We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #49 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The positives: very pleasant staff, good and reasonably quiet location, comfortable beds, nice courtyard with a small pool.
The negatives: during busy afternoon, a single person staffed the front desk, meaning lines and delays for check-in. Bathrooms have a "wand" shower that hits you mid-chest, if you're short.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimeToGoInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,122 - 3,128 of 3,479 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2010

Completely charming. The "river side" of the hotel surrounds a quaint and typical New Orleans courtyard, the other side contains the bar and a salt water pool - both crucial ingredients to a June trip to New Orleans, we discovered. The location is perfect - in the quarter but happily removed from Bourbon Street - and about five blocks from Canal Street and street car access.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquarePocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This hotel is centrally located. It is only a block off of Bourbon. Would venture toward Rampart though. The bed was a memory foam mattress. Adorable little room. My main problem with the hotel is that the parking garage is on the two bottom floors of the hotel. The noise travels up the courtyards above. Constant noise from parking attendants and cars all night. Maybe not all rooms have this problem, but our's did.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venus-space-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I can't imagine staying at a better place in NOLA. We stayed in the building across the street from the main hotel and it had a lovely courtyard - it was very peaceful and serene. The room was spacious and newly decorated with a small refrigerator (great for leftover food from the many wonderful restaurants). It was very close to the action, yet it seemed very far removed from the craziness of Bourbon St. The hotel staff is gracious and very good at making restaurant recommendations (Deanie's Seafood is close by and terrific). We also enjoyed our complimentary drink at Mae Baileys and the continental breakfast. A fairly basic continental breakfast, but you could eat it outside in their lovely courtyard near one of their pools. Rates are good - and they sometimes run specials, such as complimentary parking. This is a great place to stay in NOLA.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Middleton-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed here the weekend before St. Patrick's Day 2010, which was a very busy weekend. Because many hotels were booked to capacity, we did not get the best rate, but we would be willing to give them another chance in the future because everything else was so great. We were placed in the building across the street from the main hotel (Hermann House, I think they call it). Our room was a bit small for the price. But it was clean and well appointed, the bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom was larger than many places we've stayed in NOLA. Once parking, taxes, and fees were added, however, the room was nearly $300/night. And the size of the room warranted a rate of $179 at best. Price was our only complaint. The location is wonderful. The staff was super helpful and friendly. We loved the jacuzzi in the courtyard. Great for soaking tired feet at the end of the day. This hotel is a nice blend of NOLA charm and modern amenities. Furnishings and fixtures are clean and up-to-date (flat screen tv mounted on the wall, bathtub with jacuzzi jets, free WiFi). But charm does not suffer. The room door seemed to be a former window that had been transformed into a door. The courtyard was lush and well-kept. May Bailey's is a great bar and a quiet retreat after the noise of Bourbon Street. Note, however, the free drink with check-in is for beer and wine only.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Excellent location, a block away from Bourbon (close enough), and far enough from its noise and croud. If you are exploring the French Quarter this is a very good option to stay at. They allowed us to check in as we arrived, 2 hours prior to check in. Room was spacious, and king bed was awsome!. Bathroom very clean, w/ enough room and well equiped. Would definetly stay there next time at NOLA.
Bayona restaurant in front of Hotel was excellent!. Also, if you like Tequila, Rita's Tequila about 2 blocks away from hotel had a very good selection, and is also a quite/upscale spot in the middle of the Bourbon Street rumble.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Our stay at the Hotel Dauphine was amazing. Once we arrived we upgraded to a King room with a balcony which we did not regret since the views were amazing. The entire staff were friendly and accommodating. They answered all of our questions and gave helpful suggestions that made our first trip to New Orleans memorable. The best thing of all was the location, however, as we were literally one block from the center of Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Achilles1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,367 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,586 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £105 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing