We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 17:00 - 21:30
New Orleans Music Heritage Tour
216

Book in advance
from
£24.30
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Preservation Hall
from £24.30
More Info
from £48.59
More Info
from £20.25
More Info
from £145.78
More Info
Reviews (5,957)
Filter reviews
5,956 results
Traveller rating
4,342
964
396
163
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,342
964
396
163
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standing room front row wooden benches second row traditional jazz no air conditioning amazing musicians general admission great music live jazz highlight of our trip french quarter bourbon street performance band tickets trombone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,624 - 2,629 of 5,956 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Wow! Do yourself a favor and definitely take the time to line up for the one of the evening performances at this wonderful place. You completely lose yourself in the music and the experience. I could have spent all night listening to the fantastic music being played. So, my only complaint was the performance was too short at 1 hr!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Preservation Hall is justly famous as the home of old-time jazz. It's jazz as it was once played everywhere, before jazz turned intellectual. We enjoyed it immensely.. All the musicians were Afro-Americans, except for the pianist, who was Japanese -- that didn't stop her pounding out a good beat. By the way, check on session times, you may have to queue.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank 619jeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Getting the "Big Shot" tickets in advance from the website was so worth it to avoid waiting in line for hours for tickets at the door, but I'd definitely get the front row seat tickets next time, a much better view of the band even though there were 2 rows of people sitting on the floor in front. The music was great and the band was quite entertaining! Only thing we didn't like was how soliciting the band was for "tips". They has songs just to get people to fill their "tip" hat, and it took some big "tips" for them to sing certain popular songs. Considering we paid big bucks for the tickets, it was a bit annoying the band spent half the show dropping subtle hints for "tips".

Date of experience: April 2016
4  Thank TravelwithJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I've been here 3 times now. Twice July 2013 and once for New Year's Eve. On a regular night, there are usually 3 shows lasting 40-ish minutes. The band is awesome and the place has been around forever. Tickets are cheap if you don't mind standing and waiting. If you want to sit it costs more, and there's not many seats. You're also sitting on a bench with no back. For NYE, this is AMAZING. Totally worth the price!! We did the general admission, so we were standing. But it's open bar, the music is great!! They do one set, take you to the courtyard for a countdown and baby drop, then lead you out into the streets for the fireworks. After all that, they bring you back in for another set! It's unlike they're regular shows! They encourage you to dance, sing along, and play pop songs and such. It was awesome and I will definitely be doing it again at some point!

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank 808jayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Literally like a time warp, but a great one. People line up for a long time for this institution, and now I know why. The room inside is simple, with peg-board wood and a few dusty pictures on the walls. Patrons are crammed in -- a lucky few in seats they reserved weeks ahead, most of the rest standing. The band was great, just the right tone. Sadly only a 50 minute single set. Not to be missed.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Marco2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews