We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel in a great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Dauphine Orleans and were very please with our accommodations. We were in their courtyard annex across the street from the main hotel. The room was spacious and nicely decorated facing a courtyard fountain. The hotel offers an excellent continental breakfast with "make your own" waffles, assorted cereals and pastries, and hard boiled eggs and even sausage. Plenty to get your day started. Guests are also given free drink coupons for the hotels bar. Just two blocks from Bourbon Street, one block from Royal Street (some say New Orlean's most beautiful street) and about 6 blocks from Jackson Square, the hotels location is hard to beat! Also close by are some of New Orleans' best restaurants---Antoine's, NOLA, K-Paul's and Brennan's to name a few. You can't go wrong with teh Dauphine Orleans!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotpaul70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    1,049
    276
    105
    54
See reviews for
532
1,272
81
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckeye Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were in the Herman House. Away from all of the noise, in a wonderfully green courtyard. The suite was outstanding. It is a bit dated, but scheduled for renovation within the year; I recommend checking on this. If renovated, we will stay in the same room next trip.
Staff is friendly and very helpful. Centrally located, near to many top restaurants; very convenient, with key card exterior entry to the courtyard, as well as room.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Suite 143
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteMyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

The Dauphine Orleans couldn't be more perfectly situated for travelers to New Orleans -- three blocks from Canal Street, one block from Bourbon Street, yet remarkably quiet. We didn't like the first two rooms we were shown because we're picky -- most people would have found them acceptable -- but the staff was patient and helpful and found us a room we were happy with. The free breakfast is not gourmet but was ample with plenty of variety. The one gripe is that the on-site parking is $40 a night, which seemed to us like pure greed, but in fairness the room rates are $30-40 a night less than one might expect given the location, so maybe it's a wash. If a little street noise doesn't bother you -- the French Quarter has the most assiduous garbage service we've ever encountered -- request a room on the street. The nice little balconies are a great place to relax while gazing over the rooftops on a (hopefully) pleasant morning, or sipping some wine in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jermccullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and close to everything.Staff was helpful and friendly.Good rate from hotel app.Always have fun in the Quarter but roads were under construction for super bowl.Free drink card and free breakfast offered also!!!!!!!Good stay for the money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband and I booked a weekend at the Dauphine Orleans not knowing it was the French Qtr Festival that weekend. We stayed in the carriage house across the street from the hotel. It was private, secure and the room was charming. Our room walked out on a quiet courtyard with with a fountain, table and chairs and a hot tub tucked away in the corner. We loved that our room felt private and was very quiet. The bathroom was large with marble floors and a whirlpool tub. We had all the amenities (coffee maker, hair dryer, iron etc) some you just had to look for. The staff was engaging and helpful with great suggestions for where to dine out. The ladies in the breakfast room were friendly and funny (a lot of southern charm) and for a continental breakfast you had a lot to choose from. The bellman went out of his way to have a taxi waiting for us during a terrible rain storm to make sure we got to the airport on time. They say location is everything and this hotel is so accessible to everything in the quarter it was wonderful. This was my husbands first trip to New Orleans so I really wanted him to experience the history, excitement and energy of the French Quarter. Staying at the Duaphine Orleans cannot be compared to a modern hotel, the hotel dates back 100 years and has so much character. After a rain you definitely can smell a musty odor in the breakfast room and the Mary Baily's bar (these are the oldest buildings) but never in our room. We would highly recommend staying at the Dauphine Orleans if you want to truly experience the French Quarter and all it's history. We plan to go back.

Room Tip: would choose the carriage house again over the main hotel for privacy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the dauphine house for the French Quarter Festival, and had a great time. The room was very spacious with a desk on one side of the bed and couch on the other. We had a balcony on both sides of the room. It was absolutely beautiful! The staff was very nice and friendly and the rooms were very clean. The dauphine does have a jacuzzi tub while the Astor Crown Plaza doesn't . We didn't have a room with the jacuzzi tub so I can't comment on how nice that is.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

So the Dauphine Orleans is not everyone's cup of tea, but we loved it. Decor is average. Front desk staff is either wonderful or rude depending on who you get.
The balcony rooms are a MUST do, but read on for full details.
On the second floor you have doors that open onto a large communal balcony. No other patrons used the balcony when we were there in January so we didn't mind. The doors that close off the balcony are not sound proof (read don't close all the way) so you will hear the trash truck at 4 am and any loud cars or motorcycles... or anyone who decides to stay out there and talk all night. Not recommended for light sleepers. Up on the third floor the balcony is private, but you crawl out a large window. We used the desk chair to keep it propped open and more easily accessible. Overall it was more quiet and secure on the third floor.
My friend also encountered a ghost in her interior room which could be a bonus or deterrent. Almost everything is haunted in this city though.
The Dauphine is a nice hotel, fantastic location, and I will definitely return again, but I would not pay more that $200 a night to stay here for most occasions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,051 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,821 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing