We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely room at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed in a balcony room overlooking Dauphine St. The room was clean and nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
Since I was in a balcony room there was some noise from the street below but I love hearing the sounds of NOLA and ear plugs easily drown out the noise if and whenever you are ready to sleep.
The attached bar serves up great bourbon and also allows smoking and is a wonderful throwback to the 20's

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationxtrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    1,112
    296
    110
    55
See reviews for
580
1,353
89
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our room (#109) in the courtyard was a very good choice because it was in the heart of the French Quarters but away from the street noise. The 4 night stay was just perfect! It included a free drink in their bar the first night, afternoon cookies & tea, the morning paper and a very large buffet breakfast each morning. The staff was accommodating and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogiVenice_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Loved New Orleans and our stay at dauphine Orleans hotel was memorable but the balcony was a stretch. You had to enter through a window which didn't stay opened while trying to squeeze yourself out. The staff is amazing and the room was very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if your balcony has access through a door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We love our home town of New Orleans and we come home when ever we can. On this trip we were traveling from Dallas to Gulfshores AL. We jumped at the chance to make a overnight stop in the Vieux Carre'. I had looked online for a hotel that had a garage that could hold a large truck with a 20ft motorcycle trailer (with our Harley on trailer). It was valet parking only and I had my doubts when we arrived that we would fix into the garage!!! However between my husband and the valet, they were able to park the truck and trailer! The valet also kept an eye on our bike all night! I loved reading about the hotel "back-in-the -day" history ~ had a good feel about it!!! When we arrived it was afternoon and they had tea and cookies out for the guest. we also had 2 tickets for a free drink in the inhouse bar. We had a great breakfast in the morning. As we were pulling out in the morning, the valet held up traffic as we pulled out! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fannin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. The parking garage is next door and easy to get in and out. The staff was all very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. It is a quaint hotel with nice courtyards and a balcony for spending time outside. They give you 2 tickets for a free drink in the nice little bar. Nice bartender and good popcorn. The breakfast was really delicious with eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, and fresh fruit. Just a quick walk to bourbon street but the room was quiet. The bed had a very comfortable mattress, there was a nice television, and the room was large. Everyone was especially friendly and made our stay special. We highly recommend this wonderful hotel!!

Room Tip: We had an inside room and was very quiet. Some rooms have balconies which would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Everything was excellent - clean and well-maintained room, plenty of warm water and pressure in the shower, fabulous courtyard, friendly and helpful staff. The charm of an old French Quarter establishment, with many of the amenities of a more modern hotel, and right across the street from Bayona.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the courtyard are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 783Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our second trip to New Orleans. We stayed at the Bourbon Hotel for our first trip and loved it (except for the fact our room was by the elevator). This hotel was a disappointment. The rooms are not updated (the mattress was probably 20 years old), the bedding was nasty (dirty), although the sheets were clean, the bathroom is small, including limited sink area (that happens to be right by the toilet). They only have a bar, no restaurant, another disappointment. Not that this is important, but the first day we arrived, we went to turn on the TV and we did not get a signal. I phoned the front desk and she informed me that the cable company was working on the cable that day, however, they had left for the day so the problem we were experience would not be addressed until the next day. I asked for a credit and they did issue me one. The TV still did not work properly the entire time we were there.

A continental breakfast is included with your room. If you love continental breakfast's, then you wont be disappointed. The offered cereal, fresh fruits, yogurts, bagels, muffins and waffles (you bake your own). Like I said, if you like this style, it will probably be ok. For us, we are not continental breakfast eaters, so we choose to go out for breakfast 2 out of the 4 mornings.

Although we never went in the pool, it was clean, however, very small.

The bar was very small too. It was disappointing that they did not offer any type of appetizers, although they did have popcorn to snack on, but no other snacks. Again, disappointing.

The hotel is located one block from Bourbon Street, which is preferred if you want a quiet night sleep. Our room was an inside room, and even though I did not request an inside room, I read from many people that the outside rooms were very noisy due to the street noise. Since you are not on Bourbon Street, I don't see how the outside rooms would be that noisy, but we did enjoy a quiet (inside view of the parking garage) room.

I was also disappointed with the hotel staff (not the bellman). We asked a lot of questions in reference to the location of certain bars, plays to go, etc. Their knowledge was very limited. I'm sorry, if you are hotel employee in New Orleans, you damn well better know where things are located at, and more importantly, if you can walk to it!! We decided to go to the Old Rum Distrillery (I highly recommend this tour) and our hotel employee said we could walk to it from the French Market. Are you kidding me, it was over 2 miles from the French Market, we would have never made the tour had we listened to her. We also asked different hotel employees where some places were, and again, they were wrong. I wasn't impressed with the hotel staff (knowledge of where things are located, times they are open, etc).

Overall, we were very disappointed and will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Sorry, but that is the truth. I read Trip Advisor all the time to help plan our vacations/places to visit and want to be honest and upfront with how this hotel is.

If you do not care about quality and the price is right, then this is the place for you. I just know that I will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,387 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing