We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Great Service!”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my friends. The room was a good size with a walk in closet, large bathroom and two queen size beds. We wanted hot water one night to make tea (the rooms don't have coffee makers) and room service kindly bought up two pots of hot water. The hotel is located right on the edge of the French Quarter. You're close enough but not in the center of it all since it can get a bit crazy.
I would definitely stay here again the next time I return to Nola!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetter_NYC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Jetsetter_NYC2,

New Orleans is an amazing city with so much to offer and going on! To say that it can get a little crazy would be saying the least. Thank you for posting your review to assist in the decision making for our Trip Advisor viewers. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,414
    772
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
580
1,437
125
963
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I just finished spending three nights with my wife and daughter for my daughter’s spring break at The Roosevelt and frankly, could not of had a better stay. The place shines on many fronts and I’ll comment on a few below.

Rehab

I never found out when, but The Roosevelt could have been a very tired hotel built in the 30’s and instead has been updated and is a great hotel in the year 2012. The facility has been updated, and it was great to stay in a grand dame hotel that had a terrific face-lift that brought her back to life.

Room

My wife, daughter and myself stayed in a fabulous end suite so we could all stay together. It could not of been better. Clean, modern, great amenities; i.e. flat screen, wifi, etc.

Common Area

Like most hotels build in this era common place aplenty. Beautiful main floor, nice coffee bar area and wonderful coffee room. Dominica, a very nice Italian restaurant is part of hotel and we ate there one night and loved it.

Fitness Center

Was tremendous. Terrific size so could get a machine when wanted and very spacious. Plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy your workout.

Location

I did not love the location, just off Canal Street on the non-French Quarter side, but it was fine. Canal Street has a full frontal view of New Orleans life, and best to always be aware when walking on it and past it to go to French Quarter.

Summary:

I’m not sure of all the hotel offerings in town, but The Roosevelt is a sure fire winner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakester20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear jakester20,

Thank you for posting a review from your recent stay with us at The Roosevelt New Orleans! So far, 2 Trip Advisor viewers found it helpful as well as a couple hundred of us here at the hotel! We appreciate the opportunity to have you as a guest with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orthorock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Overall a nice place that is well maintained. There was a significant difference between the regular and superior room. We are Hilton Diamond members and had to ask twice for an upgrade that was not offered initially. No included breakfast for Gold or Diamond. Complimentary shoe shine service was offered but they returned our shoes in the same condition without being shined

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orthorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear orthorock,

I am certainly glad that you enjoyed the upgraded room and am happy that you have given us some constructive feedback as well. Our guest’s feedback is very crucial for us in maintaining and improving our level of service and satisfaction. Unfortunately, the complimentary breakfast included with Diamond or Gold Hhonors level status is not a MyWay option within the Waldorf Astoria hotels. I hope that the hotel’s other offerings were able to suit all of your needs while staying with us.
Thank you for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Classic fine taste and beautiful old New Orleans decor. THe bar is a great place for an end of the day happy hour. Room/suite was beautiful with nice amenities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiloMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
MiloMiami,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our Trip Advisor viewers. We hope to welcome you back to a luxury experience soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Roosevelt has been one of the very best hotels in New Orleans for over a hundred years. It's also played a central role in the life of the city: the best society wedding receptions were held there, Huey P. Long kept a suite there, Walker Percy's protagonist in The Moviegoer took his girlfriends dancing there. In 1965 it became the Fairmont Roosevelt and later simply the "Fairmont New Orleans". It was closed after Hurricane Katrina and the ensuing flood in 2005, and it reopened in 2009 as a Waldorf-Astoria hotel.

The restored hotel is even grander and more beautiful than it was before. The lobby stretches for a city block, with mosaic floors and chandeliers and lots of marble, and yet somehow manages to be not the least bit gaudy. The guest rooms are also exquisitely appointed. The bar, restaurant, and coffee shop are all quite good -- although the Roosevelt is only a block from the French Quarter, so it's a short walk to the Cafe du Monde for beignets and cafe au lait, to Antoine's and Arnaud's and Galatoire's for dinner, and to any number of bars whose menu and atmosphere are at least as good as those in the hotel's Sazerac Lounge.

On the downside, as noted by some other reviewers, many of the rooms are somewhat small, although the bathrooms are large. It's also too bad that the Blue Room -- which was historically the hotel's flagship restaurant/lounge, at one time regarded as one of the best "big band" venues in the world -- now seems to be open only for private functions. Bailey's, once the city's only 24-hour high-end coffee shop, also seems to be gone forever. Hilton Honors members should be aware that while they might be upgraded to a good room or a suite, there is no executive floor or lounge.

And then there's the question of staffing: many of the Roosevelt's employees are as courteous and capable as the hotel and its guests deserve, but a few are not. On a recent visit I called the "wake up call" button, the operator, and the reception desk, one after the other, at about 12:45 a.m. Each number rang about twenty times and then gave me a recording proclaiming the virtues of the Roosevelt Hotel. There was no opportunity to leave a voice mail message. I tried again about fifteen minutes later with identical results, so I gave up and set the alarm on my mobile phone in lieu of a wake up call. When I asked about this the next morning I was told that all late-night calls go to the reception desk and that whoever was at the reception desk must have been too busy to answer the call. The employee who told me this, who also worked at the reception desk, did not seem to regard it as an important problem.

Despite these few deficiencies, the Roosevelt has done a far better job of preserving its grandeur and its traditions than most other hotels in New Orleans or anywhere else. It's a great place to stay and a great place to be.

Room Tip: Because the Roosevelt is in the Central Business District only a block from the French Quarter, I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear AssimilatedCajun,

It’s an absolute pleasure to have such an experienced reviewer post about their stay. Thank you for the constructive feedback as we absolutely use this to improve upon our services and exceptional experiences. We only hope that the next time you are in town, that you once again choose us as your hotel option. Thank you for being our guest and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very nice hotel. I stayed here in the past when it was the Fairmont, but they have now updated the rooms. We arrived in the morning and were able to check in right away. Room was very clean, well appointed; a little on the small side, but it is a city hotel, so I didn't expect the room to be large. The lobby is beautiful and the gift shop is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had a girls trip here last weekend, and it was perfect! The rooms were so spacious, clean, and beautiful!!! PERFECT weekend!! And the location is amazing. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candicemdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,012 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,393 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,123 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing