We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Retreat - Central Location, Great Host...”
other travellers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
399 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 399 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Dave H
Farmington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden Retreat - Central Location, Great Host, The Best Food”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

WOW! John has a hidden gem in the middle of the action. While at the quiet end of Bourbon Street, you are literally just a few blocks from all of the action of the French Quarter. Personally, I like the fact that you have a little buffer and a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the patio. The patio out back is a wonderful oasis with nice seating, a ceiling fan, and WiFi. So, whether you need to research your next stop or two in NOLA or just want to catch up on some email, the patio is a must. John is a very personable host and the breakfasts are fantastic!! If you want to be close to the French Quarter and Frenchman Street but have a quiet retreat, this is the place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Dave, thanks for the review! I noticed you checking email out in the courtyard a couple of mornings...I'm thrilled you like the new backyard design and took advantage of the strong wifi signal throughout the property. Please come visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in May 2014. John was very personable and his breakfasts were very good. Our room was beautiful and the location fit our needs perfectly. It's a bit away from the hustle and bustle but that is exactly what we wanted. We walked easily to the French Quarter and Frenchman Street where we enjoyed the quieter (but very entertaining) side of things (less rowdy drunks frequenting the streets compared to Bourbon Street).

The only thing I missed was the promised chocolate French toast John :). But we had a great egg and dirty rice dish instead.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Thanks for the great review! And sorry for the menu change from the chocolate french toast (I crave it when I type the words!) to the dirty rice (also fab!) but we sometimes have guests who won't/can't eat certain foods and a menu correction is necessary. I PROMISE I'll make it next time you visit, though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chariotch...
Derby in the UK
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Still Perfect”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our second visit to Maison Marigny. Since my first review the patio has been re-modelled to provide a great outdoor area for guests to relax and share a beer or two. I can't really add much more to my original review other than La Maison Marigny is still the perfect retreat in New Orleans, thank you John and Dewey.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
It's great when new guests find our B&B and rave about it but it's even better when repeat guests come back again and do the same thing! We know folks' travel dollars aren't infinite so we build value into our room rate (breakfast, snacks, wifi, parking, etc) and people notice. Thanks, guys, for choosing New Orleans and La Maison Marigny on your return trip. Hopefully we'll see you again in 2 years!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pixies197...
Cypress, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect host, perfect food, perfect location”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We just got back from our 3 day stay at La Maison Marigny. We've been to New Orleans many times and have to say this is by far the best place we have stayed. John is so welcoming and an excellent cook - breakfast was yummy!!!! He made us feel right at home and we had great conversations with him. When we returned during the day or at night it felt like we were right at home. We will definitely be back! And - sorry about the feathers!!!

Thanks again!
The Wingates

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Hello, Wingates! Thanks for the nice review. We look forward to welcoming you back to New Orleans soon. Signed, your blushing Host. (Seriously, thanks for the "perfect" word used more than once in the review. You rock!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egayle45
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfort AND Convenience!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I only have complimentary things to say about this lovely old B&B. Our room was very comfortable and well-kept daily by the housekeeper. Our friendly host John started our day with a delicious breakfast and made reservations for us at some great restaurants that we might otherwise have never known about. The location on Bourbon St. was within easy walking distance of nearly everything we wanted to do in NO and it was wonderfully quiet. Close-by street parking was always available when we needed it. The newly renovated courtyard is a gem for outdoor relaxation and downtime. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for being delightful guests. It's always fun to help share our great restaurant scene with visitors and I'm pleased that we suggested some good ones! Please come back soon. I'll pass on your compliments to Joi, our housekeeper, as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacobsrm
Saratoga, California
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This B&B was enough of of Bourbon St that it was not noisy at all. Wonderful rooms plus the breakfasts were great. John was so welcoming and helpful with everything we needed. We had the room on the mail floor which had a sitting room with it. It was nice to have since we were with friends and when we got back from dinner we could sit and enjoy ourselves. There is also an outdoor sitting area which is quite nice. Good lighting in the evening if you want to sit and visit. John offered snacks, drinks in the frig and a computer to use if needed. If you want to be near Bourbon St and still be able to sleep... this is the place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Realtors often say "location location location" and we agree...we've got it! You can walk everywhere in the FQ or to Frenchmen Street within minutes. I am so pleased you had a nice visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieDan
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A Great Find in NOLA”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

John Ramsey runs an excellent B&B, providing a warm welcome, a good night's lodging, a different and creative breakfast each morning, snacks any time, and lots of excellent conversation and advice. He will gladly help you with your bags, taking them up and down the 19 steep narrow steps to the second floor. The room is comfortable with a good bath and shower. He has no off-street parking, but he will give you a resident's permit to place in your car so you can park and leave your car on the street. The house is right on Bourbon Street, across Esplanade, and just outside the French Quarter. Frenchmen Street and its restaurants and music is practically around the corner. Everything in the French Quarter is within easy walking distance, so you won't need to move your car unless you are leaving. Local public transportation is good, so if you are going downtown or to the Garden District, you can catch the #91 bus nearby. The new gazebo/patio in the back yard is beautiful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
I am thrilled that you enjoyed the back yard renovation and, in fact, your entire stay with us. Comments like these make us smile! Thanks again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing