We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was the second time we've stayed at the Roosevelt, and I cannot recommend this hotel enough if you are looking for 5 star excellence in the Big Easy. We love this hotel! Checking in and out was easy and quick. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated and include upscale amenities such as robes, slippers, flat screen TVs, etc. The beds are super comfortable, as most Hilton properties seem to have, we noticed. They do have a mini-bar/frig. in rooms, which we did not use. They also do turn down service with little chocolates on the pillows.

As far as the hotel itself, they have a nice little cafe downstairs where you can get coffee, lattes, pastries, etc. Their famous Zazerac Bar is a cool place to check out...the Bloody Mary I ordered was awesome. We did not eat in the hotel restaurants this time so can't comment on that. But late night room service was quick and delicious...the bread pudding was great. We did get up to the pool this time, which is elegantly situated on the rooftop. Unfortunately for us, it was later, so the bar and cafe had closed. It is a beautiful setup. My only issue with the pool area, which really isn't the hotel's fault, was that there was a bunch of kids using the hot tub...kind of running all over and making noise, which made it kind of hard to relax. We are family friendly travelers, but they really should not allow kids in hot tubs. I know at even our local pool club, there is an age limit on children in hot tubs. Maybe they could put up a sign or keep a staff person up there to monitor what is happening after the cafe closes? The pool is really very nice, though, so if you stay at the Roosevelt, you should go up to the rooftop area.

I would also like to note that the concierges were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. They will make reservations and are quick with a map to show you how to get places in the city. We go to New Orleans often but there are lots of places we haven't seen, and they were very helpful. I should also state that the Roosevelt is conveniently located in the French Quarter, right on Canal street. Bourbon Street is a quick walk away as is the shuttle train and the trolley. Many attractions/restaurants/shops are within walking distance.

I can't recommend this hotel enough if you are staying in New Orleans. From the minute you walk into the lobby, you can feel the history and elegance. Looking forward to visiting again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGKDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,508
    791
    281
    119
    72
See reviews for
599
1,485
128
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Going to the Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans is like hoping back in time when opulence and class were seen in all the better hotels. Coming in off the streets of New Orleans the hotel welcomes you with 40 foot carved ceilings, carved columns, and a massive clock from days of yesteryear. It has all the technology needs you need and the pool is excellent and a great place to relax. Come to the Roosevelt and your in for a treat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We just stayed there in July of 2013. We took our 3 kids and were upgraded to a King suite. It was fabulous. The staff was excellent and attentive. Our children experienced a fantastic hotel and had a wonderful stay. The staff was kind and patient with our children ages 15, 12 and 7. The concierge helped book a fantastic tour or New Orleans and suggested several family places to visit. It was a wonderful 3 days and I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both towers of the hotel. They are equally excellent. The suite was very impress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I enjoyed the Roosevelt. wife and 13 year old had a jr suite accommodation. great location close to quarter, but not in it. Rooms are spacious, and great lobby. Had drinks at the very cool bar, and service there and other places in hotel were just great

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank marke485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The location is perfect for the business person and or couples/friend! Everyone was friendly and helpful, a plush bed awaits you after a long day and journey~ The Sazerac Bar is a must (it take you way back in time)... never had one, but I will tell you, I am hooked! Walikng distance to everything... So, if you are looking for a class act, crawling distance to Bourbon Street and the Warehouse district.. this is your place! Laissez les bons temps rouler!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a beautifully renovated hotel worthy of the Waldorf Astoria name. Its location is superb, near the French Quarter and close to other convention, meeting facilities and the central business district.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent a weekend here for a conference and enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff was a cohesive team with solid training and earnest desire to please and make sure your stay is wonderful. The room and bed were modern-a tad small-but completely appointed with a great shower experience as well. The events were well organized and put on with style. We popped into a wedding down the hall and our breath was taken away-the room was amazing! Brides to be must check out the ballrooms and put this place on your list to consider. Any travel has hiccups and ours turned on postal issues. UPS is in the hotel and manages the mail. They never informed us our package had arrived and there was great confusion in finding it....the hotel staff is superb, but their partnership with UPS in house is a weak link. People watching at the pool was fun, but chairs run out early on summer days. Also, with our southern heat, I was surprised there were no misters-but the shower in one of the bathrooms was ICE cold and the bartenders/servers were wonderful so all was well....this property is all about history and location location location. You may ask for an in house tour of the property which is well worth your time. Also, being just across the street from the quarter makes dining and dancing easy and safe. We walked to Bayona, and returned later for drinks in the Sazerac. A MUST when staying here. Try something new, figure out the fantastic murals, and talk to the brilliant concierges who will undoubtedly help you feel like you have found a new home in a beautiful old property.

Room Tip: There is a new "wing" that I believe is all suites. Check which "tower" your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crzymnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear crymnd,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at The Roosevelt Hotel. It is always a joy to read that our guest leave with such fond memories of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor community. New Orleans is a city that is filled with history, culture, and entertainment. We are delighted that our location allowed you to experience all of these elements during your stay. Thank you for your kind words about how our staff made your stay at The Roosevelt pleasurable and comfortable. We hope your travels do not keep you far from the Crescent City and we look forward in serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,929 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,661 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
2,515 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing