We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Secret is out!”
Review of B&W Courtyards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&W Courtyards
Ranked #8 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A place like this should not be shared. We would certainly love to keep it a secret: Where in downtown New Orleans can you find a reachable, quiet, and comfortable place to stay? Simply right here at the Courtyards. Both, my wife and I, were familiar with the French Quarter from earlier times, when we used to live here. We were not quite sure about the surroundings of the B&B, but were very pleasantly surprised by the transformed neighborhood. Only a few blocks away from safe (yes!) bars and restaurants to enjoy the true culture of Mardi Gras. The room was quaint, tastefully decorated, clean, and the breakfast was delicious. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joachim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nynola, Owner at B&W Courtyards, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2015

Thank you - a very belated thank you - for your wonderful review of our bed and breakfast. We're so glad you enjoyed yours stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We came here without a car, so a location within walking distance of most of the main attractions was a must. Much to my surprise I found this location in the Marigny made more sense for us than the French Quarter. Its only 4 blocks from the French Quarter anyways - and also close to Frenchman Street which is where the music scene has really moved to. Bourbon St. is mainly noise and strip joints now - I don' t think we saw a single show there, though we did go to Preservation Hall close by.
We chose the second floor room. It had a comfortable king bed, 2 side tables, dresser & lounge sofa - and as well there was a separate reading room for our use. There's TV, complimentary coffee & even complimentary sherry! There's no tub in the b.rm, but there is a hot tub in the courtyard which we used a couple of times to warm up (went end of January and its been a really cold winter}. I wouldn't call this place budget, but its far from expensive, and for us it was worth it, as we stayed here a week. It was very quiet as well - which is a bonus if you value your sleep.
Food & Hosts - I shouldn't end this review without mentioning the breakfasts & our excellent hosts. Dana & Tom made us feel very welcome and gave us some excellent tips re: shows and restaurants. One dark and stormy night when we opted to stay in, Tom helped us call a local pizza joint for take-out. His breakfasts didn't quite hold us all day - mainly because we walked our socks off - but for some people they might, and each day you get a different one - with a different fruit salad no less. They also rustled up a lighter blanket for me - I sleep warmer now than I used to.
Anyways, a great place to stay when visiting NOLA.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are pretty good - currently they are renovating the room with a wacky bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nynola, Owner at B&W Courtyards, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2015

Here is a belated thank you for your kind review - Thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope you'll visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I spent our second anniversary here last Fall. One of the best parts of B&W is getting to know Tom and Dana. They genuinely love the city, genuinely care about their guests, and are excellent resources for the best ways to experience New Orleans over a short weekend or extended stay. Breakfast is a welcoming, family atmosphere and it is very enjoyable to spend time with the hosts and other guests. Location is a short walk from all the action, but removed from the hustle and bustle. Next time we are in New Orleans we will definitely check in with the B&W Courtyards. Thanks again for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nynola, Owner at B&W Courtyards, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you thank you for your review - we loved having you stay with us and we hope that you'll return soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for a week in this lovely B&B and Tom, the host And COOK was kind and very informative. Breakfast was really great and we loved the company of other guests at the dining table. The location is fabulous. Only blocks from Frenchman st and close to the French Quarter, etc. Our room was comfortable. The bathroom is very small. Very, very small. My husband and I can accommodate easily, but for people who need room, perhaps not a good option. Overall we loved this hotel and will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 248dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nynola, Owner at B&W Courtyards, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review - we really enjoyed having you saty with us and hope you'll return to our wonderful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were delighted to find a virtual oasis in this charming New Orleans Faubourg-Marigny neighborhood b&b. Dana and Tom couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating with their deep knowledge of the area, especially restaurants and music scene. Wonderful breakfasts and a relaxed atmosphere made for perfect R&R. A brisk walk to Frenchman's Street and French Quarter.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard so there was some noise from people entering/leaving, as well as sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StLouisians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nynola, Owner at B&W Courtyards, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

We're so glad you stayed with us and so glad you enjoyed your visit - Thank you thank you for your wonderful review - and we hope you'll be back soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband & I stayed at B&W Courtyards in November for a 2 night visit to the City and to attend a Saints game. We typically stay with friends Uptown or find whatever hotel deal we can find in The Quarter or Garden District. Turns out almost everything was sold out due to several conventions going on that weekend. Luckily for us Rob had something available which turned out to be a lovely room furnished with very tasteful antiques. Come to find out the night before we went to New Orleans, that Rob had sold the B&B. Tom was very nice and understanding while explaining all of this since I was quite confused over an "almost" glitch with the reservation. He and Dana could not have been more accommodating and gracious once we arrived. Loved the courtyard & fountain outside our room. Also, loved staying in The Marigny area of town and getting the local feel of this cool neighborhood. It was an easy walk the The French Quarter and we even made our way by foot to The Superdome for the game. A cab ride back did not cost much. We would certainly stay at B&W again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nynola, Owner at B&W Courtyards, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you so very much for your great review! - We really enjoyed your company - and we hope you'll visit us again next Saints season. Who dat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the B&W Courtyards. A girlfriend and I stayed there for five nights on a mommy's weekend away. Tom and Dana are charming hosts and kept us very comfortable during our stay. Breakfasts, were delicious, unique and always beautiful. The location is great...an easy walk to the french quarter through colorful working-class neighborhoods, including crossing Frenchman street which offers a taste of the NOLA music scene.

We had the back carriage house room which was clean and comfortable. The room was true to the photos available online, and the bed comfortable. This room does offer a jetted tub, but it is the size of a standard tub, except a bit deeper. (That is to say, don't expect to hang out in the tub with your partner, definitely a one-seater!) There was a small closet for hanging and storing clothes, and they also provided nice cotton bathrobes. They freshen towels and make the bed daily.

Before booking here there are a few considerations one should make. I present these considerations as neither positive or negative, just items that one should contemplate before they book. We decided to book a B&B for this longer trip so that we would have access to a living area when we had downtime at the inn. This particular property is spread across three buildings that are contained within a fenced courtyard (hence the name). As far as I could tell (I did not tour all of the rooms) each room had a locking exterior entry, meaning there was no shared interior space. We had to step outside and into the main house for breakfast in the morning, and this space was locked after Tom and Dana left for the evening (they do not live on property). Of course, there were chairs for gathering in the courtyard, but we were there in January and had fairly cool weather.

Second, one should also remember that they are not staying in a modern hotel. These buildings all have a great deal of history which makes them fun and interesting, but occasionally leaves one longing for modern construction. For example, the sink in our bathroom was small and very low. There was little space for toothbrushes, curling irons, and other essentials that I require to whip my 35-year-old self into shape every morning.

I'll also add that we rented a car and found it quite useful for touring NOLA, and had no trouble finding parking near the B&B, though it was all street parking and parallel parking skills are a must have.

Tom, Dana, thank you for the lovely stay. You offered us exceptional hospitality, fascinating history lessons, and a delicious start to each morning! Thank you!

Room Tip: Call and chat with Tom about your needs, they are very helpful and accomodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarieMom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nynola, Owner at B&W Courtyards, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you, thank you for your wonderful review! We loved having you stay with us! Please come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 141 in New Orleans
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&W Courtyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&W Courtyards

Address: 2425 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £100 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&W Courtyards 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1854 Creole compound. Architectural award winner, just 3 blocks from the music clubs on Frenchmen Street and 4 blocks from the French Market. Featured in Travel & Leisure. A/C, cable, private baths. Lush courtyards and ponds. Delicious breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your B&W Courtyards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&w Courtyards Hotel New Orleans
b And w Courtyards

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing