and the great company that much more.

As an avid traveler, photographer and travel blogger - this was absolutely one of the most magical places I have yet to experience in my lifetime of travels! Thanks and love to Karen and Jack for their warmth, generosity and hospitality.

Room Tip: If I return with my husband, I would definitely stay in the private/ secluded bungalows up on the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LADYHATTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    7
    1
    2
    9
See reviews for
15
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The only concrete around is the floor of your bungalow. No road noise, no jets, no doors slamming - only the sounds of waves and perhaps some local birds or monkeys. Stayed for 9 days. Jack arranged everything from the hotel and car rental in San Jose to the Scuba, Horseback, Zipline, Sailfishing, restaurants and hotels elsewhere in Costa Rica. First Class hosting and thank you Karen for the delicious meals and also for finding ways to work with our dietary restrictions. In April it was very hot - 35 to 38 degrees. The coolest (figuratively and literally) spot on the coast has to be on the sundeck at treetops. The ocean breeze is refreshing, and even the conversation is relaxing. We spent hours snorkelling footsteps from our doorstep. First time for us to try a bed and breakfast and also first time in Costa Rica. The food - well - like so many reviewers - was such a treat.

Room Tip: Bungalow was very nice and well designed. Cool at night and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stumbled upon this place whilst traveling around Costa Rica and after Karen invited us to look around and make us a couple of delicious mango margaritas, we decided to make a reservation for dinner and come back with a couple of friends. Karen and Jack were incredible hosts and the experience was unlike any other. With one of the most incredible views of the sunset over the Pacific ocean we had ever seen, we were served an incredibly delicious five course meal and drinks by two of the most hospitable hosts one could imagine. Overall, the entire experience was one we will never forget and one we will repeat on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Montanah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After learning of Tree Tops from a work colleague, I contacted Jack and Karen via email and our family began an extraordinary journey to beautiful Tree Tops B&B Inn and enjoyed one of the most wonderful travel experiences we've ever had. Jack was incredibly helpful before we left the US with our car rental and initial accommodations in San Jose and, once we arrived, was a consummate host and guide to the area. And we cannot speak highly enough of Karen's gracious hospitality and phenomenal cuisine. Outdoor dining at its absolute finest! Sitting on one of the world's most beautiful "backyard decks" overlooking the Pacific Ocean, enjoying world-class meals as the guests of two wonderful hosts is an experience we will never forget--and we will be back! In addition to the culinary experiences, the room we stayed in looks out onto the ocean and enjoys a delightful breeze that rolls off the ocean and keeps the room cool in the equatorial heat--perfect for sleeping. Awaking to the sounds of waves crashing below and howler monkeys above is absolutely extraordinary. Although Tree Tops is not really for small children, our eight year old son was thrilled with the accommodations and activities in and around the area--and especially loved hanging out with Jack and Karen's dog, Cassie, and cat, Buster. No trip to Costa Rica is complete without enjoying the beautiful and unique Tree Tops, and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose from the room at the house or from two bungalows overlooking the ocean. We will always choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We never expected to have one of the finest meals we've ever had and so completely enjoy our time with two of the finest people we have ever met. But that is what happened.
Karen is truly among the finest chef's ever. Jack is the consummate host and entertainer. Together, the two of them provide a meal that is more of an experience than just a meal. Karen plans her meals around the catch brought in by the local fishermen in San Juanillo. She is beachside every morning just after daylight when the fresh catches are brought in by the local fishermen.
She and Jack support the community by buying nearly everything they use from the locals, or they grow it in their own gardens and orchards, which they planted and tended themselves.
The magic Karen works with the freshest ingredients available absolutely transcends anything you could get anywhere else on earth. We had the finest sea bass we have ever had anywhere. Jack's Pina Coladas were the most exquisite concoction ever devised by man and worth every penny. The salads were made with the freshest and most tasty fruits and vegetables you could ever get. After dinner, Karen served the best homemade sorbet on the planet.
WOW!!! Thank you Jack and Karen for delivering such an unexpected delight. We went to Costa Rica to explore the old world nostalgia we assigned to it and came away with a singular experience that couldn't be matched anywhere else in the new world. Not New York, not LA, not Europe, no where else.
Thank you to two people who have entered our hearts and become part of our family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I called in to book a room, the customer service was HORRIBLE, THe person who picked up the phone was very disgraceful with a terrible attitude, the guy even hung up the phone with out giving me the option to actually book the room.... Very Sad to know that they do not care about future clients. I hope i never have to come near this place, if that attitude is over the phone i CANT IMAGINE the attitude at the hotel it self!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielasuarez208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack h, Owner at Treetops B&B Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2015
Our 5 course gourmet dinner is truly remarkable for the price as every other guest has commented throughout the years. They say that the preparation and quality of the food is excellent. Our bar of tropical drinks and wine is not included in the set price. Just the same as any other restaurant unless it is all inclusive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guanacaste
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have been working and traveling in Guanacaste for many years and this is the best dinning experience in 20 years. The 5 course dinner experience, the best. Creativity and imagination taken to a new dimension. On top of that, the location, ocean front, with the sound of the waves and cooled by the sea breeze. But the main ingredient to the great dinning experience, the hosts and owners Jack and Karen. Jack who has been in Costa Rica for 20 years or so, a great host, we had the most entertained conversation in years. And Karen his wife, simply adorable. We will try to stay at Tree Tops next time, it was to bad that there was no availability for us this time, only for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jose b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juanillo
1.6 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
254 reviews
6.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
1.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Azul
Hotel Luna Azul
#1 of 1 in Ostional
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
99 reviews
8.0 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#18 of 22 in Nosara
6 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops B&B Inn

Property: Treetops B&B Inn
Address: 1 WaterFront, San Juanillo 55150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > San Juanillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Juanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Treetops B&B Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Treetops B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Tops Bed And Breakfast Inn
Tree Tops Hotel San Juanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing