We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Classic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

What a great hotel. I was in NOLA for the Rock and Roll marathon weekend and decided to stay at the Roosevelt. It was a great choice. The staff is great and very friendly in the hotel. When we got there we had to wait to check in (maybe 15 mins) due to a long line, but they brought additional staff up to try and expedite the check in process. After checking in our room was ready and we were able to get to it quickly. I stayed on the 14th floor in tower one, and never had to wait for an elevator!

The rooms at the Roosevelt are large, clean, and nicely decorated. Our room had 2 queen beds. The beds were very comfortable, and had nice clean linens on them. The bathroom was large, and had a tv in it. They use bath products by Salvatore Ferragamo. My only complaint about the hotel was when the bath products ran out they were not refilled. I left a note for house keep to refill them, but it was ignored.

The hotel was quiet, but located close to most attractions, and was a short walk to Bourbon street, and many other sites.

Overall this a beautiful and classic hotel. If you are looking for a casual luxury hotel in NOLA I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volk04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,832)
There are newer reviews for The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,324 - 3,330 of 3,832 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

My sisters and I took our 72 year old Dad to Nola in feb. Being a group of well traveled, but difficult sleepers we chose the Roosevelt based on it's location and reputation for comfort. We were not disappointed.

We had two suites and two delux rooms. The staff made sure we were all on the same floor. Each room was unique and more beautiful than the next. We enjoyed watching the super bowl in my sister's suite on a giant flat screen with comfy chairs and sofas for us all. We ordered take out from John Besh's Domenica which is located in the hotel. It was a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBugsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The Roosevelt hotel is probably one of the best hotels in the country. Everything is so well thought out from service to amenities. A great deal of design and quality has been put into all the rooms. It is elegant and unique, bringing back service and style you expected from a hotel long ago. The staff is proactive in their hospitality and know how to take care of you.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Only a one night stay after 3 bad nights at a hotel across the street. Management was on top of every single detail and I will definitely stay here again. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexKeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My family and I stayed at the Roosevelt during Mardi Gras and I must say I was reluctant knowing how rough New Orleans can be. The Roosevelt could not have done a better job. The Hotel as well as the Staff were spectacular. Restuarant and bar was outstanding and security was curteous and always present. This hotel lives up to the Waldorf expectations. By the way, the bloody mary bar in the lobby each morning was a nice touch.
Bravo, well done!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgm07974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife,myself and another couple stayed at the Roosevelt for three nights last week. We chose the Roosevelt due to it's location from the French Quarters. We wanted someplace close to the Quarters but far enough away for some peace of mind. Well, I'm pleased to report that it was exactly what we wanted. Now, as far as the hotel, it was a very pleasurable place to stay. We pulled up to the hotel only to be greeted by friendly staff who politely escorted us to the front desk. The hotel is very elegantly decorated with a sophisticated environment. The deluxe room was small but very nice. However, we asked for an upgrade and redeemed one the following day. Much thanks to the staff for coordinating the transition. Anyone reading this review, here's my tip...don't pass on asking for an upgrade.

Anyway, there is a pool and hot tub located on the fourth floor that we enjoyed and afterwards went to the bar to try a Sazerac. I personally enjoyed the drink but my wife thought it was too much. That means too expensive($11-plus tip) and too strong. Well, I guess the Sazerac is a personal preference.

Room Tip: Do some homework and call them directly with any questions
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolhandluke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Went the weekend after Fat Tuesday. Front desk people nice. Concierge was very helpful getting us into Commander's Palace, helping us with trolly route, which places not to miss in quarter. I never use the concierge but they were nice and helpful. Doormen great and nnot pushy. King suite was spacious and the furniture was beautiful. All was clean. Maid service comes later in day which was fine for us. We found the hotel to be quiet and other guests to be respectful. Loved the difft options for food and items in the attached restaurants, store, cafe. Loved the location -- a few blocks off the quarter on the other side of canal -- close enough to walk places but not RIGHT in the middle of bars. Only negative was a very rude worker at the cafe on our last morning. Tall, bigger guy with curly light brown hair. He was in a sour mood I guess. Just unpleasant, snappish; they had no plastic spoons and not willing to look for any. Sad because that was the last person we encountered before our departure.

Room Tip: we did a king suite at a special weekend getaway price
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,418 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,199 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £141 - £574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing