We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #48 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Everything is nice, not great, but nice in this hotel. Very friendly staff. Clean and decently appointed room. Location is good and bad. Very short walk from the heart of Bourbon Street, without the noise of Bourbon Street. But some seedy characters inhabit the block this hotel is on, and the block leading to it from Bourbon St. at night. My wife and daughter didn't feel safe walking here late at night. The hotel itself felt very secure. Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,283 - 2,289 of 3,390 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Although the location is just one block from the craziness of Bourbon Street, it's a quiet and quaint, getaway in the middle of all that's the French Quarter. There are two buildings. One the main hotel and then across the street is another building. We stayed in the auxiliary building on the second floor. The staff were very friendly and helped make our stay a memorable one. The breakfast was a nice perk along with the free drink in the hotel bar.
The negative is that there is several items of deferred maintenance around the room and buildings. The smell of mold is so very strong in the building where the Breakfast room and bar are located. No amount of incense and candles can cover that. For the few days I was there it was not an issue since I thankfully don't have a strong allergy to mold. I most likely would return becuase of the people that work there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginrickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The room was quiet, clean and a great feel. Loved the brick walls and vaulted ceiling. the room is small but done nicely with nice furniture, marble countertop and jacuzzi tub. the courtyard was quiet, peaceful and gave you that New Orleans feel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Herman house or I hear the cottages are very nice as well. The staff is amazingly over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiNeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Clean, Quality Hotel. Always a hotel employee around, so in so far as security, always felt safe.
Clean rooms, The staff was excellent. Don't miss May Baileys, the hotel bar. By the time you leave you will be friends with everyone in there. I have stayed at several hotels in and around the French Quarter. i would put this one right up at the top. My only knock might be if you are on street side, it can be a little noisy but the quality of the bed makes you fall asleep almost immediately after laying down.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gravedigger_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our first stay at this hotel was in June 2009, and since we had a very positive experience, we decided to stay here again on our most recent trip. Other people have already mentioned the convenient location, charming courtyards, comfy beds, and included amenities (breakfast, internet, bottled water, etc). We liked and used all of these. Last time, we had a room fronting Dauphine Street and the noise was unbearable for me, so this time I wisely asked for a room back from the street and it was so much quieter. We stayed in the Hermann House across the street from the main hotel and it was wonderful. You have to use your key to unlock the gate and it often took us more than one swipe but eventually the key would work.

Everything was great except for the hotel bar. Our first night, we were tired but decided to use our free drink coupons. Although no one was smoking in the bar at the time, it still had a strong cigarette smell. My husband wasn't feeling great so he just ordered a soft drink and was ridiculed by the bartender for his choice. We left a standard tip on the table but now I wish I hadn't been so generous, as he later told me that the bar was the worst thing about the entire trip. But other than the bartender's comments, we enjoyed our stay at the Dauphine Orleans and we will strongly consider this hotel for future trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if you are a light sleeper. We love the Hermann House courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugsymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

While attending a professional convention in New Orleans, we stayed at this hotel. It is, at best, a 3 star hotel; though the staff is friendly and accommodating. Decor is in need of a face-lift.

We were located in room 326, with a view out on Dauphine St. For three nights, we heard every single noise that went by the building--Bourbon St. clientele go by until 3 a.m., garbage trucks/delivery trucks start up at 6 a.m., motorcycles, cars honking constantly. I suppose this is "par for the course" when one chooses a hotel in the French Quarter. However, in my humble opinion, these very noisy rooms should not be used as guest accommodations, unless advertised as such, with a huge discount!! The older, main building rooms could definitely use a good update and thorough cleaning (we noticed a glass beer bottle behind nightstand, and half-emptied drinks in mini-fridge from previous patrons). There is also noticeable wear and tear in bathrooms.

The courtyard and pool area is quaint and pretty. This is a nice area to bring back some good take-out on a good-weather day.

We heard that some of the newer rooms were much nicer--be sure to find out the particulars with reservations, as we did not know this beforehand.

Two alcoholic (or non) drinks are included at adjacent May Baily's bar with stay. *Warning- this bar is a bit dark & dank, and smells badly of (animal?) urine. The bar building itself, though, has an interesting history and decor as a former brothel, "May Baily's Place," during the 1897-1917 red-light-district days of the FQ. *

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bham4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Very good hotel for visiting New Orleans. Rooms are nothing special but very clean and bed was very comfortable. Location is PERFECT. We didn't rent a car and were able to explore bourbon street and surrounding areas very easily.

Friendly staff and you get free drink at the bar next door. pool area is small, but very pretty and relaxing. continental breakfast was nice, nothing too special but enough for a quick bite in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jengirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,254 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,490 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
2,021 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £113 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing