We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captures the Essence of a Unique Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #50 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Here’s a town overflowing with accommodation – and the wider the choice the more difficult the decision. Given New Orleans is such a unique location it seemed sensible to pick a hotel in the very center of that uniqueness – the French Quarter. And then why not choose a hotel that hopefully reflects the distinctive character of this vibrant place? So we thought - forget the hotel chains – if you want to capture the heart and soul of this town we have to choose an eclectic boutique hotel. Cue Trip Advisor. Again, spoilt for choice – up came Hotel Mazarin in Bienville St and Hotel le Marais in Conti St and many others. So with all the skill of forensic scientists we set about dissecting the various websites to sort the hype from the facts and to find a hotel to best capture the essence of this very unusual American location. The result – the Dauphine Orleans Hotel in Dauphine St – which is parallel to Bourbon Street one small block away but without the noise and frenzy. Indeed, the Dauphine was a calm oasis – serene and relaxed. The bedrooms are either in the main house, the Carriage House or the Hermann House and we took a premium king in the latter which is across the road from the main hotel. We paid $229 including breakfast plus another $30 for tax plus garage parking at $34 plus $4 tax – all told about $300. Incidentally, this was a higher Friday price given that Friday/Saturdays carry a hefty additional premium over midweek. The room was fine – no real criticisms – ok, perhaps on the small side, but then this is a city center site and part of a nineteenth century building. I quite liked the feature of the natural brickwork but there was not a lot of natural daylight in the room. There was a fridge, free wifi and a very comfy bed. The room opened straight out into the outside world with a wooden walkway at first floor level. Incidentally, all the facilities of the hotel – bar, breakfast room, small pool, on-site garage – were across the road in the main hotel. However, I enjoyed this hotel and to me it captured the spirit of a town which is very different from any other I’ve seen in the USA. As they say, I’ll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,503 - 2,509 of 3,482 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

What a lovely stay. The hotel was clean with a lovely, quaint atmosphere. Even breakfast was well put together. Our service, however, made our trip! Everyone was so helpful and friendly- we were thrilled. They made the whole trip fantastic. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clvrmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed as a group of 12 and had all types of rooms. The front desk staff was great. They were always friendly and helpful. It was nice to stay so close to the "action" but far enough away that you couldn't hear it! The beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was a little more than just "continental" with great sausage! The courtyard area and pool were nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshdaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

good time in the big easy. very nice place to stay. The bar was quaint, drinks good, staff was excellent. Breakfast bar was nice, could have used some eggs other than boiled. Parking on premises was good and bellmen were good, front desk was very helpful with directions etc

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The girl at check in greeted us with a warm and welcoming smile . She was very friendly and helpful . We had traveled 14 hours to get there and it was sure nice to be treated so well. Our rooms were so comfortable. We traveled with another couple and they had the same experience we did. Loved the atmosphere of the hotel. We will definitely stay here next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Second time in a row we made reservations months in advance and we asked for a certain type of room and were denied when we arrived. We have been staying at Dauphine Orleans for years! We love the coziness of the place in general and the bar is great but not sure if we will stay again if the room is not right for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nketr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

On a quick trip to New Orleans we stayed at the Dauphine. It's close to good restaurants, Bourbon Street and shops. The staff was very helpful and their breakfast was a great start to the day. Only complaint was that we had to climb stairs to our room. After a long day of walking and shopping stairs were a hurdle.

Room Tip: Find a room where you don't have to walk stairs because their rooms were great otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,371 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,587 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £105 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing