We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I wish I could stay at La Maison Marigny on every...”
other travellers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
397 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 397 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Nunzio227
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish I could stay at La Maison Marigny on every trip!”
Reviewed 22 April 2009 for a stay in April 2009
1
person found this review helpful

There are so many wonderful things to say about La Maison Marigny.

Jon is the nicest, friendliest, and most accommodating person I've ever come across. He greets you when you arrive, provides you with maps for finding restaurants and attractions, and helps you make reservations for tours. The baked goods that he makes in the mornings are truly tasty and delightful (especially the chocolate chip scones, which I still crave).

The entire B&B is very clean, very well maintained, and quite beautiful. Small touches like Zapp's chips in a variety of flavors, the other snacks available, a computer in a common area, and the beautiful courtyard are there to help make your trip stress free.

The B&B is in a great location because it's on Bourbon Street, but it's situated in the Marigny, so it's a very easy walk to both the French Quarter and the Marigny. The Central Business District, including the casino and Aquarium of the Americas, is a bit of a longer walk, but really not very far if you don't have any physical impairments.

Our room was cleaned every day and was a wonderful, surprisingly spacious place to return to after walking around all day. We just didn't expect to get such wonderful accommodations with our little traveling budget! Jon can easily charge more money for guests to stay at his B&B, but he wants everyone to have access to an authentic New Orleans experience. To say that I would strongly recommend this place to a friend or family member would be an understatement. I hope that we can return again someday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadaqui...
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The centre of Action in New Orleans”
Reviewed 14 April 2009 for a stay in April 2009
3
people found this review helpful

We selected this bed and breakfast because it was reported as "the only B&B on Bourbon Street, it was and we were not dissapointed. We were suprised when we arrived with our cousins from Ireland to find the Canadian and Irish Tri Colour flying on the front of the B&B, nice touch. John was a gracious host and made sure we were comfortable upon our arrival. He gave us a rundown on do's and don'ts in New Orleans and provided us with a map of the area and a break down of the local restaurants that were worth visiting. La Maison Marigny is located on the fringe of the French Quarter but little did we know it is in the middle of the Marigny District which provides some of the best Jazz and Blues in New Orleans. One block away we had one of the greatest meals of our stay at the Marigny Restaurant, we stayed in the area for the night and were very much entertained by what we saw and heard.
We met our cousins from Irleland there, they too enjoyed the night we spent in the Marigny District.
On the next night, a few short blocks away and we were right in the middle of the action on Bourbon Street, Pat O'briens, Preservation Hall and some of the best restaurants in New Orelans if not North America. At the end of The Espanade steps away from La Maison Marigny is a trolly car that took us along the waterfront to The River Walk and Canal Street for $1.25, we were able to get a transfer to another trolly on Canal Street and even the St. Charles Street Trolly that took us out to the Garden District, Even though we had a rental car we kept is parked with the parking pass provided and took the public transit and walked where we wanted to go.
The room we stayed in "The Owners Suite" was very comfortable, the nice sitting room, was good to relax and meet with our cousins. We visted them in their room and had a drink on the balcony just off thier room. Friendly neighbours greeted us as well.
The breakfast was enjoyable.
Both couples are happy that we selected La Maison Marigny and if we were to return to New Orleans we know it would be like going home by staying again at this very comfortable B&B in New Orleans.
Barry and Louise Quinn
Burlington, Ontario. CANADA

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JYOS
Bethlehem, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Service, Hospitality and Overall Value!”
Reviewed 13 April 2009 for a stay in April 2009
2
people found this review helpful

La Maison Marigny B&B is the quintessential place for those who like their stay at B&Bs. For a city B&B, John and Dewey have made this a perfect haven after a long day of city touring and dining. Located at the edge of the French Quarter and just into the Marigny, it is the perfect location for a New Orleans trip.

The place is clean, quiet and with all the amenities. A beautiful little, secluded courtyard provides the perfect place for the morning coffee and paper ... or the evening cocktail before heading into town. John is extremely knowledgeable about NOLA (having grown and lived here most of his life) and can recommend anything from the upscale to the home down and funky!

A temporary inconvenience of a major renovation on a gorgeous old mansion across the street will only enhance the appeal of La Maiosn Marigny once that is completed.

Go and Enjoy!

j. sachdev

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
njwoodste...
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 6 April 2009 for a stay in March 2009
1
person found this review helpful

What a great find! Just far enough from the noise of Bourbon street and close enough to all the action, in Bourbon area and Marigny area. And John is a wealth of information on any subject related to visiting New Orleans. The room was spacious and clean with all the amenities. We really needed much more time to discover all the recommended places to eat and visit. Maison Marigny is an oasis in the confusion of Bourbon Street!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunandfun...
Pittsburgh, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels Like Home!”
Reviewed 11 March 2009 for a stay in March 2009
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this fabulous B & B for my birthday. The location was what drew me to it (and, of course, the favorable reviews). It's right on Bourbon Street but far enough away to be nice and quiet when you do want to sleep. The hidden gem for us was learning about Frenchmen Street. There were bands and great restaurants even closer than walking to the busy part of Bourbon. We hung out at the Spotted Cat and a few others, the music was varied and fun! In addition to Frenchmen and Bourbon, we could walk just about anywhere we wanted to go. We walked to the French Market, and along the river. The aquarium is one of the best. We had fantastic crawfish etoufee pizza at the New Orleans Pizza Kitchen. We took a trolley ride to see the beautiful houses in the Garden District. Royal Street had so many antiques and paintings, we never could see it all.

What I liked best was that after each adventure we would come back the the house, grab a snack (several choices are provided) and something to drink (lots to choose from in the frig) and relax in the back courtyard, or watch a movie, or take a nap in the comfortable queen size bed. It felt like home. What was even better was having breakfast every morning prepared by our very friendly host and not by me! My favorites were the fresh baked muffins and fresh fruit. (Please note: New Orleans has an ordinance requiring that all B&Bs do continental breakfasts.)

It was such a wonderful weekend and I can't wait to go back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHVTravel...
Shreveport, LA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice getaway”
Reviewed 10 February 2009 for a stay in June 2006
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed here many times. Most enjoyable when I am in New Orleans for work. It is quiet, comfortable and convenient. The hosts are helpful with directions and advice. I find this a much better value than staying in a chain hotel. No outrageous valet parking fee, no huge lobby to cross, elevator to take etc.... It is in a perfect location for a fun getaway. 1/2 block to the French Quarter, one block to Frenchman Street, where some fo the best live music is played in the city and where the locals go.
La Maison Marigny never disappoints. This is a great place to stay anytime of year. Holiday or not. In fact, New Orleans is great fun when there is not a big festival going on.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: location, convenience, size, quality
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyzL
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the La Maison Marigny! Will Return.”
Reviewed 29 January 2009 for a stay in January 2009

John made our stay in New Orleans carefree and wonderful, by providing services above and beyond any I've experienced in other B & Bs. It was wonderful to wake up to the smell of coffee and the fabulous homemade muffins (and the owner's thoughtful attention to my low fat diet) each morning. Each morning he'd be there to give us assistance and advice on our explorations, restaurants, and adventures. It was great to have the free internet access available as well.

We were so pleased that the room and amenities were exactly what we saw on the web site. It was beautiful and comfortable. We loved the 10' high windows leading to the balcony and the court yard was secluded and very pretty. Certainly a home away from home. We will certainly recommend La Maison Marigny to anyone we know that is visiting our favorite city, New Orleans.

Beth & Jerry L.
from Wisconsin

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: It was a romantic completely restored Queen Anne on the edge of the French Quarter. The owner was fantastic!
Liked least: nothing
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing