We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at Ghe Roosevelt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great experience at Ghe Roosevelt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Very accommodating staff, nice rooms, good food. Highly recommend dining at Domenica (a John Besh eatery) in the hotel. The Carrie Me Away cocktail is excellent. So is the Garganelli pasta dish - very flavorful! Skip Sazerac restaurant for food (lunch their was not very good). Cold oysters on salad, never got extra dressing I ordered. Was there for a conference but would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbulldoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,328
    748
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
549
1,377
123
948
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IN
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Immaculately restored hotel located i block across Canal Street from the French Quarter and away from the crowds. Responsive staff. Ultra quiet and spacious room. Beautiful block-long lobby, great people watching bar and home to Domenica restaurant serving John Besh and Alon Shaya cuisine.

Room Tip: King suite upgrade was $49 and doubled the space providing living room with large TV, dining area wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moroccantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Our stay here was perfect. The hotel is beautiful and the service is top notch. We didn't have a great view, but it really didn't matter. The room is perfectly clean with high end amenities like a nice clock radio with ipod dock, huge shower with full body shower heads, great linens, and the nicest hair dryer I have ever seen in a hotel. The bar was classic and fun, and hopping at all hours. The pool is wonderful and many guests took advantage of it. The location is perfect for the trolley stop and right across from Bourbon Street, but sheltered from the noise. An all around great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
332 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel made our stay in New Orleans the best we have ever had. Being on the edge of the French Quarter made it convenient but away for the crowds. The room was spacious and well maintained. The bar was active and a great place to relax. The concierge and valet services were superb. After this wonderful experience this is the only place we will stay when in town.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Debrah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Beautiful old hotel, but renovated very well. Our king suite was extremely comfortable and quiet. We didn't like our first room (overlooked pool and A/C units) and front desk was happy to switch us. They were also very understanding when we had to cut our stay short to get home before Sandy. Concierge August was very helpful. Location is perfect, short walk from both the Quarter and the restaurants in the CBD/warehouse district. Room was bright but didn't have a view of very much (apparently few rooms in the hotel do). One thing I found slightly annoying is that maid service is done between 9am-5pm, so if you go out for the morning/early afternoon, your room isn't always made up when you come back. Domenica is a great restaurant, nice alternative after many days of Creole food. Parking right across the street is only $15 a day (and I think that's where they park the $40/day valet cars anyway).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tubulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Good location just off Canal Street, within walking distance to French Quarter. Nicely restored, old world charm, excellent staff, comfortable rooms and has wonderful restaurant Domenica.
The concierge staff is first rate, very helpful. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delilahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I just stayed 2 nights in the Roosevelt Waldorf in New Orleans, and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is old fashioned (old brass elevators, plished floors, famous bar, etc.), and I would give it a good review for those items alone. However, the rooms were very nicely updated and were quiet as a mouse, so I also slept like a baby (when I ordinarily do not). Nice place plus great sleep equals fantastic stay. I got upgrade to a king superior room, and had asked for a high floor away from the street. They have two interior facing groups of rooms (no good view but quiet), and it was well worth the lack of view. Canal St adjacent to the building (and very nearby Bourbon St) can be very noisy, but I heard none of it. The interior doors and hallways were quiet, and the walls between the rooms were absolutely noise free. My only complaints were that nothing was complimentary (no breakfast, no free business center), but that seems to be the way of big city nice hotels. I stayed at two other NOLA hotels in this trip, and this was my favorite hands down. Whether it was a true 5 star hotel or not is really immaterial. Not sure that any hotel I;ve stayed at qualifies, IMHO. Room was clean and renovated, carpet and bathroom were recent. Hilton Honors member? This is a no-brainer for NOLA. Best of the bunch, no questions!

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face Canal St. If you want quiet, ask for an interior-facing room on a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing