We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

On our first trip to New Orleans, this was a great choice for a hotel. It is in a prime location, not too close to the action in the French Quarter but not far away either. It is beautiful and grand hotel. We had a small suite, decorated in an old world New Orleans fashion, rich reds and golds. Although we ate most of our meals at local restaurants, we did eat breakfast at the Sazerac restaurant and had drinks at the bar. Both were good. We will return to this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Suzanne M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor community about your recent stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful visit last time you stayed at our hotel. Your loyalty and patronage are very important to us. We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,845 - 2,851 of 3,879 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was in town for a conference that was being held at this hotel, so I spent 4 nights there. All and all a nice hotel. The lobby had a very classic feel. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful as well as the Concierge.

The rooms were of a standard size, clean and comfortable. No view to speak of from my room. Not sure if the walls were a bit thin, but on my last night I had the pleasure of hearing every word my neighbor and her guests were saying to 1AM. But what the heck, it is New Orleans on a weekend.

I would recommend stoping by the hotel bar for a drink. Very pretty. The bar at the pool side was also a bit of fun.

It is a very short safe walk to the Quarter, which was nice.

The hotel restaurant was havering a very bad day when I had breakfast I think and the servers were running all over doing damage control, but the food was nice. The price point was fair for what I got.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Matthew E,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor community about your recent stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful visit last time you stayed at our hotel. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us before your conference to receive a lovely time. Your loyalty and patronage are very important to us. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.


Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I just spent a wonderful night at The Roosevelt with my sister and young nephew. I was initially concerned because we were checking in dressed very casually (we were going to spend the day at the zoo) and we had a kid with us... however there was no reason for concern, everyone from the valets, to check-in staff and the concierge could not have been nicer and more welcoming! The room was beautiful and luxurious and even with three of us it was not at all crowded. I absolutely loved the large bathtub, a perfect way to relax after a long day.

The location was perfect for catching the streetcar to head to the zoo and later grabbing dinner just down the street. We had a wonderful breakfast at Sazerac and were super excited to order the gluten free pancakes with sugar free syrup...my nephew has allergies so ordering is usually a hassle but he was super happy about this unexpected breakfast option.

My only complaint was the loud group staying on the same floor as us...on at least three occasions their loud voices as they yelled at each other down the hall and door slamming woke me up but this was not the hotel's fault at all.

It was a very lovely stay and I hope to return again in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Geoggirl,

Thank you so much for taking the time and letting our TripAdvisor community know about your recent stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. We are delighted that you had a fun filled trip and was able to visit our beloved zoo. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Why do I keep reviewing this hotel? Because the standards stay high. I don't know why, but I got upgraded to a two room suite this time. It was perfect. One of the things I like best about this hotel is the quiet, and the comfortable beds. As I tell the staff each time, the Roosevelt is my New Orleans home. I do wish they would offer wifi - even pay wifi - by the beautiful pool. That seems a little old fashioned.

Room Tip: There are so many unique rooms, it's really hard to give advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear ATLcruiser,

We are delighted that every time you stay at The Roosevelt Hotel you have many memorable moments. Thank you for your reviewing our hotel and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. At The Roosevelt, we strive to deliver unforgettable experiences to each of our guest making them want to return. We are delighted to learn that you are a patron of our hotel, and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to your next return and cannot wait to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is situated right off Canal Street on Baronne Street, about a block away from Bourbon Street. Was there for a work conference. I requested and received a room on a high floor with a view. Room was nice, but the view was a partial view of Canal Street with a slight view of the water between the hotels. Rooms were nice and the beds were awesome. I only ate at the little cafe, but the pastries were delicious. If there for a conference, take note that the rooms are freezing on the Mezzanine Level. Fitness Room had good treadmills and free weights and cables.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor that faces Canal Street, but away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hagerterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear hagerterp,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to travel to New Orleans for conference. We are delighted that you were able to have a room with a view of Canal Street and the river. It is a spectacular view to see the activity on Canal Street from afar and to see the mighty Mississippi from that viewpoint is a definite treat. We hope that you are able to travel to New Orleans again may it be for travel or leisure.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Okay, I have done the Ritz, J.W., Royal Sonesta, and the list goes on. I wander no more. This is the best hotel in NOLA! From service, to the bar scene and restaurants, and the rooms oh wow the rooms! I have yet to have a bad experience. If you want luxury, this is your place. Five stars across the board. This is my favorite hotel worldwide, and trust me I travel enough to see a bunch of them!

Room Tip: Request an upgrade if available at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Ryan S,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that we are your hotel of choice when you visit New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time and letting our TripAdvisor community know about your experience at The Roosevelt Hotel. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward in serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I wouldn't pick another hotel in NOLA. This place was fantastic, great location just across the street from the French Quarter start. Excellent service, food, coffee & rolls at Teddy's in the a.m. to get you going. Bars and Restaurants with top of the house taste. If taking a streetcar they are right down the street a block, cabs all over, walking was our primary form of transportation and we were so close to everything. The river walk was nice and very relaxing. The rooms were very fresh & clean, turn down service, complimentary robes & slippers, easy access to elevators and no noise. Slept great every night there. When you go down through the French quarter and roam around it's quite entertaining, but it's also nice to be away from it all when you want tranquility & peace. You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Roosevelt, they will do anything to make your stay as accommodating as you request. Enough said!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justjo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear justijo-7,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and letting our TripAdvisor community know about your recent experience. It delights us that we are now your choice of hotel when you visit New Orleans. We are pleased that you enjoyed Teddy’s Café, Sazerac Bar and other restaurants on property. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we cannot wait for your return.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,535 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,249 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,792 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 167 in New Orleans
2,595 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 167 in New Orleans
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £153 - £626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing