We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, authentic jazz performance!”
Review of Preservation Hall

Preservation Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Music Tour
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Music and Heritage Tour
Ranked #11 of 364 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New Orleans' Preservation Hall was established in 1961 to honor one of America's truest art forms - Traditional New Orleans Jazz. Operating as a music venue, a touring band, and a non-profit organization, Preservation Hall continues its mission today as a cornerstone of New Orleans music and culture. Situated in the heart of the French Quarter on St. Peter Street, the Preservation Hall venue presents intimate, acoustic New Orleans Jazz concerts over 350 nights a year featuring ensembles from a current collective of 100+ local master practitioners. On any given night, audiences bear joyful witness to the evolution of this venerable and living tradition.
Bainbridge, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome, authentic jazz performance!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Preservation Hall is a wonderful venue to see real Dixieland jazz. Jazz is much more than just "When the Saints Go Marching In," but the band really preserved and honored the Dixieland feel.

Helpful?
Thank LeighMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,056
    727
    274
    104
    62
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Live jazz in historic intimate setting. Each show is about 45 minutes of music. The room is tiny and the three rows of seating(wood benches) is only for those with advance ticket purchases unless it doesn't sell out. We bought tickets in advance and we are glad we did. The line to buy queues up about 1 hour before the show. The room is packed with folks on the floor and standing in the back. It is hot! There is no a/c, no restroom, no food or beverages for sale but you can bring in drinks. The heat and closeness adds to the experience of what early jazz clubs must have been like. The music was excellent. The only souvenir my teen asked for on the whole trip was t-shirt from here which was high quality and only $15. We went to 8 pm show but would go to 9 pm show next time and stand outside to listen to the early show, it was that good! Only downside, not allowed to take a photo of the performance! So disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank michelennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New orleans
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are in the Quarter-- don't miss this place!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very old and historic. Harry Connick learned everything he knows here as a little boy!! Nightly shows and just a super authentic experience. Go check it out and you won't be disappointed. THere is no a/c so expect to be a little warm, but you forget about it as soon as the music starts!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must even if you're not into jazz.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Although you can listen to music for free just about anywhere in the French Quarter, setting foot in this historic building makes for a memorable experience - it sorta brings you back in time. You don't have to like jazz to appreciate the music and the entertainment. We went there for the 8 o'clock performance which we were told by our tour guide to get there at least half hour early since it was the slow season. At any rate, we arrived about 45min prior and pretty soon a line began to form outside the hall. I suggest that if you are serious about seeing a performance, get there early at least 45min to an hour before the show starts. The space is limited and most of the bench seating are reserved to patrons who purchase their tickets in advance at a premium. Our tickets I believe was $15, but luckily there were some open seats available; otherwise, it was standing room only. The music was superb, but I expected their to be better lighting and acoustic. It was so authentic that there weren't even mics.

Preservation Hall is definitely a must do in New Orleans. It is great too for the whole family, although might not be a good idea to bring kids less than 7.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ericjvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Timeless and historical.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is one of the focal points of jazz in America. The jazz is good, but the historical value even more interesting. No bathroom (they will let you go outside next door and allow you to return), you can bring in a Hurricane from next door (Pat O'Brien's). Be sure to buy your tickets in advance. It will ensure you a good seat (rather than standing). It's very small and intimate. Imagine you're back in the 60's with some of the greats starting out their careers! Short 50 minute show. Be sure to tip the band afterwards!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Preservation Hall also viewed

 

Been to Preservation Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing