We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're at home in New Orleans”
Review of Coccinelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coccinelle
Ranked #89 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2010

The proprietors welcome you into their home and you feel that it is genuine. There are only two rooms, so you are not just another guest passing through. Yet, they are professionals at repecting boundaries. The location is perfect for exploring the French Q. and the Marigny. You get to live in a historic, typical NOLA dwelling. Like jazz? You are feet from Frenchman's Street which holds the highest concentration of clubs in town. Great, professionally prepared breakfasts. All in all, a terrific place to stay and lovely hosts.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank cirrus763c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

Wonderful bed and breakfast! Really one of the best I have stayed in! Ron and Reg are remarkable, and like everyone has said, it feels like you are visiting friends! The breakfast is delicious, their hospitality overall is astounding. The location is absolutely perfect as well. I highly recommend staying at this B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmiles136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I was unsure about staying at a B&B but if they are anything like the Coccinelle, I would stay in them at a heartbeat! Reg and Ron are wonderful hosts who went the extra mile to make our stay in New Orleans very enjoyable. We told our family and friends all about Reg's scrumptious breakfast and they were very impressed. We were also given yummy homemade cookies, (this was an unexpected treat!!) and fresh filtered water daily. Alex had his birthday while we were there, and Reg and Ron invited us over for a drink that evening to celebrate it. I thought it was really lovely of them to do that. Their local knowlege was invaluable and they had great suggestions about where to eat, what to see etc. The location was ideal as it was just around the corner from Frenchman St and walking distance to Bourbon St..Guys, thank you for making our holiday in New Orleans a great one! Hope to see you in Cairo! Athena & Alex

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

In a way, I came across Coccinelle by accident when looking for a B&B to stay in for a recent trip to New Orleans. Most of the other B&B's I'd found first were booked due to a conference in town. Maybe this was because they were better known or slightly less expensive? But whatever the case was, I'm so glad we found Coccinelle because it was a fantastic place to stay.

Reggie and Ron were extremely welcoming, friendly and accomodating throughout our entire trip. We arrived late (11:30pm), called when we had arrived, and Reggie surprised us by popping out of a tiny door that is the main entrance, somewhat disguised. Inside, the place opened up to the main house/kitchen, a beautiful courtyard, and the guest house in the back. We stayed in the downstairs (Jeremiah) room, which was much nicer than the photos had lead us to believe. It was very comfortable, with space for a couple of suitcases, bathrobes and hairdryer provided (my wife had brought hers but liked theirs better), and filtered water and home-baked cookies to welcome us!

The location is amazing. After we arrived, we walked literally around the corner to the new, hip Frenchman Street, and found our way into DBA, a great bar with a million beers, and the Grammy nominated Lost Bayou Ramblers (http://www.lostbayouramblers.com) were playing a magical kind of fiddle zydeco to a packed house that wouldn't stop dancing. Baptism by fire, I tell you; it was an awesome way to kick off our trip. And had we not stayed at Coccinelle, on the corner of the Marigny across from the French Quarter, we would have missed out.

That said, the drawback to being so close is that sometimes it can get loud at night. Usually not for long, but we passed out early on Saturday night, and were awakened a couple times by a brass band marching around the block. But as it was a charming and uniquely New Orleans disturbance, we didn't mind at all.

Breakfast is served between 8:30 and 10, and is a big, delicious meal, usually starting with coffee and fruit and followed by some magnificent home-cooked creation. One day it was a savory fritatta and another it was a tremendous dutch baby pancake filled with sweet and spicy apples and served with sausages on the side. Come hungry.

Reggie and Ron are great with suggestions for what to do, see and eat, as well. And the jacuzzi tub is a perfect remedy for a long day of exploring the quarter!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ne0g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We stayed at Coccinelle during pre-Mardis Gras for our 10th Anniversary. Location was fanatistic. Can walk to everything in the quarter and to the lake. Food was out of this world and host sprovided great company and conversation. Room was cozy and comfortable stayed 3 days.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank younglaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

The Coccinelle is a wonderful place to stay! It is ON a corner of the French Quarter, near jazz clubs, great restaurants, all things New Orleans within walking distance, or a short cab ride. The owners are helpful with suggestions of local restaurants, and attractions. The breakfasts are amazing and tailored to your likes! There are only 2 rooms, so you really feel like you are visting friends, and once you are there- you will be! Only one requirement- you MUST like dogs. They have two adorable dogs, (Ernie and Sophie) that made my trip even more enjoyable.
I have recommended it to many people. My husband and I have stayed there a few times, and hope to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PomMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Where can I start?...I have been a big fan of B&B's for years..because being a single traveler its always an interesting adventure when I stay at one of them vs. the boring hotel room.

When I first booked with cocinelle last yr I got terribly ill right before leaving & the gracious hosts made accommodation for me this year. The place is located on the tip of the french quarter...near the french market..far enough away from the craziness but close enough to join if you so choose. Warning: Its very unassuming from the outside ..but once you walk through the wood door...volia!...a lil paradise..a lush green courtyard...gas lanterns...the historic property...oh la la...new orleans at its best.

The food?...Reg is a wonderful cook & Ron supplies plenty of wit for morning conversation (if you are a couple you can have your food in your room or in the courtyard I believe...but I was on my own & felt very welcomed)...the rooms?..so comfortable and tastefully decorated..
.loved the jacuzzi tub!...these folks don't have to worry..when I come to nola for a spell..ill be staying right here.

PS...they also have a lovely lil quaint store nxt door where they sell very contemporary dishes...they give the guests a discount!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Saffron36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,805 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,436 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
3,609 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,508 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#103 of 166 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coccinelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coccinelle

Address: 2119 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2012
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing