We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem with Caring Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #43 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Oyster Bay, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Gem with Caring Staff”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I admit a preference for small hotels especially in large cities, and found the Dauphine Orleans as a delightful host to our forty-eight hours in New Orleans. Its location is perfect, allowing us to walk to Jackson Square, Julia Street, and also allowing us to avoid the noise and chaos of Bourbon Street. Our room was small, but with a comfortable king size bed and lovely toiletries: delicious smelling soaps and creams. However, it was the staff at the front desk that made the hotel. During a fierce rainstorm, the Sunday morning desk clerk loaned us her personal umbrella and suggested that we not walk to St. Augustine's Catholic Church through a sketchy section of Treme. "I wouldn't let my mother walk there," she said.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor and it was exceptionally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,601
    1,175
    313
    122
    60
See reviews for
654
1,439
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We were on our way to NO, already booked at another "chain" hotel when we stumbled on this gem. Located within walking distance of everything, this charming hotel was the perfect way to really get into the New Orleans experience. From check in to check out, we loved every bit of our stay. We had two rooms for our family and the price did not break the bank. We had a balcony off our room which we enjoyed using and watching the comings and goings on Dauphine Street. The staff was so helpful and the breakfast was a great way to start the day. The beds were so comfortable, the rooms were well appointed, I just have nothing negative to say about our stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photomom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I'd like to give Dauphine Orleans a better rating, but I can't.

The Good: Great location. In the French Quarter, but not in the busiest pedestrian area, so it is possible to use the place as an escape. Service and helpfulness of the staff is first-rate and can be compared to much more expensive hotels. The facility is generally well kept and clean. The “human aspect” of our stay could not have been better. Free wireless access and I had no problems getting it up and running. The bed was comfortable.

The Bad: The room we had was cramped. I didn't expect a suite, but it was small enough that it affected what I would do when I woke up so as to not disturb my wife. Drawer space was at a premium. But the tipping point is the walls are apparently not insulated because I woke one night to an HD quality snoring concert: my wife on one side, and I could clearly hear the guy in the room above us sawing his logs as if he was in our room, and the guy next door. In fact, I almost got up because the guy next door's breathing was interrupted enough I thought he was in distress. I am not exactly a light sleeper, to say the least. I don't blame the hotel for the concert, but the fact that they sounded like they were in our room was a negative.

Other: Breakfast was unremarkable (I normally don't eat breakfast, and it was nothing to tempt me to change that). The courtyard was nice.

Overall: If The Bad is not a deal breaker, this is a good value and the staff and location will make your stay worthwhile. The staff deserves a 5, so does the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dauphine Orleans hotel last week to celebrate our 20 year wedding anniversary. We loved the hotel and had a wonderful trip. The second day when we returned our room had still not been cleaned. I brought this to the attention of the manager, Shawn, and he sincerely apologized and had the problem corrected immediately. He even offered to personally move us to another room if we preferred. We declined, but it was great to see a manager that truly cared about his guests and doing the right thing. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed two nights before our cruise. Front desk staff, Mike, bar staff and everyone we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect. I can't wait to go back. Thanks Dauphine :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami and Casey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We just had our second stay at the Dauphine Orleans. The rooms are lovely, the location is great, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We like to drive and their on-site parking is very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chipper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We checked in on New Year's Eve. We arrived earlier than check in so that we didn't get held up in traffic and to secure a space in the car park.
The staff were very accommodating Aisha the front of house manager was brilliant as too was mike who helped us with our bags and valet parking. In fact nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. I have to say that the housekeeping staff were also brilliant, lovely and friendly. I have travelled extensively in the us and I have never felt so welcome as we did here. I hope whoever owns this hotel appreciates how well these people look after their guests.

The hotel was very clean, beds comfortable, flat screen tv's and large fridges. The pool area was a little haven away from the hustle and bustle, but it would have been better if the pool was heated.

They offer a complimentary breakfast and complimentary beverages during the day.

We were given coupons for a free drink on check in at the bar which was nice and the bar was very pleasant and staff helpful.

Our room had balconies overlooking dauphine street and we could sit out watching the world go by.

This was our first visit to New Orleans and we will be back and staying at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fizzyfish67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,195 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,585 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#32 of 164 in New Orleans
2,274 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing