We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location Great Host”
other travellers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
399 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 399 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Gulfislan...
Saturna
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location Great Host”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Our first trip to NOLA and what a great place to stay. The location is within walking distance to most downtown areas of NO. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well turned out, the best are upstairs in the back as they tend to be quietest, although the area is reasonably quiet no matter which room you take. We stayed for 7 days and John prepared a different and exceptional breakfast every day. He is a personable host providing information and ideas for his clients. Because we stayed for so long he even offered the use of his washer and dryer which was very helpful since we were continuing our travels after we left NO. The B & B has a quiet garden area in the back, excellent for a reading a book and having a glass of wine. Should we ever return to NO we undoubtedly would stay at the La Maison Marigny.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
I am so happy that you enjoyed your La Maison Marigny visit. One of the neat things about our location is the fact that it's SO close to everything yet quiet...we hear that over and over. While we do have a room "refresh" scheduled soon, we promise not to change the charm so many guests enjoy. Please come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lroehr21
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Time B&B’ers”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As many have stated on here, this place is wonderful! Form the moment we walked into the house, the smell of fresh baked cookies met us, along with the warm welcome of John. He was quick to give us information and answer any questions that we had (and we had a lot with it being my first time to New Orleans). He has plenty of recommendations on where to go to enjoy yourself in the city-kind of like New Orleans for Dummies, packed into one person-HAHA!

Fresh made breakfast was provided every morning- chocolate french toast, fresh fruit, biscuits, sausage, and my favorite of the days there- dirty rice with eggs! It made me feel like a kid again just being able to wake up to breakfast made. The fridge was always stocked with drinks, and the counter with snacks. We enjoyed sitting in the beautiful kitchen and relaxing in the newly redone courtyard area. Being from TX, late March/April or probably fall months seem to be the perfect time to visit NOLA. For those up north, our southern summers are generally hot and humid.

The room itself was perfect for us! The bed was comfy and while my boyfriend likes it freezing at night, I was able to cover up with the extra blankets. We stayed in the courtyard view room (purple room), but I got a chance to see all the rooms. Each one was beautiful and just the right size for a stay in a city with so much exploring to do. If you are looking for something a tad bigger, I recommend the balcony or the owner’s suite downstairs.

If you do drive, try to park and not use your vehicle for the rest of your stay. Basically everything is within a 10-20 minute walk. Attempting to drive through the streets and then pay for parking seems silly; especially with the location of this B&B.

We had never stayed in a B&B before and La Maison Marigny exceeded our expectations. It just makes sense in a city with so much history and culture to stay in an authentic house, with an outstanding host!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Cha-ching, we've converted another hotel person to B&Bs! :-) Luckily, that happens a lot at our B&B and with B&Bs across New Orleans, I think, as our wonderful city is so lucky to have a great collection of inns. Thanks for sharing your photos, too, and also thanks for chatting with us about our upcoming room refresh program this summer....time for some minor tweaks here and there but not to worry as the rooms will still look substantially the same...just fresher!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galacticc...
MO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My wife and I just stayed in La Maison B&B for our second excursion to New Orleans. We had a fantastic stay. The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was prepared by John on day one and TJ on day two, and both meals were great. We were given any assistance and information we needed, as well as advice on places to check out based on our interest. The location is centered walking distance between Frenchman and the active part of Bourbon, so as long as you don't mind walking, it's a great spot. We'll definitely be checking on availability next time we are in NOLA!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
On behalf of both TJ and myself, we thank you! As you know, we planned to be out of town during your visit and TJ was going to take over but our trip was cancelled and you were stuck with me anyway for part of the time! :-) Seriously, it's wonderful that we have Joi and Thyago working with us...guests love them. Thanks for the nice comments and we hope to see you in New Orleans again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooke B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place & location!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have been to New Orleans several times, and this is our favorite place to stay by far! Perfect location close to everything, but on a quiet street. Lovely rooms, and John makes a wonderful breakfast every morning. John also has great recommendations and information about what is going on around the City, we really enjoyed talking to him over breakfast. I almost hate to recommend La Maison- hopefully it won't be booked next time we want to visit :-). Thank you John!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thanks, Brooke, for your wonderful review of our property. It was a pleasure meeting you and we're thrilled that you enjoyed our Bourbon at Esplanade location. It really is ideal, isn't it. We're also glad you enjoyed breakfast. We're constantly changing the menu to keep guests happy and we're nice to hear that it's working for us. Come back and visit soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“first timer no hotels available”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Was not sure what to expect but was delighted. Ended up there because the hotels were full. Now I will look at B&B's first. Great room and fab. breakfast. 2 blocks to some amazing (out of the way) restaurants and 4 blocks to trolley. Easy walk to center of quarter. Fri am trash day. No need to set your alarm.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Yay, we've converted a hotel guy! So glad you chose us for your first B&B experience and that we made a believer out of you. Thanks so much for the kind words and please come back! (And yes, the City's trash pickup on Friday mornings is quite early, isn't it?!?!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbarryChi...
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Stay at La Maison Marigny Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We just returned from another stay here. It was our 5th Mardi Gras there and wouldn't choose any other place in New Orleans. We are from New Orleans and have stayed in many places. None match up to our stays at this B&B. This year we had friends in the other 3 rooms, which made for a wonderful time. John and Dewey have just renovated the courtyard and it is a beautiful addition. The perfect place to gather, have a glass of wine and relax! John is a great host, not to mention the breakfast's that he cooks! My favorite new menu item this year is his Dirty Rice with eggs! For those of you not familiar with Dirty Rice, It's a Louisiana favorite and worth a trip to this B&B to taste it! Another fantastic stay, and don't even think about trying to book it next year at Mardi Gras, we've already done it!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
We love our repeat guests and the Mardi Gras crowd is among the most fun! We appreciate you all staying with us year after year and are so happy that you enjoy our B&B. Hopefully it won't be a full year until we see you guys again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris103
Regina sask
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in New Orleans”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Great B&B! John runs this as a FIRST CLASS business. Great location. Clean, (Thanks TJ and Mrs TJ). Great bed. Can't think of one thing to complain about. Quiet back yard to relax in. Well appointed. Safe short walk to Frenchmen street. Homey decoration.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2014
More great reviews from more nice Canadians! :-) Thank you so much for staying with us and for recognizing Joi and Thyago, who watched the B&B for a couple of days while I was off at a college reunion. I'm thrilled that they did a good job for you! Also, you were one of the first guests to enjoy the new courtyard space and I enjoyed hearing your comments at breakfast about how much your group enjoyed sitting outside and sipping on a bit of wine here and there.

Please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing