We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #43 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All around great”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Staff was friendly, great location, good breakfast bar. Pool was wonderful. Room was clean, bed was comfy, sheets nice, ac worked great. Only noise we heard was the night of the Saints game and people coming home from that - not a big deal at all. We were there during the hurricane, and they helped us get a taxi fast so we could get to the airport and get out before it hit. Only complaint: that we didn't get to stay that last night - stupid Isaac. Thanks guys - will come back for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,601
    1,175
    313
    122
    60
See reviews for
654
1,439
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manvel, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I can't rave enough about the service and friendliness of the staff at the Dauphine. They new us by name from the moment we checked in and one we got to our room, they called to make sure it was up to our standards. From the valet/bellhops to the bartenders at May Bailey's, we could not have asked to be treated any better. It was like we were family.

The bed was super comfy and the in room fridge was awesome. The pool was perfect. The view from the balcony was fun and the noise wasn't too much of an issue. The reception on the TV left a bit to be desired, but who watches TV in NOLA?

I won't stay anywhere else from now on. Thanks, y'all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

when i was 60 my wife linda took me to orleans. we stayed at the dauphine which was one of the best hotel i have stayed. the concerage was terrific and told us how to enjoy my birthday, the room was great as was the staff. coming from boston you will miss out by not staying at the dauphine

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aland459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

If you're going to play tourist in New Orleans, you have to be either in or close to the French Quarter. Dauphin Orleans is located just a block away from the busiest (and, incidentally, raunchiest) part of Bourbon Street, but that one block makes a difference: the hotel is quiet, and with (small) indoor courtyards, including one with a (small) pool, it is a great oasis on a hot summer's day.

The rooms were big, and the complimentary breakfast quite good. (Bird-lover's alert: the breakfast is served in the house in which James Audobon spent his last years. Lucky fellow!)

Parking is on-site, but you get charged a daily rate of $35.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pogo791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

What a Gem! So beautiful and cozy, I didn't want to leave. My husband and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and decided to go to New Orleans. He had been but this was a first time for me. We saw the Dauphine online and did some investigating. What a wonderful surprise this hotel was. We arrived on Aug. 16, 2012 and stayed till Aug. 19, 2012. We arrived way before check-in time, but they had our room ready for us. It was a lovely room, so clean and fresh smelling. Nice big bed, beautiful TV, a balcony, and a very clean bathroom. We put our bags down and went out to walk around town. We walked down Bourbon street to Canal and then onto Riverwalk and took the steamboat tour. A very nice way to spend the morning. After that we walked back to Bourbon and stopped in some local establishments to get out of the rain. 3 for 1 beers! Oh my! We sat and watched the rain and just people watched, which is quite awesome on Bourbon Street. At night we walked along Bourbon Street, sampled food and drinks all up and down...at one point my husband dropped his phone and didn't realize it and when we headed back down the same way a young man from Rick's Cabaret came over to us and said he saw my husband drop his phone, he picked it up, tried to call out to him but he didn't hear him. He put the phone to the side and figured he would see us again walking back down the street. It was a good 1/2 hr later, but he was right. He gave my husband his phone, wouldn't accept anything, and told us to enjoy our stay. How nice is that?

We ate at NOLA's where I had fried eggplant strips, which were probably just the best things I have ever eaten in my life! My husband had the Taste of New Orleans platter and I had the catfish Po boy! Delish! Our favorite nighttime hangout was Sing Sing. Great musicians playing blues and putting a bluesy twist on some of todays music. Nachos were really good at Rita's Tequilla Room. Pat O's had some awesome food and friendly service.

The Dauphine had an outstanding Continental Breakfast, so that's where we ate every morning. Fresh fruit, assorted cereals, eggs, croissants, sausage, juices, freshly made waffles and coffee and tea.

We went to the WWII Museum which is a MUST. But please allow yourself at least 1/2 a day there. There is so much to see and so much to absorb and so much to honor. We should have planned better because we didn't even get to the Japan side of the attraction and we were there for 3 1/2 hours. It is so impressive so please make sure you plan on visiting!

Just a great time in a great city! Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can always ask for an upgrade when you get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeresaC023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I picked this hotel specifically to have a balcony. I reserved a balcony room a month in advance. First, if you dont know already, parking is $35 a day. Pretty steep but where else are you going to park? We checked in and once we got to our room I realized we had no balcony. Called the front desk and they apologized. I was told that they were doing some remodeling and all their balcony rooms were booked. I explained the only reason I booked with them was the fact that I wanted a balcony room. Eventually they called back and took off the parking fee and adjusted the rate of my room to reflect the room I received.
Later that night the circuit blew for the bathroom and hallway light. Someone came to fix it and gave us a bottle of champagne. Nice. It happen again the next night and the maintenance man (not the nice guy from the night before) came and told my husband that it had to be whatever was plugged in that cause the problem. After explaining that nothing was plugged in he got a mild attitude and said that was the only thing it could be.
We also ordered a movie and that was a disaster. Never got to watch the end of MIB3 because the picture was so terrible and kept shaking. They took that off our bill.
Other than the one maintenance man the second night, every single person we came in contact with was wonderful. The room was very clean and the the A/C worked magnificently. The comp. breakfast wasn't bad either. If I wouldnt have had to call the front desk 4 times I would have given them 5 stars. But they did a great job of trying to make it right.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,196 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,586 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#32 of 164 in New Orleans
2,274 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing