We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thoroughbred Racing Facility!”

Fair Grounds Race Course
Ranked #138 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Popular track for thoroughbred horse racing.
Arabi, Louisiana
Level Contributor
172 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Thoroughbred Racing Facility!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A must if you like the horses. A beautiful facility located not more than 7-8 minutes from the CBD. Recently bought by Churchill Downs, Inc. The facility has seen many upgrades and is a staple for many hometown and visiting race fans.

Every now and then the track will hold night events that include racing anf those are something to see.

Great facility, great food and entertainment. A must see in New Orleans.

Visited December 2011
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Garth3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horse Racing at its best”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I love the Fair Grounds. The people are friendly, the races are exciting and I really enjoy watching the horses in the paddock.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eat the white beans and rice! Bet the Gray to Win!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Love the Fair Grounds, in the heart of Gentilly, a real look at New Orleans. Make it a day trip or a couple of hours.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a fun time”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Whether we are with friends or our family, we always have a rest time. Food is OK to really good depending on what you order. Service can be improved, but all worth it for the fun and experience. Our children have a wonderful time there as well. Great for all ages.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tiger1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Vernon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Day Racing”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Have a non-traditional Thanksgiving at Fair Grounds for horseracing. It's fun and the race card is usually pretty good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank RichH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fair Grounds Race Course also viewed

 

Been to Fair Grounds Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing