We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I, too, had done extensive research before choosing the Dauphin Orleans. Although we had been to New Orleans numerous times, I was a bit turned off by some of the reviews at places where we had stayed previously. We loved this hotel -- location, ambience, value/price, cleanliness, and service. We had a larger room in the Herman House across the street. It opened off the courtyard and had a small balcony overlooking the street (much too hot outside to enjoy!), a marble bath, a brick wall on one side, a vaulted ceiling, a mini-fridge, and an incredibly comfortable bed. We did not avail ourselves of the free breakfast since we opted to go to Cafe du Monde for beignets, but we did help ourselves to the free class of wine the evening before in the hotel's bar, which was quite charming. The desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and giving directions. Everyone who worked there had a great attitude of customer service. In fact, when a carpenter/painter saw me struggling to get a suitcase down an outside flight of stairs, he stopped what he was doing and insisted on carrying my bag down the stairs. I couldn't believe it -- what service above and beyond! The only drawback is the lack of elevators -- some rooms are not accessible, so if climbing stairs is an issue, be sure to ask for a room you can get to. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,578
    1,162
    311
    121
    59
See reviews for
636
1,429
92
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2009

After extensive searches on the internet, I decided on the Dauphine Orleans. Their website was accurate in information and pictures, and our stay was everything I expected and more. The hotel is well situated, one block from Bourbon Street, with a pleasant breakfast including fresh fruit and waffles. The rooms in the Herman House extension across from the main hotel were especially large, with lovely bed linens and a quiet, charming courtyard. The pool was small but refreshing. Mae Baileys pub on location was perfect for a quiet gathering spot. The staff was very helpful with tours and dining suggestions. And a lovely touch ~ flags out front ~ as a Canadian, I was glad to see ours!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

I recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Dauphine Orleans. I was in New Orleans to attend a conference at the Ritz Carlton. My husband was tagging along so we turned it into a semi-vacation, and because he was with me, I didn't want to stay at the Ritz since the location was a bit out of the way, and I wanted more amenities. I spent weeks researching French Quarter hotels on TripAdvisor, other sites, and guidebooks, and decided on the Dauphine Orleans. What a great decision!

This was our 4th visit to New Orleans in the past 9 years. Previously we stayed at the Sheraton, W French Quarter, and Omni Royal Orleans. Although the Omni has a slight edge on location, the Dauphine Orleans' rooms are twice the size for half the cost. We were only 3 blocks from the conference, which made for an easy walk to and from. My friends who stayed at the Ritz because they didn't know better visited my room and were a bit jealous... they all said they wished they had booked the Dauphine Orleans instead. They loved the charm and character.

I had originally booked a Premium King Carriage House room, but called the hotel a week before my stay to upgrade to a Superior King in the Hermann House courtyard, which is right across the street. Another great decision. We arrived before the stated check-in time but our room was ready. We were in room #236, which is the upper level front room with a very large balcony. Amazing! There is a locked gate leading from Dauphine Street into the courtyard-- guests use their room key to open it. There is no elevator, so if you get a 2nd floor room be prepared to use the stairs. The room was huge! There were brick walls on 2 sides, a vaulted/beamed ceiling, and two doors leading to the balcony. A granite-top vanity was outside the bathroom, which made it easy for both of us to get ready in the morning. There was generous storage space in the vanity's drawers and cabinets. There was a closet with 10 hangers and room for more, plus the safe was in the closet. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub (we didn't use) and good shower pressure. Towels were soft & fluffy. The room had a fridge, LCD TV, track lighting, and the VERY comfy bed.

One of my favorite features of the hotel was the Hermann House courtyard. So lush & tropical! Tables, chairs, and benches were provided, which made it a nice place to read or relax... very quiet. I saw a hot tub in a secluded corner, but it was covered so I'm not sure when it is used. We did not use the pool in the main hotel area, but lots of families were taking advantage of it. We didn't use the exercise room, either. We did, however, enjoy some wine in the hotel bar using the free drink coupons. Nice little place, and we wished we had time to go back again. We ate breakfast two mornings in the hotel's breakfast room. Perfectly fine... my husband always enjoys making waffles, and I thought there was a nice variety of breakfast foods & drinks.

All of the hotel staff members were very friendly and helpful... from the front desk staff, to the bartender, to the breakfast host, and the parking attendants we passed. Roger, the reservations rep who helped me with my room selection, was great, as well.

Some minor inconveniences to mention... Although I loved the room and the balcony, the balcony doors were less insulating than I'd like, and street noise woke me up a lot. I'm a light sleeper anyway, and used to my quiet street at home... so all the delivery trucks, an occasional laying on the horn, and passing groups of motorcycles were a bit too loud for me. Not the hotel's fault, but I'd probably ask for a room in the back of the building next time, although my husband didn't mind the noise as much. Another minor problem was a lack of hot water on day #2 for me. It was only lukewarm, but got hot for my husband's shower 10 minutes later. Also, the hotel's guest computer was out of service during our stay so we weren't able to check the internet. We didn't bring a laptop to use the free Wifi, but just lived without email for a couple of days. No biggie, but if you absolutely need the lobby's computer you may want to call ahead to make sure it's working. From reading earlier reviews, I had been a little concerned about hordes of smokers congregating in the courtyards, but I didn't encounter this at all. I'm very sensitive to smoke so I would have noticed it. Even the bar didn't have any smokers in it when we were there.

So overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Dauphine Orleans! I highly recommend it, and it will be our first choice when visiting New Orleans in the future.

(This review was edited to correct the room number... I discovered my mistake after my first review was posted. Since the rooms are unique, I wanted to make sure the correct room number was listed.)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bugsymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We really enjoyed the Dauphine Orleans. Our room was great, breakfast was good, and the wi-fi in the rooms worked perfectly. The bed was wonderful. Room clean. The location is pefect, just one block behind Bourbon St.

We booked on the hotel website for a four night mid-week stay. For the price, we could have not been more pleased.

Our large King room (#330) was on the third floor facing the street with a little balcony with table and chairs. Other posters have stated these rooms can be a little noisy at night, and they're right. But we're good sleepers and it was not a problem.

We'd definitely recommend this hotel to others and will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasZuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in suite 143, it had a wet bar, two flat screen TVs, whirlpool and shower in the bath, hot tub in the beautiful courtyard. The staff was very nice and helpful. Mike, the valet was especially helpful in recommending restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Had a great time. Hotel staff was terrific. Hotel is not new but has plenty of character and charm. Hotel has a great location. We walked all over the French Quarter, Riverwalk area from this location. Hotel room has very comfortable beds and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikoiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The beds were fluffy and WONDERFUL! I normally don't sleep well when away from home, but these beds were better than home. I slept like a rock! The hotel is one block from Bourbon Street, so you can enjoy the crazy nightlife of Bourbon Street and retire to your nice, quiet hotel just steps away. The hotel was peaceful and quiet and rumored to have guests of the paranormal kind - - although we didn't experience anything. They had a nice breakfast every morning - nothling extravagant but included fresh fruit, fresh cook- yourself waffles, cereals, grits, juices, coffee, etc. The staff was very nice. If you're driving, there is valet parking for a fee. But, you really don't need a car at this location. You can walk to most places if you have a good pair of comfy shoes, or take the trolley.

I wouldn't recommend this for business unless you have your own laptop. The pc in the business center was not working, and when the pc was working, the printer was not.

Exercise room was very basic with one elliptical, 2 treadmills, and free weights. They offered cold water, clean towels and apples for guests. In spite of the few pieces of equipment, I had no problem getting time on the equipment.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBirdie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,159 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
2,561 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing