We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Wonderful place to stay, excellent accommodations and close to the French Quarter. Easy walk to Harrahs Casino. There are many night spots close by. The pool area is wonderful. My room on the 10th floor was a little smaller than expected but wonderfully appointed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,378
    760
    266
    115
    65
See reviews for
563
1,413
124
959
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My party of four arrived in NOLA mid week for a combination vacation and to attend the Redskins - Saints game. I reserved a King Suite and a King Deluxe room. The hotel lobby was beautiful. Arriving mid week the hotel was slow and we had a fast check-in. By the weekend with the Washington State - LSU game (Baton Rouge) on Saturday and the Redskins - Saints game on Sunday, the hotel was booming. Both rooms were (in Tower 1) spacious and well appointed as one would expect in a Waldorf Astoria property. The King Suite had a powder room in the living room area. The luxurious bath robes and slippers were a special touch. The beds were super comfortable with high quality linen. We liked the added feature of having a tv in the bathrooms. The bathrooms didnt have a bathtub...but who cared?......the multiple shower heads more than made up for a lack of a bathtub. There was turn down service each night with a chocolate. The rooms were very quiet even on the weekend with the hotel being crowded. We never heard our companions in the adjoining room. Don, the concierge, was very helpful with dining tips and site directions. The entire hotel staff were exceptional. We did not eat at the hotel....we ate breakfast at the IHOP across the street on Canal, and had dinner at French Quarter restaurants. The hotel is a few blocks from Canal & Bourbon but the Bourbon Street noise is a non factor. Harrah's Casino is a 12 minute walk (7-8 block) up Canal Street. As an alternative you can take the Canal Street street car to the casino ($3 all day pass). I definitely rate this four star hotel as one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Tower 1 is the newer tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Was in town to meet family and go to LSU game in Baton Rouge. Had stayed in same property 20 years earlier when a Fairmont. Neighborhood had changed little. Valet'd car at entrance and was greeted with a smile. However, bellman stood there hands in pockets when I opened hatch to get luggage out. Had to hand the luggage to him. Absolutely stunning lobby, restored beautifully. Was promptly greeted at reception, but check in took a long time with a lot of tapping on the keyboard. Disappointed we had to upgrade room in order to make room for daughter in the room. Bags were promptly brought to room. Met family at rooftop pool. Flies were a little too much. Service was spotty at pool. Beautiful and well appointed room, except no hair dryer for wife who had to wait 25 minutes to get one from housekeeping and it disappeared when we got back the next day. Relatively convenient to French Quarter, away from the noise. Great concierge who was very helpful with dinner reservations and directions. Questionable whether I'll stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank joegibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was our first hotel in the USA and it was a great place to start our trip in Luxury. The hotel is in a great location just on the edge of the French Quarter and in walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping. We stayed in a suite which was a good size with seperate bedroom and lounge area. The bed was lovely and the shower was very spacious. We had room service and the buffet breakfast and both were excellent quality food. The staff were friendly especially in the restaurant.

Great hotel!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a suite - it is worth the small upgrade cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We spent 5 days at the Roosevelt during our first visit to NOLA and we were not disappointed.

Though our room was smallish, it wasn't any different than a room found in any other major city like New York or London. And despite its lack of size, it was very well-accommodated with lovely furnishings and an extremely comfortable bed.

The hotel itself was elegant and stately and after long days of sightseeing and even longer evenings of enjoying the nightlife, it was always a pleasure to return to the hotel with its grand lobby and blessed air-conditioning.

The staff was gracious and we were especially appreciative of the concierges in particular who never steered us wrong with their recommendations.

We also loved the location which was close enough to walk almost everywhere, but just far enough off the strip so that you weren't directly in the middle of the never-ending action.

The only cons were an unusually long wait for what equated to a mediocre breakfast in the dining room (despite it being relatively empty) and a less-than-stellar view from our window which included the backside of some dirty, dingy buildings.

However, there's not much that can be done in terms of the view beyond upgrading to a room with a better one. And we did have a fantastic meal at Domenica, the hotel's Italian-style restaurant; which sort of made up for the breakfast.

Though this was our first trip to the Big Easy, I hope it won't be our last as we thoroughly enjoyed our time in NOLA and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Roosevelt again should we return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the backside of the adjoining buildlings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Ok, this review will be updated after my actual stay. Too make a long story short, I am an independent contractor for FEMA and am deployed in New Orleans this week. I am currently staying in another property in the city, that is closer to our base. ( A completely different review)... My husband will be staying at the Roosevelt next week for a conference his company is having. So, I had to cheat and during my walk after work, I decided to check out my husband's accommodations for the upcoming week. (We live in Chicago). I was floored when I walked into the lobby! The lobby is breathtaking and the staff, so nice and attentive. I asked them if I could check out the pool and it was fabulous. It has been really hot this week and I would have loved to take a dip in the pool. Next weekend our family will be staying and I will definitely keep you updated....Anticipating a few awesome days off so I can really enjoy all New Orleans has to offer. The city deserves as much as it gives and I am very excited about finally getting to stay at the Roosevelt. Will keep you posted and message me if you have any questions. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank nik35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a very good 4 star hotel. It has great service and a prompt staff. I would recomend this place to anyone looking for a weekend get away. The price is very reasonable for the level of service. Close to everything. The only issue that I had was the parking price of $44.00 per night was a bit steep. I've never paid over 30 in downtown Nola.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,917 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing