We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a beautiful place to visit”
Review of Jackson Square

Jackson Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
New Orleans Scavenger Hunt Adventure
More Info
US$64.98*
and up
New Orleans French Quarter Segway Tour
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
French Quarter Haunted Excursion In New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 364 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun area with street painters, musicians and jugglers.
Ravenswood,WV
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Still a beautiful place to visit”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Still the same, all the street people making a living on the street, all the different shops, and the cathedral, wow. The square is still maintained tastefully and the area is impressive at times just to look at.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jax405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,765
    3,581
    773
    81
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Center of Town”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We loved the Basilica, and the street performers. This is pretty much the center of town. Here is where you find information, Café Du Monde, the Hop On Hop Off Bus office, and various restaurants. It is also central to the River walk area where you catch the steamboats.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mebtfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rainy day Fun”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was the end of a 20 day road trip and we decided to make a quick overnight stop to see New Orleans on the way home.

But it was raining. Which was a bummer.

A little intermittent drizzle wouldn't stop us from checking out the French Quarter on our only night in town.

Jackson Square looked beautiful but we didn't spend much time checking the area. We did hear the area around the square was famous for street performers. Unfortunately only a few were hanging around because of the weather.

We watched a man play a gigantic exotic looking stringed instrument. I wish I remembered the name of it. He was rocking it! Another performer on the bongos later joined in. Very cool impromptu jam session.

We then were called over by a friendly balloon artist and chatted with him about his career in education.

Cool place. I wish we had more time to spend there. Hopefully we'll make it back to really experience Jackson Square.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFromJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun, historical, beautiful art”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is practically the epicenter of the FQ, as well it should be. Here, outside of St. Louis Cathedral, artists, tourists, locals, and everything else under the sun gather to browse, sell, buy, tell fortunes, and play music. You have to walk by while sipping your intoxicating concoction du jour and just look at all the amazing art created by our local artists. Your also likely to see dancing troupes, guitar players, frozen 'statue' people, and perhaps an impromptu parade of some sort. Go inside the St. Louis Cathedral and pray for the sins you are about to commit in such a beautiful and amazing city!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindsayMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint Park w/so much history.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Vendors & musicians surround the perimeter of Jackson Sq and it's a nice place to stroll or sit on a park bench & relax. The Square is surrounded by sites to behold, history to learn of and cafes to have a bite or quench your thirst. If you're lucky, maybe you'll experience a wedding party having their second line from the Cathedral thru the streets of Nawlins led by an authentic brass band. There are lots of fortune tellers if you're a spiritual being; many locals & transients gather in this area to market their talents or crafts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSpa0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jackson Square also viewed

 

Been to Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing