We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I picked this hotel specifically to have a balcony. I reserved a balcony room a month in advance. First, if you dont know already, parking is $35 a day. Pretty steep but where else are you going to park? We checked in and once we got to our room I realized we had no balcony. Called the front desk and they apologized. I was told that they were doing some remodeling and all their balcony rooms were booked. I explained the only reason I booked with them was the fact that I wanted a balcony room. Eventually they called back and took off the parking fee and adjusted the rate of my room to reflect the room I received.
Later that night the circuit blew for the bathroom and hallway light. Someone came to fix it and gave us a bottle of champagne. Nice. It happen again the next night and the maintenance man (not the nice guy from the night before) came and told my husband that it had to be whatever was plugged in that cause the problem. After explaining that nothing was plugged in he got a mild attitude and said that was the only thing it could be.
We also ordered a movie and that was a disaster. Never got to watch the end of MIB3 because the picture was so terrible and kept shaking. They took that off our bill.
Other than the one maintenance man the second night, every single person we came in contact with was wonderful. The room was very clean and the the A/C worked magnificently. The comp. breakfast wasn't bad either. If I wouldnt have had to call the front desk 4 times I would have given them 5 stars. But they did a great job of trying to make it right.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    1,137
    303
    113
    55
See reviews for
607
1,389
92
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We experienced some of the worst customer service ever at Dauphine Orleans Hotel. First problem was that the air conditioner in our room was working properly. Spoke with the front desk early in the morning before leaving for the day. I was assured someone would look at it by the time we returned that afternoon. When we returned that afternoon no one had looked at the air conditioner and had to once again report the issue to the front desk. Finally after maintenance confirmed what I had told them they moved us to a new room. Then after returning home from our trip we discovered that they charged us twice to stay there. Charged us for both rooms that we stayed in!! Beware of this place, bellman is the only person who is helpful on the whole property. Stay elsewhere!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugsy6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

A friend and I just returned from a girls trip to New Orleans and were wanting a really cool place right VERY near the hustle and bustle but not so close that we had to deal with the craziness all night long. This hotel was fantastic! It was literally one block from Bourbon street and within walking distance to everything else in the Quarter. Mike (the bellman) was wonderful when we were too lazy to walk in the heat of the summer day and would get a cab there for any time we needed. The front desk staff was fantastic as well. They called to see if we were happy with our room, to check if we needed anything and answered all sorts of questions for us including the ones about the resident ghosts (and no, we didn't see or feel any ghosts while we were there). It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a 5 star place but if you want a nice French Quarter hotel with personality for a reasonable price, don't look any further. I will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same as far as I could tell. Very clean and the staff was very accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We needed a suite with 3 bedrooms for myself, husband, daughter, son-in-law, and 2 grandkids. Roderick the manager showed us the cottages. They were beautiful, had there own private patio area. noone else was staying in the cottages that night so we also had a private pool.It was not cheap $500. However 2 rooms anywhere in the French quarter was close to that anyways. First time our daughter had been to NO, so it was a great experience for her.Staff was very friendly and helpful. Roderick went out of his way for us. Great location block from Bourbon Street, but alot better. Vicki C. Arlington,TX.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is a very central location - close to everything New Orleans has to offer.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The pool area is much larger than the pictures suggest.
And the complimentary breakfast is quite filling and complete.
My only complaints - the pub attached to it smelt pretty horrific......and my biggest complaint....I'm pretty sure the doors and windows are made of paper.....because you hear EVERYTHING.
Unfortunately, my room was right beside the elevator, so night and day, all I heard every time the elevator reached the floor was a high pitched three dings (Ding....Ding ding) ....I've had nightmares of this speaking elevator ever since......................
All in all - it's a nice place - but if you stay there....make sure you're room is off the street, and away from the elevator of sleep deprivation!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDtrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

I came to New Orleans with my 13 year old son (his 1st visit) and chose this hotel for its location. From the front desk to the maintenance crew, our stay has been terrific with memorable service and amenities.

When the A/C wasn't working properly, they were on it immediately and it was working well when we got back from dinner.

The guys in Valet were fun & friendly, even goig so far to help me map out our day with some helpful 'local' tips.

The front desk was efficient and fun. The women working the desk were genuinely interested in how our experiences in the city were, what we saw and where we ate. Great group.

The pool was absolutely terrific. We loved the salt water...it seemed 'lighter' and cleaner than a chlorine pool. The courtyards were beautifully appointed with plush chairs and lounges (not a speck of dirt or stain on the fabric!)

We would certainly stay here again, but I would request a room with a balcony...room 210 has a lovely view of an alley. I also found the lighting lacking and would have loved a proper chest of drawers for our 4 night stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Booked a so called Balcony Room at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel this past weekend, Aug 9th-12th 2012. 3rd Floor room. Ok, first of all when you book a room with a balcony make sure this is a true Balcony. What a joke. The Window in our room had to be propped opened and you had to step out of the window onto this little ledge of a balcony. Really??? Next time I will ask detailed questions. However we won't be staying in this Hotel again.

Paint was jacked up in the hallway, Very noisy both inside the hotel and outside. Not worth the money spent. Friendly Hotel staff but that was about it....

I love New Orleans but won't be staying here again... You get one shot with me...

Room Tip: Make sure you ask a lot of detailed questions about the room you are going to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,205 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,538 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
1,656 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing