We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Arrive as strangers, leave as friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
398 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 398 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
jojoDorse...
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Arrive as strangers, leave as friends”
Reviewed 23 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We couldn't have been happier to spend the first 5 days of our recent NOLA/Louisiana holiday at La Maison Marigny - what a great find. We had the Owners' Suite downstairs, which has a sweet sitting-room and extremely comfortable bed - we slept really well every night.

John's a delightful host - interesting and interested, full of ideas on having a good idea in the city and whisking up relaxed, delicious breakfasts. We actually very much enjoyed the fact breakfasts were informal and friendly - and John's flexibility mean you can take breakfast between 8.30 and 10, allowing for differences between the guests.

All of this is more than good enough - but if you add in the location, things get even better. As so many people have said - you're staying in a pretty, quiet and elegant neighbourhood but just 5 minutes very pleasant walk into the French Quarter. And in the other direction it's only 5 minutes easy stroll to Frenchmen Street - our very favourite bit of New Orleans. With its fabulous, friendly and informal little jazz clubs and its great, unpretentious restaurants, it's a truly fantastic place to hang out and see the Real New Orleans. And it couldn't feel safer - we walked home late every evening feeling entirely comfortable and at ease.

In all La Maison Marigny - and John's hospitality - are highly, highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2012
Thanks so much for your review of our property. I am thrilled that your trip to the U.S. was spent with us and in New Orleans! We get many international guests and it's always interesting for me and for other guests to chat with folks from all over the world during our breakfast service. We've been told often that this interaction is one of guests' favorite memories of the trip.

Glad you enjoyed Frenchmen Street, too. As I told you, Frenchmen is a huge draw and we're just two quick blocks away from the music!

Please come back to New Orleans soon...we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mspms100
Lombard, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Kind”
Reviewed 20 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

La Maison is in a great location. Far enough from the craziness but safe enough to walk the distance. John was a great host and his breakfasts were very good. The others that stayed there with us also made great conversation during the breakfast hours. We stayed in the queen balcony and it was very comfortable. The water took a very long time to get warm and there was some minor maintenance that was needed in areas of the room but all in all it was comfortable. The bed was not the most comfortable that I have been in. Very soft and seemed to dip so it was difficult to sleep. The room had the lived in feeling and home feeling, not perfect but good. We were told that the maid would come in daily, I don't think that happened. The second day, out bed was not made and throughout the 4 days there were times glasses were not taken from the room and garbage was still left in the trash. Again, by no means made the night poor but just some info. The B&B was about .5 miles from bourbon but closer to the market and Frenchman street. I am glad we stayed there and would suggest others to do so also.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2012
Thanks so much for your review. I apologize for times when the housekeeping service didn't seem up to par. It would have been preferable to know about this during your stay so it could have been corrected immediately! I am honestly unsure as to what happened as our housekeepers were on-site every day during your stay. One note: if the "do not disturb" sign is on the door, they are not allowed to enter the room. (Again, I don't know if this was the case or not but it is a possible explanation).

We did check out the bed in the guest room in question and I agree that it's not up to our standards any longer. We ordered a replacement mattress/boxspring today and took the opportunity to tighten loose screws in the bedframe to prevent any squeaks.

Also, we tested the hot water in the room and it worked rather quickly for us. If you are the first guest to use it on a cold morning, it may take a few minutes. The B&B has a new tankless water system and it heats the water very well, up to 130 degrees fahrenheit. In fact, there's no chance that the hot water will ever run out, even when all four rooms are showering at once!

Again, thanks so much for staying at the best little B&B on Bourbon Street! We're constantly upgrading the house and after our successful 2011 renovation of the kitchen, we're turning our attention back to guest rooms and the courtyard in 2012! Please come see us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzdon
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfort + Location = Wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This is a long over-due review. We stayed here in March 2011, and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. First of all, the location was perfect. In walking distance to Frenchman Street (where we heard some fantastic music) and the French Quarter. It's located close enough to walk to the hustle and bustle of the Quarter, but far enough that you aren't in the thick of things. It was indeed like staying at someone's home. Very relaxing. Being able to park right in front was a big plus. I see from the pictures that there was a major kitchen renovation - John mentioned that was going to happen last year. It looks great!

We stayed in the middle bedroom upstairs. It was decorated nicely, and certainly more than adequate. As mentioned in a few other reviews the bathroom was a tad small, but wasn't that big of a deal for us. Though not elaborate, the breakfast was certainly sufficient to get us going in the morning. All in all, I would certainly recommend a stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2012
Thanks so much for your review! We agree that the new kitchen is fab...guests are really enjoying it! And with the new kitchen came a new and upgraded breakfast menu, with dishes like spicy sausage quiche, chocolate hazelnut stuffed French toast, bacon hash brown bake, various types of waffles and pancakes with sausages and fruit, blueberry and cream cheese French toast and more!

Come see us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcemsh
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Orleans Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 11 February 2012 for a stay in April 2011
4
people found this review helpful

This is the friendliest most comfortable spot located just outside the French Quarter. Owner John has great local recommendations. Without him we wouldn't have discovered the musical wonderland of Frenchmen Street. Rooms are charming and commodious, and surprisingly quiet. You can walk to everything you want to see in the French Quarter. You'll feel like a friend of a local. Highly recommend this place for the ultimate New Orleans B&B experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sascoach2...
Baton Rouge, La.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“None Better In the City”
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
3
people found this review helpful

John and Dewey do a great job of making you feel at home. This is about as good as it gets in New Orleans Bed and Breakfasts. AWESOME!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdg1964
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Making the most of the Marigny.”
Reviewed 7 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I had a wonderful 4 night stay at La Maison Marigny. It is perfectly situated on the edge of the French Quarter far from the noisy/crazy side of Bourbon Street. More importantly, it is only a few blocks from Frenchman St. which offers some of the best clubs in town for listening great live Jazz. Our host John offers up breakfast every morning at 8:30 along with advice on where to eat, what to see and where you can find the best music in town. We were fortunate enough to be in town for the only local parade that goes through the Quarter. The Krewe du Vieux has to be seen live to appreciate its insanity. Since it is a bit adult themed, I would advise leaving the kids at home.
The B&B has 3 bedrooms upstairs and a master suite on the first floor near the kitchen. The kitchen has been newly renovated and is very spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the upstairs middle bedroom. The only drawback to this room was that the bathroom was very small and the walls are a little thin. The level of service and the location more than make up for these minor points. If you want to experience the real New Orleans, this is the place to be.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so glad you spent the weekend with us and had a great time at the Krewe du Vieux parade. As we discussed when you were here, we do have plans to upgrade a couple of the bathrooms in the coming months. While we can't move walls to make them larger, we're working on making them more efficient.

Please come back to New Orleans again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dj715
texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 31 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
5
people found this review helpful

In our previous trips, we've stayed at the Prince Conti and on this trip wanted to
enjoy a different part of the city that was close to the music venues.

We couldn't have made a better choice, our host John, was extremely accommodating.
As we were leaving on a cruise after our stay, we had a bunch of luggage and on top of that we were arriving well before noon.

Since our room was empty, we had no problem with an early check in. I'm certain that John would have allowed for the luggage drop off even if he had been booked.

We were also upgraded to the Owners Suite Sweet! A back saver on having to carry that luggage up the stairs.

A real nice room with an adjoining living room and the noise from the kitchen did not bother these early risers.

I must admit that we had the place to ourselves for the first 1.5 days.

As mentioned by others, John whips up some nice breakfasts and provides good info
on the area.

Very nicely located to the music of Frenchman Street and an easy walk to the FQ or
down to the Riverfront trolley.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2012
It's always gratifying to see nice reviews from our guests. We enjoy showing off our city to others and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your time in New Orleans. The Owner's Suite is, of course, our only downstairs room and is off the main hall, near the kitchen. For that reason, we do suggest that folks who like to sleep late choose one of the upstairs rooms. Most guests, though, smell the great New Orleans coffee and the french toast, egg dishes or bacon and sausage and the aroma wakes them a bit earlier than they expected. :-)

Again, thanks so much for your review and your comments. We look forward to seeing you on the quiet end of Bourbon Street very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing