We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eh...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Absinthe House

Old Absinthe House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic building, which dates back to 1806, now houses a bar and two restaurants.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eh...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Drinks aren't worth the price, even for the Quarter. Bartender was kind of helpful, I guess... Not friendly but not out and out rude either. Strange decorating with old, crusty business cards posted everywhere and football memorabilia with no explanation. Other places explain the history in signage or menus, but this place was just odd I guess. We didn't hate it, but we definitely have no reason to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carissa409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    70
    34
    20
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bloody Mary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stopped in here for a breakfast bloody Mary drink. It was delicious. The handful of pickled green beans in the drink topped it off beautifully!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruzincoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
261 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Just to say we've tried Absinthe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We always say we're going to try it, but we're not fans of things that taste like licorice. Still, we wanted to cross it off our list, so we tried it this time. Our bartender was at least very helpful in directing us towards the most mild absinthe- as far as flavoring goes. Neither one of us really cared for it- but that's not the bartender's or the absinthe's fault. Still- it was an interesting experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HouCuseChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Now a Sports Bar?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

While I always pop into this bar while I’m in New Orleans, it seems to have turned into a sports bar, which is a little sad. I didn’t have any absinthe while I was there because I’m not a fan, but my friend’s seemed to enjoy it. My first margarita was very good, but the second tasted a little pre-mixed. Prices seemed okay for NOLA --- just a shame it now has a sports theme.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
186 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not the stylish absinthe presentation but they had some good brands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a bar on Bourbon St., open to the air, music, people, loud, a ruckus at times, with overworked bartenders. They had maybe 8 types of absinthe and I've had maybe half of these. The best is Le Fee from France, and I ordered that. A friend had the Mata Hari which I tasted and didn't like as much--not as smooth and a bit more sour. Absinthe is like Pernod with the taste of anise or licorice. The presentation of absinthe is a ritual but what you see at this bar includes none of the beauty of what it's about. Yes, there are (modern) absinthe spoons, sugar cubes and water, but none of the exquisite accoutrement that comes with this unusual liquor. Still, you likely won't find absinthe around the corner from where you live, so it's worth a trip if you're in NOLA and you can read the history of the place. It's a high alcohol drink and one will get you where you want to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bellesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Absinthe House also viewed

 

Been to Old Absinthe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing